Loveless [Reissue] - My Bloody Valentine
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 11, 2012
    100
    Essentially perfect... It remains a landmark that hasn't aged a day.
  2. May 31, 2012
    100
    Loveless holds it own as one of the great rock albums, period. [Jun 2012, p.90]
  3. Jun 22, 2012
    80
    How, exactly, do you follow an album like Loveless? It's a question that pop has yet to answer. [Jun 2012, p.119]
  4. May 10, 2012
    100
    A bittersweet symphony that remains unparalleled.
  5. May 10, 2012
    90
    [Loveless] not only stands the test of time, but transcends it. Songs like 'When You Sleep' sound as inventive now and would outshine much of the crop of young pretenders... Remains an archetypal classic.
  6. May 10, 2012
    80
    The reach of these records [Loveless and Isn't Anything] makes bands yet to form sound hopelessly out-of-date.
  7. 60
    This 1991 album is the best of three reissues of their work – also available are their debut, Isn't Anything, and a 2CD compilation of outtakes and EPs.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. May 18, 2012
    10
    It is perfect. It is 100% flawless. It is an idea perfected and left inevitably unbeatable, no matter how many bands have tried. It is a hugeIt is perfect. It is 100% flawless. It is an idea perfected and left inevitably unbeatable, no matter how many bands have tried. It is a huge world filled with pink haze and almost painfully intense noises. At first it may seem too much, you may feel that it is overdoing the noise aspect. Then you'll slowly start to feel comfortable with the album. Then you'll never want to lose this album, you'll always want it there when loud, sweeping but an inevitably warm music experience is what you need. Full Review »
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    The first time I listened to loveless, I was confused and a little angry at all the praise it had received when it was just an averageThe first time I listened to loveless, I was confused and a little angry at all the praise it had received when it was just an average alternative album. Then i listened to it again, and holy **** Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2012
    10
    Have to agree with mazky. It is perfect. Behind the noise - maybe because of the noise -- it is one of the most beautiful recordings I've everHave to agree with mazky. It is perfect. Behind the noise - maybe because of the noise -- it is one of the most beautiful recordings I've ever heard. I also don't find it a particularly harsh sound, after the initial shock of it wears off. In a way, this is the Velvet Underground of the 1990s -- in temrs of its musical radicalism and influence. Full Review »