Loyalty To Loyalty - Cold War Kids
Loyalty To Loyalty Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sophomore album for the California indie rock band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. On their stunning and haunting second album, the Long Beach, Calif., quartet have racheted up their faux-mono production values and woozy chops. [26 Sep 2008, p.93]
  2. It’s a better-than-solid album from a band that seems equipped to someday make a classic one.
  3. 80
    Loyalty to Loyalty, the band’s sophomore release, isn’t as immediately impacting as that first round of songs, but CWK didn’t lose their charm (or literary obsessions), either.
  4. More often than not, Loyalty to Loyalty takes a disappointing stumble on it.
  5. 60
    The skeletal bluesy shuffles are easy to follow, but the likes of 'Avalanch In B' suggest a band lyrically happy to keep the unpleasantness in their woodshed under wraps. [Oct 2008, p.81]
  6. The loyalty to the exact sound--minus the real hooks--that got Cold War Kids noticed keeps things mostly stagnant.
  7. Nathan Willett remains a technically proficient singer, with hints of Jeff Buckley, but much like his band's music, his voice is too drearily clean-cut to deliver a true emotional punch.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. JasonB.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    Their first album had several good songs. But this one has an overall structural and artistic integrity that the first one lacked. It's heavier on the drums and bass and generally has a more melancholly feel. This is a really compelling, really excellent album. These guys are artists in the truest sense. Expand
  2. ChrisS.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    This year has been full of very promising albums. First there was Death Cab's Narrow Stairs, and then there was Coldplay's Viva La Vida, among many others. I really liked both of those album's, especially Narrow Stairs, but they did not live up to their hype. At least not to their fullest. I have been waiting for this album for two years. Robbers and Cowards was amazing, and definatley had a unique sound. Loyalty to Loyalty has that same unique sound, but at something little extra. I love the bluesy roots in the album, and their lyrics have evolved into something worth talking about. The Cold War Kids are one album away from an instant classic with Loyalty to Loyalty. Don't judge the album by Something is Not Right With Me. Expand
  3. KevinM.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    Attention to lyrics and detail. They bring meaning back to music. Like Robbers and Cowards, a perfect 10 in my book.
  4. NikolasP.
    Sep 27, 2008
    9
    I usually tend to agree when an album gets largely unfavorably or mediocre reviews, but I find myself a bit confused at the lower spectrum reviews for this one. I realize I'm going out on a ledge saying this so soon, but I really believe the album will be considered underrated in the future. The band shows great advancement in musicianship and a welcome sense of risk in their songs' structures. It is not as immediate as "Robbers," obviously, but there's something to be said for albums that take their time to invade you. I thoroughly enjoy this album, I am very pleased with the band, and I hope the critics' mostly lukewarm reception to the new album doesn't effect you from giving it a chance. Expand
  5. MatthewA.
    Oct 1, 2008
    8
    It took me about a week to get past the production, but once I adjusted, this album has been in my earphones nonstop. It is a different in sound from last album; less sparce, cleaner, less obvious hooks even. But the songwriting is solid, and while I wouldn't classify it as a pop album, the songs have been in my head when I wake every morning. Love it. Expand
  6. JakeM.
    Oct 23, 2008
    8
    Took me a while to to get into it; but after quite a few listens I hear the simple beauty and fun of these songs. No great songs, many good ones, and maybe only one bad one (Welcome to the Occupation) Expand
  7. ChrisH.
    Oct 2, 2008
    2
    I normally don't make hyperbolic statements such as this, but the reviewers above aren't going far enough to warn the listener how egregious this album is and how much distance you should put between yourself and it. Loyalty to Loyalty barely passes as music. It is completely unfocused, amateur, underdone, half-baked schlock! The singing is amelodic and the songwriting is completely lacking any discernible structure. I honestly cannot believe that this abysmal, shameful, unforgivable, reprehensible pile of sounds was actually recorded, mixed, mastered, and released. In total sincerity: this insulting piece of detritus must be buried under the earth and never be spoken of again if we believe at all in humanity. Absolutely wretched! Expand

See all 13 User Reviews