Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. 60
    This feels more like a palette cleanser, a statement of intent that Stone has ditched the commercial gloss.
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    50
    LP1 is an almost shockingly forgettable slab of forced adult-contemporary rock, destined for a Whole Foods aisle near you.
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    60
    Stone is best when she's rawest, bookending LP1 with "Newborn" and "Take Good Care," stripped-down tunes where her howl goes from plaintive to bone-shaking in a few lovesick heartbeats.
  4. Jul 29, 2011
    40
    Sadly, the final product is so familiar and so shorn of genuine emotion that LP1 quickly loses any sense of identity and becomes standard fare, indistinguishable from any number of other recordings.
  5. 60
    Recorded over six days in Nashville with Dave Stewart, the debut release on Joss Stone's own label is, she claims, the first on which she has exerted total creative freedom.
  6. The writing is generic, the studio-craft impressive. Enjoyment will depend on how you get on with the voice and its hooting cannonade of mannerisms.
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    50
    The result, surprisingly, is Stone's most conventional record yet: handsome soul singing, sturdy blues-rock arrangements, lyrics about refusing to cry oneself to sleep.
  8. Jul 25, 2011
    40
    While it's impossible to truly define what makes LP1 so frustrating, it's safe to say that through all the angry growls and snoozy pop melodies that color the album, believing is Joss Stone becomes increasingly difficult each time these songs are played.
  9. Jul 25, 2011
    50
    This a wholly acceptable effort, but it makes it clear that Stone is stalling out a mere decade into what looked at first like a promising career. It's time for her to throw the throwback shtick aside and really figure out what kind music she'd like to make.
  10. Jul 24, 2011
    60
    Stone packs all the power you expect, but her control misfires enough for some of these tracks to never quite click as they might.
  11. Mojo
    Aug 26, 2011
    60
    She's got soul all right. [Sept. 2011, p. 94]
  12. Uncut
    Aug 18, 2011
    60
    There is an occasional excess of histrionics, particularly on "Boat Yard," but her teenage talent has found a convincing adult path. [Sep 2011, p.96]
  13. Q Magazine
    Aug 16, 2011
    40
    Devon soul woman meets Dave Stewart, in Nashville. [Sept. 2011, p. 118]
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    5
    I love Joss Stone, but this is not a good album. I think that she didn't take her time with this album. I hate to give her a bad review,but II love Joss Stone, but this is not a good album. I think that she didn't take her time with this album. I hate to give her a bad review,but I had no choice. Bad sound production, cracky voice, and bad music choices. I love her to death, but she CAN do better than this. Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Even the best songs on this LP1 sound pretty weak concerning Joss standards and I'm taking into account her vocals too, which seem too angry and raspy for my ears. "Drive all night" is a highlight but it's not even close to being a masterpiece. "Karma" sounded promising at first listens but it didn't take me that long to realize how frustrating it turns out to be with the angry atmosphere where she's singing unemotionally words like **** and flat rhymes. Then we have "Boat Yard"... and every other track seems too lavish, corny or forced. Sadly forgettable. Full Review »
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    8
    Cutting down the overrated collaborations, and excessive production from her last two albums (Introducing Joss Stone and Colour Me Free), LP1Cutting down the overrated collaborations, and excessive production from her last two albums (Introducing Joss Stone and Colour Me Free), LP1 achieves a true Soul sound and feeling without losing a spark of pop that makes this album a great company. Full Review »