User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 139

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VladaJ
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    for me this is best album ever,best album of 2007, although i spent lot of time listening to it end i'm finding that this album can't be likeable at first,and you realy must like QOTSA...so if someone say that he realy listens them and say that he don't like that album,then i can understand... QOTSA FAN
  2. ChrisG
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    Sounds nearly exactly what you would imagine this band would sound like without Nick Oliveri - not so much edge or fun metal antics - but instead it's been smoothed out into groove heavy tunes and a couple of extended, trippy, jams. Songs flow from one to the next amazingly. Instrument styles vary so much (except for the constant excellent use of the lapsteel) that it sounds like Sounds nearly exactly what you would imagine this band would sound like without Nick Oliveri - not so much edge or fun metal antics - but instead it's been smoothed out into groove heavy tunes and a couple of extended, trippy, jams. Songs flow from one to the next amazingly. Instrument styles vary so much (except for the constant excellent use of the lapsteel) that it sounds like they're all switching back and forth between instruments, and as the cd insert indicates, it turns out that they are. This works to their advantage as their sound never gets boring. Highlights for me were "Burn the Witch" (great riff by Billy Gibbons), "Everybody Knows that You're Insane", and "You Got a Killer Scene...". "Someone's in the Wolf" seemed drawn out to me on first listen but has gotten better with each listen., and is now one of my favorite tracks on the cd. This album is a step in a different direction than "Songs...", but still has the same dark/light mood mix that makes this one of my favorite bands, and this album may have pushed them to the top of my list. Expand
  3. Dr.D.
    Mar 21, 2005
    9
    Some gut-ripping songs that hit all the highs of previous QOTSA albums. Homme is not necessarily better off without Oliveri, but he doesn't seem to be missing much without him. High point include the already certified "Little Sister," the hard-riffing "The Blood is Love," and the bluesy grind of "Burn the Witch." If you like "Songs for the Deaf" you will not be disappointed by Some gut-ripping songs that hit all the highs of previous QOTSA albums. Homme is not necessarily better off without Oliveri, but he doesn't seem to be missing much without him. High point include the already certified "Little Sister," the hard-riffing "The Blood is Love," and the bluesy grind of "Burn the Witch." If you like "Songs for the Deaf" you will not be disappointed by "Lullabies to Paralyze." Expand
  4. JohnnyFeelgood
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    The engineering/production is HORRIBLE. The songs are BRILLIANT. This could have been a classic album, but the engineers/mixers/masterers screwed it up. This is the real issue here. The songs, themselves, are much better than the songs on Songs for the Deaf.
  5. JohnB
    Mar 26, 2005
    10
    I am a Queens fan since the beginning and Homme's talents never cease to amaze me. I thought Songs for the Deaf couldn't be topped but I am now thinking twice. I wonder if Homme thought the same when he included a DVD of the making of the album with the release.
  6. Mytasteinmusicisbetterthanyours
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    By far the greatest rock band around. This album is very much like Rated R but shows more grown in terms of song writing and Homme's ability to write the perfect hook. The line up is the tightest its ever been. Just saw them in New York; a pure ass kicking. I have to say that their self titled album is my favorite album of all time but this Homme creation is more than excellent. By far the greatest rock band around. This album is very much like Rated R but shows more grown in terms of song writing and Homme's ability to write the perfect hook. The line up is the tightest its ever been. Just saw them in New York; a pure ass kicking. I have to say that their self titled album is my favorite album of all time but this Homme creation is more than excellent. Those disappointed are those same people waiting anxiously for the next Fred Durst album. On an ending note, "You Got a Killer Scene, Man..." is the best song to have sex to. Expand
  7. NadiaC
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    I thought this album was realy well done. I was expecting it to be weak because of Nick Oliveri's absence, but low and behold QOTSA never fail to deliver. A song I really liked on the album was "in my head", did anyone else find the guitar riffs on that song amazingly catchy?
  8. declanM
    Apr 20, 2005
    9
    I have been into these guys since kyuss way back before they were popular have all the sessions this album rocks but it does miss the nick ingredient apart from that a cool stoner album have to say one thing kyuss sound more accomplished and more experimental just listen to sky valley wow heavy man.
  9. brett
    May 29, 2005
    9
    Brilliant,moody,great record.. Should have been 3 songs shorter for consistancy and as a WHOLE body of work. Great wriring !!!!
  10. EdC
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    Brilliant, hard rocking, ultimate awesomeness! And who doesn't want more cowbell? Lullabies is a masterpiece, almost surpassing Songs. Sheer and obscene awesomeness.
  11. LucasS
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    best ever
  12. NickL
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    A great, haunting album that isn't for everyone but if you are into the style you will love it.
  13. RosscoeP
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    when i first got this album, to tell the truth, i was alittle upset, becasue it hought this was songs for the deaf, but after listening to it, i must say, i think this is their best album
  14. sM
    Oct 14, 2005
    9
    Sexy as hell....
  15. PaulM
    Mar 22, 2005
    9
    If i had rated this album after my first listen, i would have given it a solid 4 or maybe a 5. But after i listened to the album over again, the songs began to grow on me. The critics as well as the fans are making too much of the absense of Grohl and Oliveri. A "revolving door" of musicians has always been what made QOTSA so fucking good. This time around they have a new mix of guys, and If i had rated this album after my first listen, i would have given it a solid 4 or maybe a 5. But after i listened to the album over again, the songs began to grow on me. The critics as well as the fans are making too much of the absense of Grohl and Oliveri. A "revolving door" of musicians has always been what made QOTSA so fucking good. This time around they have a new mix of guys, and once again, a bit of a new sound. But overall, every track hits just as hard as anything else QOTSA have ever done, and helps them to prove that they are the greatest fucking rock band in the world right now! Expand
  16. GoranS
    Mar 23, 2005
    9
    An excellent album, Very mystical. The album just flows perfectly and gives you music-orgasm sometimes. Great riffs and choruses. Not better then Songs for the deaf but very, very close.
  17. CameronR
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    very great cd. Ive been listening to queens of the stone age for about 3 years now and this is my sexcond fav album.(Behind the famous songs for the deaf). Great if your a rock fan get it even if your not get it.
  18. RandyH
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    Partial to QOTSA's self-titled debut myself, I looked forward to a Queens record with Homme-heavy vocals. Although I do miss Oliveri's patented howl and (will miss) his stage presence, I'm digging Lullabies immensely. Standouts are "Everyone Knows You're Insane," "Tangled Up in Plaid," "In My Head (recycled from the last Dessert Sessions disc)" and "Broken Box." In my Partial to QOTSA's self-titled debut myself, I looked forward to a Queens record with Homme-heavy vocals. Although I do miss Oliveri's patented howl and (will miss) his stage presence, I'm digging Lullabies immensely. Standouts are "Everyone Knows You're Insane," "Tangled Up in Plaid," "In My Head (recycled from the last Dessert Sessions disc)" and "Broken Box." In my opinion, it's the perfect brew of the previous three albums and I could be crazy, but the bass sounds better than ever to me. Another success for one of the last bastions of quality rock. Expand
  19. SeanW
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    Not as excellent as 'Songs for the Deaf' (which on a scale of 1-10 was a 12) but still rocks harder than anything else you're gonna hear on the radio without a rap beat or emo screaming
  20. Johnno
    Mar 27, 2005
    9
    Darkly romantic, yet catchy. Homme is the new voice for a generation of young rock fans who need something better than the recent waves of retro bands. Each QOTSA is progressively becoming a little bit more innovative. No giant leaps, but that's what we need. If we expect too much change from one album to the next, the next big step may be a step down. It's all about baby steps. Darkly romantic, yet catchy. Homme is the new voice for a generation of young rock fans who need something better than the recent waves of retro bands. Each QOTSA is progressively becoming a little bit more innovative. No giant leaps, but that's what we need. If we expect too much change from one album to the next, the next big step may be a step down. It's all about baby steps. LTP leaves off where Songs for the Deaf ended. But like SFTD, LTP has a great variation in songs. From the fast "Medication" to the sweet n' subtle "I Never Came", from the eerie "Someone's in the Wolf" to the simply-catchy "Long slow Goodbye". this is definitely an album you press play and let the hour roll by. Expand
  21. GaryM
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    at times it's softer than previous efforts but still an excellent album.
  22. jamesr
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    not as good as songs for the dea,f but still has its own brilliant style and is still way ahead of everything else
  23. EricR
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Maybe not quite as good as Songs for the Deaf, but a strong album all the same. Maybe it's because they opened their show with "Someone's in the Wolf", but I really love that song despite multiple reviews dismissing it as "limp." With a few more listens, I might put this album equal with Rated R and Songs for the Deaf.
  24. DaxxR
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    Another Josh road trip, with lost love, sadness and tones of lullabies which will paralyze every nerve ending.
  25. JohnR
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    It kills and you know it. Like Josh says "We could come off sounding like Slayer, and people would still be saying 'their edge is gone'. Bull! This chugs in all the right places while ending up even more eclectic and strange than the similar Rated R. As fun, innovative and loud as any rock out there.
  26. RyanL
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Anyone who didn't think this worth the cash, need only listen to "Burn The Witch" a few times on a friends CD, cuz you know your friends got it. The layered guitar riffs, melodic vocals, blending Homme, Billy Gibbons, and Lanegan in a alto, soprano, whiskey-drinking smoker trio that bring life to words that are so simple. Go ahead. Prove me wrong. I dare you.
  27. Mark
    May 19, 2005
    9
    This is another fine effort from the queens, with this album being far darker than some their earlier albums. The album obviously lacks the explosiveness that Nick Oliveri brought to the group, but with tracks as amazing as 'Someone's In The Wolf', who actually cares? Brilliant.
  28. Dor
    Jun 24, 2005
    9
    Fantastic.
  29. jen
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    this is one of the greatest albums of my time if you are in any doubt buy it put it in the cd player of your car head out to the country with a pack of marlboros and a few friends and go for it. thats what this album is all about
  30. MarkK.
    Feb 8, 2008
    9
    These lullabies indeed paralyze with pure brilliance.
  31. KarlipattickNiot
    Nov 27, 2005
    9
    Go read about how awesome "Songs for the Deaf" is. Now, imagine all that extreme coolness that everyone regards "Songs.." with, but then imagine somthing even COOLER. That something cooler is "Lullabies to Paralyze," child, and it's gonna eat you alive. And you'll probably like it. I know I do.
  32. KeytonE
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    If you're a Queens fan, this album is amazing. Forget all this crap about mediocrity, this is the Queens at their best.
  33. KristjanH
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Agreed, Keyton E... Queens at their best. Start to finish a very solid album.
  34. aaronm
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    i'm so sick of hearing people bitch about the absense of oliveri..even more so about grohl (absolutely no disrespect meant to either musicians..especially the mighty grohl). yes oliveri letting loose and screaming like a demon on previous records made for some serious ass-kickery but i didnt listen to this album missing that. Josh Homme is an immensily creative individual who makes i'm so sick of hearing people bitch about the absense of oliveri..even more so about grohl (absolutely no disrespect meant to either musicians..especially the mighty grohl). yes oliveri letting loose and screaming like a demon on previous records made for some serious ass-kickery but i didnt listen to this album missing that. Josh Homme is an immensily creative individual who makes music that is far more unique and so so much better then most of the crap bein produced. LTP might not be as balls to the wall as previous albums but it seriously rocks without a doubt and has some gorgeous melody to boot. If u love the queens, you'll love this CD Expand
  35. EricB
    Mar 27, 2005
    10
    There is alot of great stuff going on in "Lullabies." It is vastly different than "Songs for the Deaf." (not nearly as hard, AKA, no Dave Grohl) "Lullabies" is more of a mystical, multi-layered album. It took me a couple of listens to get into, but I'm already liking it better than anything they have ever done. Give it a chance, and you'll be pleasantly surprised.
  36. jefff
    Apr 12, 2006
    9
    Brilliant. Josh Homme is a real genius.The best album of 2005.
  37. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Again, as QOTSA release another album with a completely different sound to any of their others. A lot of my faovurite QOTSA songs are included on this album (Tangled Up In Plaid, Burn The Witch, Little Sister, Someone's In The Wolf) and had the last few songs been as good as the first 3/4s of the album, it really would be a perfect 10.
  38. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    This is a fantastically dark and atmospheric album from QotSA. The album maintains a unique and hypnotic tone that is equal parts dreadful, cocky, and creepy. The musical arrangement is phenomenal with great use of heavily distorted, fuzzy guitar tones and lap steels. This album is quite varied with each song containing it's own unique and memorable take on the Queens sound. An instantThis is a fantastically dark and atmospheric album from QotSA. The album maintains a unique and hypnotic tone that is equal parts dreadful, cocky, and creepy. The musical arrangement is phenomenal with great use of heavily distorted, fuzzy guitar tones and lap steels. This album is quite varied with each song containing it's own unique and memorable take on the Queens sound. An instant classic and an extremely underrated album. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The macho posturing can get obnoxious.... That said, anyone looking for a band that can mix and match metal, blues, thrash, punk, psychedelia, and grunge as the mood suits will be floored by Lullabies. [25 Mar 2005, p.70]
  2. It's the tension between Homme's conflicting impulses that pressurizes Lullabies to Paralyze's highest points and accounts for its lows.
  3. 60
    Sounds routine, obscure without much mystery. [Apr 2005, p.124]