Lullabies To Paralyze - Queens of the Stone Age
Lullabies To Paralyze Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Only Josh Homme remains from the QOTSA's previous LP, and he's now joined by guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen (A Perfect Circle) and drummer Joey Castillo (Danzig). The band's fourth album also includes appearances by Brody Dalle, Shirley Manson and ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The Queens have officially given us the first legitimate Album Of The Year candidate for 2005. [May 2005, p.130]
  2. 84
    Taken on its own, any one of these songs is pretty good--and some are really good--but Lullabies to Paralyze is held prostrate by an overall lack of variety not made up for by kitsch or vigor. [#14, p.94]
  3. At times, the songs get bogged down in too much heavy instrumentation, but they are always saved by [Homme's] soothing, drawling vocals. [#9]
  4. What's great about this album is they've managed to wield the same monolithic power riffs but make them count, with melodies and ideas way more consistent than before.
  5. Lullabies occasionally evokes early Black Sabbath and nods to a few psych-rock stalwarts but, like most Queens' records, it's oddly unclassifiable. It's also troublingly inconsistent.
  6. Where Songs for the Deaf found the perfect middle ground between aggressive rocking licks and experimental flourishes, Lullabies falls to the experimental side.
  7. Even through patches of mediocrity, QOTSA still offer something healthy and respectable to the hard rock world, but too much of anything can be bad for you.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 63
  2. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. SeanW
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    Not as excellent as 'Songs for the Deaf' (which on a scale of 1-10 was a 12) but still rocks harder than anything else you're Not as excellent as 'Songs for the Deaf' (which on a scale of 1-10 was a 12) but still rocks harder than anything else you're gonna hear on the radio without a rap beat or emo screaming Expand
  2. RyanL
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Anyone who didn't think this worth the cash, need only listen to "Burn The Witch" a few times on a friends CD, cuz you know your friends Anyone who didn't think this worth the cash, need only listen to "Burn The Witch" a few times on a friends CD, cuz you know your friends got it. The layered guitar riffs, melodic vocals, blending Homme, Billy Gibbons, and Lanegan in a alto, soprano, whiskey-drinking smoker trio that bring life to words that are so simple. Go ahead. Prove me wrong. I dare you. Expand
  3. VladaJ
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    for me this is best album ever,best album of 2007, although i spent lot of time listening to it end i'm finding that this album for me this is best album ever,best album of 2007, although i spent lot of time listening to it end i'm finding that this album can't be likeable at first,and you realy must like QOTSA...so if someone say that he realy listens them and say that he don't like that album,then i can understand... QOTSA FAN Expand
  4. JohnnyFeelgood
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    The engineering/production is HORRIBLE. The songs are BRILLIANT. This could have been a classic album, but the engineers/mixers/masterers The engineering/production is HORRIBLE. The songs are BRILLIANT. This could have been a classic album, but the engineers/mixers/masterers screwed it up. This is the real issue here. The songs, themselves, are much better than the songs on Songs for the Deaf. Expand
  5. May 6, 2011
    8
    classic album 8.9,this is a wonderful albums the lyrics are spot on.a blues experimental type from qotsa.
    good for when your sick of
    classic album 8.9,this is a wonderful albums the lyrics are spot on.a blues experimental type from qotsa.
    good for when your sick of something.i recommend this album ..a true journey
    Expand
  6. MikeC
    May 15, 2005
    8
    This is probably on a par with songs for the deaf. There maybe aren't as many good tunes, but it is more adventurous in many ways. The This is probably on a par with songs for the deaf. There maybe aren't as many good tunes, but it is more adventurous in many ways. The sense of humour is still there, it's just burried a little deeper than previously. Expand
  7. calcxxk
    Mar 23, 2005
    3
    After two of the greatest albums EVER and one pretty good one in Songs..., Queens just give us an album thats barely a joke. Some moments After two of the greatest albums EVER and one pretty good one in Songs..., Queens just give us an album thats barely a joke. Some moments would sound great from other bands - I Never Came and Little Sister are good, but very standard in their apporach. I find this album a little insulting really. Collapse

See all 63 User Reviews