Lullabies To Paralyze - Queens of the Stone Age
Lullabies To Paralyze Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Only Josh Homme remains from the QOTSA's previous LP, and he's now joined by guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen (A Perfect Circle) and drummer Joey Castillo (Danzig). The band's fourth album also includes appearances by Brody Dalle, Shirley Manson and ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. This is metal that swings, heavy with a deft touch. [24 Apr 2005]
  2. 84
    Taken on its own, any one of these songs is pretty good--and some are really good--but Lullabies to Paralyze is held prostrate by an overall lack of variety not made up for by kitsch or vigor. [#14, p.94]
  3. The 2005 version of QOTSA finds the band more relaxed and loose than it has ever been on record.
  4. Where 'Songs For The Deaf' was about jumping up and down until your eardrums burst, 'Lullabies To Paralyze' will use its enigmatic mysticism to lull you into a blissful daze so you don't at first notice that the riffs have broken your neck. [12 Mar 2005, p.55]
  5. The macho posturing can get obnoxious.... That said, anyone looking for a band that can mix and match metal, blues, thrash, punk, psychedelia, and grunge as the mood suits will be floored by Lullabies. [25 Mar 2005, p.70]
  6. For the most part, "Lullabies To Paralyze" keeps up the high musical standard set by its predecessors.
  7. Even through patches of mediocrity, QOTSA still offer something healthy and respectable to the hard rock world, but too much of anything can be bad for you.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 62
  2. Negative: 2 out of 62
  1. KristjanH
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    Agreed, Keyton E... Queens at their best. Start to finish a very solid album.
  2. JohnR
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    It kills and you know it. Like Josh says "We could come off sounding like Slayer, and people would still be saying 'their edge is gone'. Bull! This chugs in all the right places while ending up even more eclectic and strange than the similar Rated R. As fun, innovative and loud as any rock out there. Expand
  3. VladaJ
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    for me this is best album ever,best album of 2007, although i spent lot of time listening to it end i'm finding that this album can't be likeable at first,and you realy must like QOTSA...so if someone say that he realy listens them and say that he don't like that album,then i can understand... QOTSA FAN Collapse
  4. aaronm
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    i'm so sick of hearing people bitch about the absense of oliveri..even more so about grohl (absolutely no disrespect meant to either musicians..especially the mighty grohl). yes oliveri letting loose and screaming like a demon on previous records made for some serious ass-kickery but i didnt listen to this album missing that. Josh Homme is an immensily creative individual who makes music that is far more unique and so so much better then most of the crap bein produced. LTP might not be as balls to the wall as previous albums but it seriously rocks without a doubt and has some gorgeous melody to boot. If u love the queens, you'll love this CD Expand
  5. JohnN
    May 16, 2006
    8
    Excellent shakes you outta your bones with every listen bistling with energy my only quandry is the first eight songs are great (Burn the Witch and In my Head especially) but the rest is not that memorable. Expand
  6. MatD
    May 3, 2005
    8
    Good album. QOTSA always surprise us with different albums that are as interesting as previous material. Some people want the same things all the time from a band, and it's sad they don't understand the process. Expand
  7. calcxxk
    Mar 23, 2005
    3
    After two of the greatest albums EVER and one pretty good one in Songs..., Queens just give us an album thats barely a joke. Some moments would sound great from other bands - I Never Came and Little Sister are good, but very standard in their apporach. I find this album a little insulting really. Expand

See all 62 User Reviews