Luminous Night Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ben Chasny returns to his solo project to release his 11th studio album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. At times hypnotic and otherworldly, it's a soothing, unsettling and challenging listen.
  2. Sequenced beautifully to balance lyrical narratives with haunting instrumentals, it’s another Six Organs of Admittance album...but so much more.
  3. Chasny has souped up his production values, and they’ve never been sharper than they are on Luminous Night, checking everything Chasny has ever done well with unprecedented clarity.
  4. It's this combination of the simple and the intricate, the elegant and the forceful, that makes Luminous Night work so well.
  5. A set of sombre fingerpicked fables, Luminous Night’is heavy in spirit. It is cold to the core, as if it’s being played in the long shadow of a tombstone.
  6. This time around, Chasny is clearly interested in writing structured songs with clear lines drawn throughout, with seemingly no concern for the reactions that might ensue from such high production and exacting precision.
  7. Uncut
    This follow-up is a lackluster affair. [Sep 2009, p.95]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of