• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Luminous Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth full-length release for the British rock quintet was recorded with co-producer Craig Silvey.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. May 5, 2014
    100
    The Horrors go several steps further. Fragments of the group's past link together and the future illuminates in unison. Luminous is the album they've been destined to make.
  2. May 2, 2014
    90
    Luminous is a tremendously dense record, but one that manages to find ample breathing space for each of its studio takes.
  3. May 1, 2014
    80
    After a while the tripped-out builds can feel formulaic, but the mind-altering textures and melodic flourishes are so gorgeously realized that Luminous’s feel-good charms become hard to resist.
  4. May 20, 2014
    80
    It's genuinely exciting to think where The Horrors might go from here. [Jun 2014, p.105]
  5. 75
    Luminous is a shot across the bow, letting the world know the punks have grown up.
  6. May 1, 2014
    70
    The album's highlight comes when "I See You" wiggles free of its '90s indie-disco mooring and shoots at the moon; Luminous could have done with a few more of those moments. [Jun 2014, p.78]
  7. May 1, 2014
    20
    The point of psych is that drugs enhance the musical experience, but only 16 hits of trucker speed could focus this droney mess.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. May 10, 2014
    10
    This album is fantastic, although on first listen, I was a bit puzzled, I am now on my 4th play through, and it's my favourite album sinceThis album is fantastic, although on first listen, I was a bit puzzled, I am now on my 4th play through, and it's my favourite album since Skying. They have taken further the Simple Minds vibes, but added some MBV effects, what sound like sequenced drum beats and really gone to town with the tune within a tune thing they do so well. Expand
  2. May 9, 2014
    10
    I love the dreamy synth-goth/pop of this Horror's new album. I especially love "So Now You Know," "I See You" and "Change Your Mind." The restI love the dreamy synth-goth/pop of this Horror's new album. I especially love "So Now You Know," "I See You" and "Change Your Mind." The rest of the album is so good and fun - music I can either chill to or play at one of my parties! The Horrors are still at the top of their game; and yes, despite what some other negative critiques or opinions are of this album, I am a fan so it's all good by me. No one sounds like them. This album provides some nice variety from their previous excellent album Skying. Totally belongs in every goth-pop fan's collection, and go see The Horrors live when they come to a stage near you! It's a very cool and fun experience, and their great music will provide a unique and fun sound/visual experience for you! Expand
  3. May 6, 2014
    8
    Even if the new horror's album is not their best and bring nothing new, unlike Primary Colours or skying, it is a great album. It won't changeEven if the new horror's album is not their best and bring nothing new, unlike Primary Colours or skying, it is a great album. It won't change music but it will be a pleasure to listen to it.
    buy it ? Only if you are a Horrors's fan, otherwise listen to it online before buying it.
    Expand
  4. May 6, 2014
    7
    I think they took a step back with this album. However, this is a pretty good album and nice addition to their catalog. There are some niceI think they took a step back with this album. However, this is a pretty good album and nice addition to their catalog. There are some nice dreamy, electronic based songs on here. The Horrors expand on the dreamy, sonic textures that they displayed in Skying. This album reminds me of something that would've been huge in the end of the 90's or early 00's. Good album with a few great tracks, if you're a fan of the Horrors, pick it up, you'll like it. Expand
  5. May 6, 2014
    5
    Well I don't hate it but I don't think it's their best effort. I think they peaked with 'Primary Colours' in terms of a consolidating theirWell I don't hate it but I don't think it's their best effort. I think they peaked with 'Primary Colours' in terms of a consolidating their influences into one cohesive sound. 'Skying' was an experimental foray into synths and dream layers and now 'Luminous' is more of the same. I mean it's well produced and alright. But there's not much here. No conviction or energy or urgency. Just kin of rambles along glumly. Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    3
    As a fan of this bands output since 2006 I have to say that their most recent output is conservative and dull at best and mind numbinglyAs a fan of this bands output since 2006 I have to say that their most recent output is conservative and dull at best and mind numbingly overrated at worst. We get it - the psych thing is hot right now and you can do it. Move one now. What happened to the punk aggression and suave English energy? 'Luminous' finds a track and sticks to it for 10 tracks that all sound exactly the same. Worse thank 'Skying' (which was mildly interesting) this band should either find a new groove or give up. Expand
  7. May 6, 2014
    1
    WTF happened to The Horrors??? This is the worst crap I've heard since people were raving about Washed Out's Paracosm! ENOUGH WITH THEWTF happened to The Horrors??? This is the worst crap I've heard since people were raving about Washed Out's Paracosm! ENOUGH WITH THE PSYCHEDELIC STUFF ALREADY!!!! ITS ALL SOUNDS THE F****NG SAME!?! It's like Zoolander's pose that everyone loves - it's all the same!!! I feel like I'm taking crazy pills here!? Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews