• Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: May 30, 2011

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    In the end Lupercalia feels like a summer fling, and why settle for that when you can have something perennial?
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    Though for him this may seem to be a progress toward honesty and wholeness, for the listener the benefits are not so clear.
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    Lupercalia, despite its flaws, does provide a satisfying sense of closure. Now, hopefully, Patrick Wolf will be able to graduate onto subjects other than himself (and an attempt to do a full-on disco record would not go amiss either).
  4. 60
    Originally planned as the second half of a double-album, Lupercalia is his most approachable effort.
  5. 60
    While he succeeds fairly well at ensuring that Lupercalia spends its every minute displaying his emotions on its sleeve, it's fairly safe to say that this record won't exactly storm the charts.
  6. Uncut
    Jun 7, 2011
    Despite Wolf's best efforts, he's not built for homely pleasures--and you sense his need for drama straining at the leash. [Jun 2011, p.103]
  7. Mojo
    Jun 7, 2011
    It's still high camp stuff, but Wolf's world suddenly seems like a more welcoming place. [Jun 2011, p.97]
  8. Jun 7, 2011
    During Lupercalia's first half, he continues to prove himself a fine craftsman of major-key melodies, and this is his most confident and convicted vocal performance yet. But like most of Wolf's records, he eventually gives into sad songs and waltzes as Lupercalia progresses, and studded with the same overproduction tricks of cluttered strings and processed samples, "The Days" and "Slow Motion" don't offer much in the way of contrast outside of tempo.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 21, 2011
    Patrick Wolf is in love, and that's not a bad thing, however, it's has made for a very different album from him than we're used to.Patrick Wolf is in love, and that's not a bad thing, however, it's has made for a very different album from him than we're used to. Regardless, this is a great, polished, catchy pop album and his vocals are spot on. The reason I'm giving this a 7, which is by no means negative, is that the turmoil isn't here, which Mr. Wolf has provided effortlessly over the years that's made for some dark music that grows on the listener over time. Not to mention a dedicated fan base. "Time of my Life" is the stand out track here, and sure enough, the only one that's melancholy. There are definitely other stand out's such as "House", "Together" and "The City", which are pop songs at their best, filled with expressions of love that are hands down lyrically and musically more intricate than the average top 40 artist. Kudos to him for tackling the main stream from a different angle and giving us a very listenable, pleasant album to add to his catalog. That said, I'm looking forward to the break up album. Full Review »