• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Lupercalia Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British singer-songwriter's latest album was supposed to be a part of a double album titled Battle. It was later announced that it would be split into two releases, 2009's The Conqueror and this release.

Top Track

The City
(won't, won't let the city, won't, won't let the city) Won't let the city destroy our love Won't let the city destroy our love You know I I hate to... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    The fact that Wolf stands little chance of displacing Rihanna or Adele shouldn't preempt our appreciation of what he's accomplished with this album, which is to shake off his unseemly solipsism and turn out his most catchy and engaging batch of songs in one concise effort.
  2. 80
    It was a coming together of people and community, and it's therefore fitting that Lupercalia the album is a celebration too.
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    Lupercalia's highly melodic but still resolutely exuberant nature indicates that Wolf's newfound positive outlook on life definitely seems to suit him.
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    Fans may miss Wolf's habitual genre-hopping and eccentricity, but this is mature and compelling stuff. His best so far.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    In the end Lupercalia feels like a summer fling, and why settle for that when you can have something perennial?
  6. Jun 24, 2011
    Lupercalia, despite its flaws, does provide a satisfying sense of closure. Now, hopefully, Patrick Wolf will be able to graduate onto subjects other than himself (and an attempt to do a full-on disco record would not go amiss either).
  7. Jun 7, 2011
    During Lupercalia's first half, he continues to prove himself a fine craftsman of major-key melodies, and this is his most confident and convicted vocal performance yet. But like most of Wolf's records, he eventually gives into sad songs and waltzes as Lupercalia progresses, and studded with the same overproduction tricks of cluttered strings and processed samples, "The Days" and "Slow Motion" don't offer much in the way of contrast outside of tempo.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jul 21, 2011
    Patrick Wolf is in love, and that's not a bad thing, however, it's has made for a very different album from him than we're used to.Patrick Wolf is in love, and that's not a bad thing, however, it's has made for a very different album from him than we're used to. Regardless, this is a great, polished, catchy pop album and his vocals are spot on. The reason I'm giving this a 7, which is by no means negative, is that the turmoil isn't here, which Mr. Wolf has provided effortlessly over the years that's made for some dark music that grows on the listener over time. Not to mention a dedicated fan base. "Time of my Life" is the stand out track here, and sure enough, the only one that's melancholy. There are definitely other stand out's such as "House", "Together" and "The City", which are pop songs at their best, filled with expressions of love that are hands down lyrically and musically more intricate than the average top 40 artist. Kudos to him for tackling the main stream from a different angle and giving us a very listenable, pleasant album to add to his catalog. That said, I'm looking forward to the break up album. Collapse