Luxury Problems - Andy Stott
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    90
    In its own less-alien way, Luxury Problems is just as brilliant as what preceded it.
  2. May 30, 2013
    89
    What a sublime hush of an album. Your iPhone dreams about this music.
  3. It's a thoughtful and meditative affair with a meaningful and felt collaboration at its core.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    90
    Luxury Problems is a highly impressive full-length album of dark, atmospheric techno.
  5. Oct 29, 2012
    87
    It's the headphones album of the year from a producer with a long history who has come into his own.
  6. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    Never before has the producer been as sharp (or as murky) at the boards as he is here, seamlessly tuning long-winded drones with slavedriver clangs into hypnotic locked grooves.
  7. Nov 2, 2012
    90
    Though he's had plenty of strong releases in the past, this one has the inspired feeling of an artist truly finding his footing--a breakthrough, in other words.
  8. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    A memorable, impermanent joy, it restores, rather than disturbs, the equilibrium--a feat of engineering in the service of artistry.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Oh my god I love this album. With this album came the creation of a dark and enigmatic world that I was able to get sucked into with ease. That's what I love about andy stott's music, It has the capacity to draw me into a place I didn't expect to find comfort in. When listening I honestly feel like I'm in some neo noir, intergalactic setting in the future , and I feel like I belong in that setting whenever I listen. Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Visceral, bleak and extremely immersive solitary listening is essential. It's been a very long time since I've encountered something so ethereal and dreamlike. saasdit's fairly predictable structurally (which isn't a criticism, merely an observation), Stott's bizarre sound pallet is instantly recognisable, forebodboding Full Review »
  3. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    An absolutely brilliant record. Deep house bass and nice vocal samples make a great atmosphere. It is a very fulfilling listen and leaves me feeling refreshed. Full Review »