Luxury Problems - Andy Stott
Luxury Problems Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After two EPs last year, the Manchester producer releases a full-length electronic release featuring the operatically trained vocalist Alison Skidmore.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    Never before has the producer been as sharp (or as murky) at the boards as he is here, seamlessly tuning long-winded drones with slavedriver clangs into hypnotic locked grooves.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    A memorable, impermanent joy, it restores, rather than disturbs, the equilibrium--a feat of engineering in the service of artistry.
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    90
    Luxury Problems is a highly impressive full-length album of dark, atmospheric techno.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    Luxury Problems may not be as unbelievably mysterious and engrossing as his pair of 2011 EPs, We Stay Together and Passed Me By, but his craft is just as sharp here, and the results just as worthy of intense, continuous listening.
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    80
    It manages to evoke both void and overload simultaneously, and feels by turns oppressively dense and light as a feather. [Dec 2012, p.74]
  6. Nov 2, 2012
    80
    Luxury Problems plays like a logical continuation of this chapter of Stott's music--the sweet spot between fear, obstruction and the warm embrace of total sound immersion.
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    70
    It is certainly a gorgeous production, and tracks will possibly come across differently in a mix, even if it is not quite what many will have been expecting.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    An absolutely brilliant record. Deep house bass and nice vocal samples make a great atmosphere. It is a very fulfilling listen and leaves meAn absolutely brilliant record. Deep house bass and nice vocal samples make a great atmosphere. It is a very fulfilling listen and leaves me feeling refreshed. Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Visceral, bleak and extremely immersive solitary listening is essential. It's been a very long time since I've encountered something soVisceral, bleak and extremely immersive solitary listening is essential. It's been a very long time since I've encountered something so ethereal and dreamlike. saasdit's fairly predictable structurally (which isn't a criticism, merely an observation), Stott's bizarre sound pallet is instantly recognisable, forebodboding Collapse
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Oh my god I love this album. With this album came the creation of a dark and enigmatic world that I was able to get sucked into with ease.Oh my god I love this album. With this album came the creation of a dark and enigmatic world that I was able to get sucked into with ease. That's what I love about andy stott's music, It has the capacity to draw me into a place I didn't expect to find comfort in. When listening I honestly feel like I'm in some neo noir, intergalactic setting in the future , and I feel like I belong in that setting whenever I listen. Expand

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.