M B V - My Bloody Valentine
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 143

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Its just incredible how they can manage to stay fresh and original after a staggering 22 years. Great stuff here.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    An almost perfect near-masterpiece comeback album of the year-I tried to be realistic about it and not to expect miracle after all this time but this is even better than I hoped it would be.
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    I am only 17, but when I was 11 and only beginning to dip my toes into alt rock, I discovered 2 albums made in 1991. Both unimaginably brilliant, they changed my life. The one, the insanely popular and seminal Nevermind from Nirvana, the other an album whose stature grew from virtually nonexistant to being nearly as, and arguably even more, influential than Nevermind. The latter, wasI am only 17, but when I was 11 and only beginning to dip my toes into alt rock, I discovered 2 albums made in 1991. Both unimaginably brilliant, they changed my life. The one, the insanely popular and seminal Nevermind from Nirvana, the other an album whose stature grew from virtually nonexistant to being nearly as, and arguably even more, influential than Nevermind. The latter, was ofcourse Loveless. I was so confounded by its innovations and inventiveness and the harsh formless beauty of the songs, so much so that I scoured the Earth in search of albums that sound similar. Guess how that went.

    I may have not had to wait 22 years like other fans, but I sort of grew comfortable with the idea that MBV would never release another album. Then the reunion happened. Rumours flew around about new songs, a possible album even. I shrugged it off. I did my research. These kinds of rumours go around every couple of years. But then the rumours started gaining momentum. I didn't want to get heartbroken, so i didn't want to pay attention, but really, I was as excited as a prepubescent girl who saw Justin Bieber. But I didn't really believe it. They said they mastered it on Facebook on the last Mayan calendar day. I still didn't believe it. In fact, I still don't. It all seems so surreal, which is extremely apt, because so does the music.

    When I downloaded m b v, I was hesitant to press play. What if it didn't live up to the massive, massive expectations? Then i played it. The first third sounded like Loveless outtakes that shouldn't have been taken out. Woozy, loud, spiralling guitars and ambiguous vocals all there, and had the rest of the album been like that, it would've been amazing too. I mean, it's been 22 years and still nobody's come close to successfully reproducing Loveless. But that isn't how MBV play it. Instead, where Loveless was driven by relentless instrumental innovation, most of m b v is driven by strong songwriting, and supplimented by the still-all-these-years-later innovative production.

    All in all this album is as beautiful and affecting a masterpiece as it should be, even if it hasn't usurped Loveless's position as the greatest shoegazing masterpiece ever. A well deserved 10/10
    Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    This is near-perfect album is full of the ethereal and dreamy goodness we can expect from My bloody Valentine, but it is also more dynamic and mercurial than previous efforts. I can only hope their next album is not released 22 years later. Is it as good as Loveless? I'm not sure, and that might be the greatest compliment I can give this album.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    M B V. Superb and fresh. After 22 years, My Bloody Valentine are back and with a near-super record. By far, the good things are its strong songwriting. Definitely buy it. Go Now!
  6. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    devastatingly good, and nearly miraculous given the fact that this album had 22 years of hype behind it. i agree with some reviewer who said it's a third part opera old school mbv, new material, antidote i would actually simplify it guitars, synthesizers, percussion. the music is dynamic, some songs are forceful and ferocious, others are smooth, gentle, romantic, they all intertwine,devastatingly good, and nearly miraculous given the fact that this album had 22 years of hype behind it. i agree with some reviewer who said it's a third part opera old school mbv, new material, antidote i would actually simplify it guitars, synthesizers, percussion. the music is dynamic, some songs are forceful and ferocious, others are smooth, gentle, romantic, they all intertwine, they build on one another. it's a welcome resurgence of the beauty of the electric guitar, and a clear pointer towards new directions the band hopefully continues to follow. ace. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    As close to perfect as I can imagine. I just missed Loveless, caught up on a second hand cassette which I now realise wasn't stretched out. But I just missed it. Knees deep in pavement and nirvana in 92, saw them both live, and I feel this album, I feel every turn.
  8. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Ever since having gotten away from alternative christian rock, the genre I was forced to stick with for most of my young life, the first sub-genre I latched onto was shoegaze. Something about the languid pace, and juxtaposition of towering guitar feedback walls with sweetly sighing vocals brought me peace where christian music made me want for unreachable goals. That being said, I was oneEver since having gotten away from alternative christian rock, the genre I was forced to stick with for most of my young life, the first sub-genre I latched onto was shoegaze. Something about the languid pace, and juxtaposition of towering guitar feedback walls with sweetly sighing vocals brought me peace where christian music made me want for unreachable goals. That being said, I was one of the many who saw Loveless as a trippy masterpiece, and one of the many who believed MBV would never release a sequel for fear of not living up to their prior heights.

    My wait for mbv was more like 10 years since I found the group at 14. Still a long time to fruitlessly hope for a follow-up, but I digress. In short, this album is amazing for its bravery. It sounds less like a sequel to Loveless, more like an older sister. The sweetness is sweeter, the harshness is harsher, yet it all remains shrouded in a coat of mystery like always. This is one of the rare bands it's hard to discern the psychology behind, making the music all the more fascinating.

    Just like Loveless, this won't be for everyone's taste. Most non-indie followers won't get it, and most indie kids won't appreciate the lack of pretentiousness or irony, instead preferring Thom Yorke's latest bland variation on The Eraser. But if you want the world to slow down, to surround you in shadow while you're led by comforting vocals that might or might not be ghostly, immerse yourself in mbv and let the fear melt away.
    Expand
  9. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    A lot of people are going to be hung up on the question of whether or not MBV lives up to Loveless, and if you ask me, it does. MBV is just as cohesive, just as beautiful, and it doesn't look back to the band's former greatness. Most of these songs rip Loveless tracks to shreds in terms of craftsmanship. It took some work for me, but MBV is the real deal. Give it your attention and you'llA lot of people are going to be hung up on the question of whether or not MBV lives up to Loveless, and if you ask me, it does. MBV is just as cohesive, just as beautiful, and it doesn't look back to the band's former greatness. Most of these songs rip Loveless tracks to shreds in terms of craftsmanship. It took some work for me, but MBV is the real deal. Give it your attention and you'll be thankful in the end. Expand
  10. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    I love this so much that it's flaws only become strengths in my mind. Ending with Wonder 2 which sounds like being stuck spinning around a jet engine and evokes images of a rocket racing away to escape a violent inferno-related rapid destruction of planet earth while the sun expands at an unprecedented rate only to result in becoming ablaze anyway is a stroke of genius, it somehow makesI love this so much that it's flaws only become strengths in my mind. Ending with Wonder 2 which sounds like being stuck spinning around a jet engine and evokes images of a rocket racing away to escape a violent inferno-related rapid destruction of planet earth while the sun expands at an unprecedented rate only to result in becoming ablaze anyway is a stroke of genius, it somehow makes everything that preceded it make more sense. It's just phenomenal, 21 years of waiting paid off and now we can reap the rewards, Kevin Shields may be a bit of a nutter, but let's now embrace that. Expand
  11. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    My Bloody Valentine have not just returned, they have progressed. They have written m b v as if they’d traveled back to the early-to-mid-90s. This does not sound like a comeback album, this sounds like a long-awaited follow-up. Is it better than Loveless? No, but I never expected it to be. Will it be as influential as Loveless? Unlikely. But it’s “Welcome home”, it’s “Welcome back” andMy Bloody Valentine have not just returned, they have progressed. They have written m b v as if they’d traveled back to the early-to-mid-90s. This does not sound like a comeback album, this sounds like a long-awaited follow-up. Is it better than Loveless? No, but I never expected it to be. Will it be as influential as Loveless? Unlikely. But it’s “Welcome home”, it’s “Welcome back” and it’s “Sorry you ever left us.” Expand
  12. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    This is a great record. Whether you loved 'Loveless' or have never heard of My Bloody Valentine before this, this is a great record. Kevin Shields writes pop songs, then he processes the hell out of them, cranking on the fuzz, distortion, reverser reverb, flangers, phasers, and things that we probably didn't even know existed, until that pop song sits in a sonic space not unlike theThis is a great record. Whether you loved 'Loveless' or have never heard of My Bloody Valentine before this, this is a great record. Kevin Shields writes pop songs, then he processes the hell out of them, cranking on the fuzz, distortion, reverser reverb, flangers, phasers, and things that we probably didn't even know existed, until that pop song sits in a sonic space not unlike the reality we create when we dream. Sometimes those dreams are ethereal and soothing. Sometimes they're chaotic sensory overloads with no direction, or end in sight. Always, however, they're unique and inspiring, and that's why this band means so much to so many people. M B V picks up where Loveless has left off. A whole new generation of artists are set to be inspired. Expand
  13. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    22 years after making the seminal shoegaze album of the 1990's, no band came close to achieving the level of success with droning guitars and faded vocals, as My Bloody Valentine had. That is, until MBV. While it certainly is a step down from Loveless in terms of perfection, and is less erratically creative then the 1988 precursor Isn't Anything, MBV is still a step above all guitar rock22 years after making the seminal shoegaze album of the 1990's, no band came close to achieving the level of success with droning guitars and faded vocals, as My Bloody Valentine had. That is, until MBV. While it certainly is a step down from Loveless in terms of perfection, and is less erratically creative then the 1988 precursor Isn't Anything, MBV is still a step above all guitar rock today, because of the sound My Bloody Valentine has alone perfected. Whether it proves to be as timeless as it's predecessors may take another quarter century to determine, but surely this is a magnificent return, made by one of the most reclusive bands of all time. Expand
  14. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    MBV is surprisingly good and fresh-sounding. A lot can go wrong when a band has an excessive amount of time to record/revise (think G n' R's "Chinese Democracy" which most certainly did not live up to the hype). Thankfully, that is not the case here and for the most part, MBV delivers. The songs are direct and focused and while the trademark sound is still there (fractured guitar drone andMBV is surprisingly good and fresh-sounding. A lot can go wrong when a band has an excessive amount of time to record/revise (think G n' R's "Chinese Democracy" which most certainly did not live up to the hype). Thankfully, that is not the case here and for the most part, MBV delivers. The songs are direct and focused and while the trademark sound is still there (fractured guitar drone and ethereal vocals), there is a new reliance on 7th chords which gives this an updated sound. MBV is not stuck back in the 90's which was my biggest fear before listening to this. My only gripe is a couple of songs which seemed more like half-baked ideas than fully realized songs (she found now, is this and yes), but the other tracks more than make up for this. MBV is a worthy successor to "Loveless" and well worth the wait. PS The jet-engine sample in Wonder 2 is one of the coolest things I've heard in the past few years. Expand
  15. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Holy moley! A new MBV album. How long has it been? Well that crappy Kevin Costner-in-tights movie had just come out, and Paula Abdul still had songs on the radio…that long. So is it any good? Yes. Does it have swirling guitars and new sounds to blow your mind? Yep. (More jet engine!) Is it better than Loveless? Nope. But it’s an adequate follow up (which is a monumental compliment) and anHoly moley! A new MBV album. How long has it been? Well that crappy Kevin Costner-in-tights movie had just come out, and Paula Abdul still had songs on the radio…that long. So is it any good? Yes. Does it have swirling guitars and new sounds to blow your mind? Yep. (More jet engine!) Is it better than Loveless? Nope. But it’s an adequate follow up (which is a monumental compliment) and an interesting, totally worthy record in its own right. For those not familiar with this band…it might be a tough introduction. There are no singles here. Just heavy guitars, drowned out vocals, and complex melodies that sometimes require a few spins. Listen to it with headphones. Listen to it loud. Enjoy! Thanks for not disappointing Kevin Shields. A-…or 9/10. Cheers! –CCC Expand
  16. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    A truly unusual album. My first experience with My Bloody Valentine, as I'd never heard of Loveless before, which I subsequently loved after hearing this M B V. Not what I expected at all when I'd heard people talking about this new great album, and after listening it over and over I did learn to appreciate it, and now I truly adore it. The layers of melody, of the guitars and whatnot, IA truly unusual album. My first experience with My Bloody Valentine, as I'd never heard of Loveless before, which I subsequently loved after hearing this M B V. Not what I expected at all when I'd heard people talking about this new great album, and after listening it over and over I did learn to appreciate it, and now I truly adore it. The layers of melody, of the guitars and whatnot, I don't need fancy words to express what a tremendous effort this album was. The most amazing though, is how a person would think to make music that sounds like this in the first place. Truly original, just like its 21-year predecessor. Expand
  17. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Beautiful! what can you say...
    I wasnt even born when they start, but im so glad they're back
    its not so intense and deep as loveless but i think they scored very good with this one!
  18. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Expecting a Loveless 2 after so many years would have been folly Kevin Shields has been pretty consistently active outside of MBV since 1991, and with all the musical genres that have passed since that seminal album, it is hardly surprising that there would be some outside influence on his writing. I was a bit surprised that it was jungle beats that he would incorporate into the lastExpecting a Loveless 2 after so many years would have been folly Kevin Shields has been pretty consistently active outside of MBV since 1991, and with all the musical genres that have passed since that seminal album, it is hardly surprising that there would be some outside influence on his writing. I was a bit surprised that it was jungle beats that he would incorporate into the last third of this album, but why not? The amount of bands influenced by MBV is staggering, a lot have made albums that successfully pay tribute to "Loveless", but there is nothing like having the real deal back. Expand
  19. Jan 24, 2014
    8
    While it was understandable that a new My Bloody Valentine record would generate excitement, the level of excitement that surrounded this record was bordering on ridiculous. A lot has happened in the 21 + years since the release of Loveless both in and outside of music and while the sonic experimentation of Shields and co in the early 90's was remarkable, we've had two decades of otherWhile it was understandable that a new My Bloody Valentine record would generate excitement, the level of excitement that surrounded this record was bordering on ridiculous. A lot has happened in the 21 + years since the release of Loveless both in and outside of music and while the sonic experimentation of Shields and co in the early 90's was remarkable, we've had two decades of other bands building on the mbv blueprint with varying degrees of success. Technology has changed to such as extent that while Loveless cost a reportedly 250 grand to make, a similar record could be made today using a laptop and some nice effects for a fraction of the cost. Ok, I might be exaggerating there but you hopefully get the point. The big question was whether the new record, cleverly titled "mbv" was going to be worth the wait. The answer for me is a qualified yes. At times mbv sounds like Loveless II (no bad thing), other times it sounds like a collection of Loveless B-Sides (a tad underwhelming and lacking direction), then at other times it just hops into a parallell universe and My Bloody Valentine are unrecognisable in the music (pleasantly surprises).
    I like the record but ironically, the disappointing thing about mbv by My Bloody Valentine is that for the most part, it does exactly what we expected it to. Surprises are rare. Also, considering the length of the time the band took over the record, there is a little bit of filler on the record (not much but did we really need over 3 minutes of the "Nothing Is" loop?). mbv, while released in 2013, is arguably a record for fans of the 90's. I'm not complaining about the release of this album though, its got enough substance to sit proudly with their back catalogue and now that the monkey is off the back, perhaps the band can move on and try their hand at a record for the 2010's.
    Expand
  20. Oct 15, 2013
    8
    It's been a long time since their last album (which is the defining album for shoegaze). This album doesn't quite live up to that however, it is still a great release capable of delivering a pleasant listening experience. The second half of the album is much better than the first half which sometimes feels as though it is trying to rehash Loveless.
  21. Web
    May 8, 2013
    7
    The album is strong but not as strong as its ratings will have you believe. It will build you up over the first six tracks, give you the impression you are listening to a masterpiece, but by the final track you're somehow still waiting for a climax that came and went. It loses focus in its final three (of nine total) tracks. Loveless was consistent, amazingly so. 7.7/10
  22. Feb 10, 2013
    7
    Definitely not a bad album on the whole, although I think sentimentality may be partially behind the perfect scores it's receiving. As the eponymous, tripartite title suggests, this album is not really a cohesive work, but more of a collection of tracks from their long years of silence. As such, it's quite inconsistent. There's some really classic content here, and for that reason youDefinitely not a bad album on the whole, although I think sentimentality may be partially behind the perfect scores it's receiving. As the eponymous, tripartite title suggests, this album is not really a cohesive work, but more of a collection of tracks from their long years of silence. As such, it's quite inconsistent. There's some really classic content here, and for that reason you should give it a listen; but there's also a fair amount of less worthy stuff.

    Loveless and its associated EPs were incredible achievements; the melodies were perfect and otherworldly, and yet the band intentionally obfuscated them behind layers of wonderfully creative noise.

    And there are indeed some glimmers of that magic here, especially in the first three songs, which also seem like they're the earliest content from the two-decade recording period, most resembling the band's previous work. "Only Tomorrow" in particular is the clear highlight of the album, with a swooning, feminine melody, alongside a pained, jagged guitar, swooping vocals, and finishing with a strange, sluggish solo.

    But after that, as we enter the more recent and unconventional side of the album, I find that things progressively lose their lustre. The melodies, surprisingly for this band, become quite forgettable and rambling; the harmonies and rhythms, bland. This reaches its nadir in the closer "Wonder 2", for which I really don't have much praise. The noise is still there, but now, instead of hiding brilliance, it almost feels like it's there to hide a lack of musical substance... and without the underlying crystalline beauty, the chaos becomes rather empty and uninteresting.

    However, the disappointment here is easily countered by how great it is to see My Bloody Valentine finally out of their rut. They've shown that they still have their ability to match their younger selves, and I eagerly await the planned EP of brand new content.
    Expand
  23. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    I would like to bring this album back down to Earth. I understand that Loveless was a classic for its time, but I feel that if any other band produced basically the same album 2 years apart (let alone 22 years later) they would be ripped to shreds by some of these critics. I liked the album, but with the exception of "If I am," nothing really stood out to me. In fact, the album'sI would like to bring this album back down to Earth. I understand that Loveless was a classic for its time, but I feel that if any other band produced basically the same album 2 years apart (let alone 22 years later) they would be ripped to shreds by some of these critics. I liked the album, but with the exception of "If I am," nothing really stood out to me. In fact, the album's closer, "Wonder 2" is downright grating. Perhaps I need to listen to it more, but it doesn't feel like they've done much more than replicate the sound from Loveless. Expand
  24. Jul 10, 2013
    6
    From the start, the album is most definitely My Bloody Valentine. It had their sound, and it has their sound because, for the first three tracks, it is Loveless. It’s not a copy, instead it feels like the songs could have come right from the album’s track list. Opener “She Found Now” is sleepy and dazey, you just want to curl up next to forever and never wake up. It loses you in the music,From the start, the album is most definitely My Bloody Valentine. It had their sound, and it has their sound because, for the first three tracks, it is Loveless. It’s not a copy, instead it feels like the songs could have come right from the album’s track list. Opener “She Found Now” is sleepy and dazey, you just want to curl up next to forever and never wake up. It loses you in the music, the way a My Bloody Valentine album should. It feels like a closer, more than an opener. “Only Tomorrow”, to me sounds like a faster “Sometimes”, and it is my favourite song from the album. But even though these first two songs submit you to a land of honey gloss, where you can seep into the warm pores of each guitar strum, the rest of the album feels limp, confused, the songs seem patched together. I think it suffers from being recorded at different stages over the years because there was never one period where the band sat down and recorded it all at once.

    “Who Sees You” meanders off course preparing you to say goodbye to that Loveless sound as it goes into “Is This and Yes”, a song the feels like it should be better than it is. The opening is great, it’s dreamy, and it’s still Shoegaze. It just feels a bit too long and overdrawn, it sits well as a middle point though, it rests in that neutral zone.

    “If I am” and “New You” feel out of place. The drums are more prominent and there isn’t a subdued feeling to it. I don’t like the big bouncy beats and the bass, a problem the second half of the album suffers from. It detracts from getting lost in the music because it feels uncomfortable. ”In Another Way” is noisey, but not in a way that I like. It feel borderline obnoxious at some points with the repetitive drum loop in the background, but it’s not as bad as “Nothing Is”. “Nothing Is” is a loop, one that is quite frankly boring and uninteresting. It doesn’t compel any wonder or joy in me. “Wonder 2″ is noise though. With Jets and breakbeats flying over the band. It’s something I could like, but after the last few tracks it’s not all their with me.

    Overall, My Bloody Valentine produce a strong first half, but one that get’s lost in time. It has it’s strong parts, the first two tracks are amazing, they really are. However the rest of the album lacks proper substance, and it just drawls along in a way I wish it wouldn’t. There isn’t anything catchy, nothing that garners your attention. But in the end, the first half does retain it’s charm, and it will always send you back to Loveless.
    Expand
  25. Feb 9, 2013
    5
    I got to see MBV live back in Vancouver in the early 90s during the bands heyday. While back then I was into the whole shoegazer/madchester/etc scene and I really liked Loveless, when I heard the band were coming out with a new album (lol I'll believe it when I see it), I was curious. I dusted Loveless off and gave it the first listen in probably over 10 years and it brought me back toI got to see MBV live back in Vancouver in the early 90s during the bands heyday. While back then I was into the whole shoegazer/madchester/etc scene and I really liked Loveless, when I heard the band were coming out with a new album (lol I'll believe it when I see it), I was curious. I dusted Loveless off and gave it the first listen in probably over 10 years and it brought me back to younger days....so when I picked up the new album, I was really curious to see what the band would churn out after all these years. The end result.... most of the album could have been holdovers from Loveless, the other half sounds like old farts trying to stay trendy and relevant. Not bad, but not as good as some of these metacric reviews would lead you to believe..... Expand
  26. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    Listening to this album is one of those moments when I feel like I am a victim of some elaborate, grand-scale trolling scheme. An album that received universal acclaim, an album surrounded with hype of thousand suns. I really tried to like it, trust me I really did. I just cannot comprehend what do people actually love M B V for.

    The easiest to digest, and closest to what I'd call an
    Listening to this album is one of those moments when I feel like I am a victim of some elaborate, grand-scale trolling scheme. An album that received universal acclaim, an album surrounded with hype of thousand suns. I really tried to like it, trust me I really did. I just cannot comprehend what do people actually love M B V for.

    The easiest to digest, and closest to what I'd call an actual music is the song "New You" fairly uninspiring pop-rock song. The rest, oh boy where to start. The last three were simply a torture to listen to. It goes like this, pretty much:

    1. grab a guitar, a dozen of distortion pedals at the same time and play four completely random chords in succession;
    2. find a chick who will moan something to your song; Make sure nobody can understand what she actually sings.
    3. get the drummer who will play entirely the same thing for 5 minutes.

    There, that's what M B V sounds like. And it took them 20+ years to make.

    As I said, I think this is some very elaborate prank or maybe I listened to the wrong record. I certainly hope so.
    Expand
  27. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    I wish Talk Talk had come out of retirement instead. M B V sounds like Loveless with all the substance removed. I would review it in detail, but despite having listened five times I still couldn't say what it sounded like.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 70
    MBV is no great leap forward, though it's still aeons ahead of its 21st century competition. [Apr 2013, p.98]
  2. Apr 16, 2013
    90
    The noise that's here is lovely, heartbreaking, expansive and raw. [No. 97, p.58]
  3. The perfect album, albums with no filler, albums that when over, leave you breathless and don't inspire you to want more music from the band, but make you want to listen to the album from the start, all over again; m b v is that album.