M B V

M B V Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The long-awaited follow-up to My Bloody Valentine's 1991 classic shoegaze album Loveless was made available on its website.
  • Record Label: Self-released
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Pop, Dream Pop, Noise Pop, Shoegaze
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The perfect album, albums with no filler, albums that when over, leave you breathless and don't inspire you to want more music from the band, but make you want to listen to the album from the start, all over again; m b v is that album.
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    100
    It sounds amazing, and represents an astounding return.
  3. Feb 6, 2013
    91
    You get lost in it, and if you're wired a certain way that mixture of desire and confusion is easy to map on to the wider world. For 22 years, the only way to get there was through Loveless and its associated EPs; now there's another path, one many of us never expected to find.
  4. Feb 7, 2013
    80
    While there’s nothing quite as disorienting and alien as Loveless’s dramatic opening song, Only Shallow, there’s notable evolution in both the songwriting and sound, and the overall flow of the album actually seems tighter.
  5. Uncut
    Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Overall, then, mbv is more of a time capsule than a box of surprises, but the contents have survived in immaculate condition. [Apr 2013, p.64]
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The album’s major problem, more than anything, is that such a flabbergastingly brilliant end stretch hints at a better record that might have been, a furiously abrasive set of drum’n’gaze (sorry) that would have completely blindsided all of us, rather than the enjoyable grab bag of dreamy old and in yer face new that we in fact get.
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    60
    It’s a good album, but not a great one, and though the long tail of history will eventually render such a long production time moot, it’s certainly not a record justifying the ludicrous wait.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    devastatingly good, and nearly miraculous given the fact that this album had 22 years of hype behind it. i agree with some reviewer who saiddevastatingly good, and nearly miraculous given the fact that this album had 22 years of hype behind it. i agree with some reviewer who said it's a third part opera old school mbv, new material, antidote i would actually simplify it guitars, synthesizers, percussion. the music is dynamic, some songs are forceful and ferocious, others are smooth, gentle, romantic, they all intertwine, they build on one another. it's a welcome resurgence of the beauty of the electric guitar, and a clear pointer towards new directions the band hopefully continues to follow. ace. Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    M B V. Superb and fresh. After 22 years, My Bloody Valentine are back and with a near-super record. By far, the good things are its strongM B V. Superb and fresh. After 22 years, My Bloody Valentine are back and with a near-super record. By far, the good things are its strong songwriting. Definitely buy it. Go Now! Expand
  3. May 7, 2017
    10
    The Gods of shoegazing returned. M B V may not be as good as Loveless, but decisively better than 99% of contemporary productions. KevinThe Gods of shoegazing returned. M B V may not be as good as Loveless, but decisively better than 99% of contemporary productions. Kevin Shields and company deliver yet another incredible hour of musical journey through the inner spaces of their own dark souls, which is not comparable to the most of albums released over the last twenty years. Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    This is a great record. Whether you loved 'Loveless' or have never heard of My Bloody Valentine before this, this is a great record. KevinThis is a great record. Whether you loved 'Loveless' or have never heard of My Bloody Valentine before this, this is a great record. Kevin Shields writes pop songs, then he processes the hell out of them, cranking on the fuzz, distortion, reverser reverb, flangers, phasers, and things that we probably didn't even know existed, until that pop song sits in a sonic space not unlike the reality we create when we dream. Sometimes those dreams are ethereal and soothing. Sometimes they're chaotic sensory overloads with no direction, or end in sight. Always, however, they're unique and inspiring, and that's why this band means so much to so many people. M B V picks up where Loveless has left off. A whole new generation of artists are set to be inspired. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Expecting a Loveless 2 after so many years would have been folly Kevin Shields has been pretty consistently active outside of MBV since 1991,Expecting a Loveless 2 after so many years would have been folly Kevin Shields has been pretty consistently active outside of MBV since 1991, and with all the musical genres that have passed since that seminal album, it is hardly surprising that there would be some outside influence on his writing. I was a bit surprised that it was jungle beats that he would incorporate into the last third of this album, but why not? The amount of bands influenced by MBV is staggering, a lot have made albums that successfully pay tribute to "Loveless", but there is nothing like having the real deal back. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2017
    8
    The first half plays like a set of Loveless B-sides, so take that as you may. The second half, however, evolves into something new, and by theThe first half plays like a set of Loveless B-sides, so take that as you may. The second half, however, evolves into something new, and by the end of the album, your brain will be floating in a disoriented bliss. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    I wish Talk Talk had come out of retirement instead. M B V sounds like Loveless with all the substance removed. I would review it in detail,I wish Talk Talk had come out of retirement instead. M B V sounds like Loveless with all the substance removed. I would review it in detail, but despite having listened five times I still couldn't say what it sounded like. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.