M B V

M B V Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The long-awaited follow-up to My Bloody Valentine's 1991 classic shoegaze album Loveless was made available on its website.
  • Record Label: Self-released
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Pop, Dream Pop, Noise Pop, Shoegaze
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The perfect album, albums with no filler, albums that when over, leave you breathless and don't inspire you to want more music from the band, but make you want to listen to the album from the start, all over again; m b v is that album.
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    100
    It sounds amazing, and represents an astounding return.
  3. Feb 6, 2013
    91
    You get lost in it, and if you're wired a certain way that mixture of desire and confusion is easy to map on to the wider world. For 22 years, the only way to get there was through Loveless and its associated EPs; now there's another path, one many of us never expected to find.
  4. Feb 7, 2013
    80
    While there’s nothing quite as disorienting and alien as Loveless’s dramatic opening song, Only Shallow, there’s notable evolution in both the songwriting and sound, and the overall flow of the album actually seems tighter.
  5. Uncut
    Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Overall, then, mbv is more of a time capsule than a box of surprises, but the contents have survived in immaculate condition. [Apr 2013, p.64]
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    80
    The album’s major problem, more than anything, is that such a flabbergastingly brilliant end stretch hints at a better record that might have been, a furiously abrasive set of drum’n’gaze (sorry) that would have completely blindsided all of us, rather than the enjoyable grab bag of dreamy old and in yer face new that we in fact get.
  7. Feb 6, 2013
    60
    It’s a good album, but not a great one, and though the long tail of history will eventually render such a long production time moot, it’s certainly not a record justifying the ludicrous wait.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    devastatingly good, and nearly miraculous given the fact that this album had 22 years of hype behind it. i agree with some reviewer who saiddevastatingly good, and nearly miraculous given the fact that this album had 22 years of hype behind it. i agree with some reviewer who said it's a third part opera old school mbv, new material, antidote i would actually simplify it guitars, synthesizers, percussion. the music is dynamic, some songs are forceful and ferocious, others are smooth, gentle, romantic, they all intertwine, they build on one another. it's a welcome resurgence of the beauty of the electric guitar, and a clear pointer towards new directions the band hopefully continues to follow. ace. Collapse
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Ever since having gotten away from alternative christian rock, the genre I was forced to stick with for most of my young life, the firstEver since having gotten away from alternative christian rock, the genre I was forced to stick with for most of my young life, the first sub-genre I latched onto was shoegaze. Something about the languid pace, and juxtaposition of towering guitar feedback walls with sweetly sighing vocals brought me peace where christian music made me want for unreachable goals. That being said, I was one of the many who saw Loveless as a trippy masterpiece, and one of the many who believed MBV would never release a sequel for fear of not living up to their prior heights.

    My wait for mbv was more like 10 years since I found the group at 14. Still a long time to fruitlessly hope for a follow-up, but I digress. In short, this album is amazing for its bravery. It sounds less like a sequel to Loveless, more like an older sister. The sweetness is sweeter, the harshness is harsher, yet it all remains shrouded in a coat of mystery like always. This is one of the rare bands it's hard to discern the psychology behind, making the music all the more fascinating.

    Just like Loveless, this won't be for everyone's taste. Most non-indie followers won't get it, and most indie kids won't appreciate the lack of pretentiousness or irony, instead preferring Thom Yorke's latest bland variation on The Eraser. But if you want the world to slow down, to surround you in shadow while you're led by comforting vocals that might or might not be ghostly, immerse yourself in mbv and let the fear melt away.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    I love this so much that it's flaws only become strengths in my mind. Ending with Wonder 2 which sounds like being stuck spinning around a jetI love this so much that it's flaws only become strengths in my mind. Ending with Wonder 2 which sounds like being stuck spinning around a jet engine and evokes images of a rocket racing away to escape a violent inferno-related rapid destruction of planet earth while the sun expands at an unprecedented rate only to result in becoming ablaze anyway is a stroke of genius, it somehow makes everything that preceded it make more sense. It's just phenomenal, 21 years of waiting paid off and now we can reap the rewards, Kevin Shields may be a bit of a nutter, but let's now embrace that. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Holy moley! A new MBV album. How long has it been? Well that crappy Kevin Costner-in-tights movie had just come out, and Paula Abdul still hadHoly moley! A new MBV album. How long has it been? Well that crappy Kevin Costner-in-tights movie had just come out, and Paula Abdul still had songs on the radio…that long. So is it any good? Yes. Does it have swirling guitars and new sounds to blow your mind? Yep. (More jet engine!) Is it better than Loveless? Nope. But it’s an adequate follow up (which is a monumental compliment) and an interesting, totally worthy record in its own right. For those not familiar with this band…it might be a tough introduction. There are no singles here. Just heavy guitars, drowned out vocals, and complex melodies that sometimes require a few spins. Listen to it with headphones. Listen to it loud. Enjoy! Thanks for not disappointing Kevin Shields. A-…or 9/10. Cheers! –CCC Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    Beautiful! what can you say...
    I wasnt even born when they start, but im so glad they're back
    its not so intense and deep as loveless but i
    Beautiful! what can you say...
    I wasnt even born when they start, but im so glad they're back
    its not so intense and deep as loveless but i think they scored very good with this one!
    Expand
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    8
    While it was understandable that a new My Bloody Valentine record would generate excitement, the level of excitement that surrounded thisWhile it was understandable that a new My Bloody Valentine record would generate excitement, the level of excitement that surrounded this record was bordering on ridiculous. A lot has happened in the 21 + years since the release of Loveless both in and outside of music and while the sonic experimentation of Shields and co in the early 90's was remarkable, we've had two decades of other bands building on the mbv blueprint with varying degrees of success. Technology has changed to such as extent that while Loveless cost a reportedly 250 grand to make, a similar record could be made today using a laptop and some nice effects for a fraction of the cost. Ok, I might be exaggerating there but you hopefully get the point. The big question was whether the new record, cleverly titled "mbv" was going to be worth the wait. The answer for me is a qualified yes. At times mbv sounds like Loveless II (no bad thing), other times it sounds like a collection of Loveless B-Sides (a tad underwhelming and lacking direction), then at other times it just hops into a parallell universe and My Bloody Valentine are unrecognisable in the music (pleasantly surprises).
    I like the record but ironically, the disappointing thing about mbv by My Bloody Valentine is that for the most part, it does exactly what we expected it to. Surprises are rare. Also, considering the length of the time the band took over the record, there is a little bit of filler on the record (not much but did we really need over 3 minutes of the "Nothing Is" loop?). mbv, while released in 2013, is arguably a record for fans of the 90's. I'm not complaining about the release of this album though, its got enough substance to sit proudly with their back catalogue and now that the monkey is off the back, perhaps the band can move on and try their hand at a record for the 2010's.
    Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    0
    I wish Talk Talk had come out of retirement instead. M B V sounds like Loveless with all the substance removed. I would review it in detail,I wish Talk Talk had come out of retirement instead. M B V sounds like Loveless with all the substance removed. I would review it in detail, but despite having listened five times I still couldn't say what it sounded like. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.
  2. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2013 So Far Image
    Published: July 3, 2013
    We reveal the top 25 albums of the first half of 2013. While the list includes rare releases from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Daft Punk, and Boards of Canada, it's a metal band that tops our chart.