Mac and Devin Go to High School [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bruno Mars, Curren$y, Juicy J, and Mike Posner guest on the Snoop Dogg and Wiz Khalifa's soundtrack to their 2012 film, Mac and Devin Go to High School.
  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Genre(s): Rap, Gangsta Rap, Hardcore Rap, Soundtracks, Stage & Screen, Midwest Rap, West Coast Rap
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 83
    It's all pretty one-spliff-minded, but their pair-up is surprisingly rich, too. [6 Jan 2012, p.73]
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    83
    If Cheech And Chong are looking for a continuation course, they could do a lot worse than to start here.
  3. Feb 1, 2012
    75
    The production and hooks propel the quality of these tunes as the lyrics could have been sharper at times.
  4. Dec 16, 2011
    60
    The simple truth is this is the kind of music you're best off not thinking too much about.
  5. Jan 25, 2012
    60
    There might not be many truly fun moments but it's just so consistently smooth that the album works great as pre- or post-work atmosphere music.
  6. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    The pair work a middle ground between the elder's G-funk and the younger man's woozy pop rap.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    50
    Snoop and Wiz make a sweet couple, but this lightweight trifle is unlikely to cement a committed relationship.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    I think this album is such a great piece of art. Snoop Dogg hasn't rapped that good since the album "Doggystyle". With Wiz Khalifa in the mixI think this album is such a great piece of art. Snoop Dogg hasn't rapped that good since the album "Doggystyle". With Wiz Khalifa in the mix it just makes it better. You have old school hip hop and new school hip hop. Mixed together and blended very well for a Collaboration. They kept it G. They didn't sell out and do any pop tunes that you would hear on your local radio station that overplays crappy hip hop/pop music. This album is so chill and the beats are dope. It may not live up to "Watch The Throne" but "Mac and Devin Go to High School" could give Jay Z and Kanye a run for their money. The lyrics on Wiz's part could of been better. That's why I rate it a 8/10. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    I think if your a fan of snoop dogg and/ or wiz khalifa you will definitely like the movie. The movie was made for smokers to sit back andI think if your a fan of snoop dogg and/ or wiz khalifa you will definitely like the movie. The movie was made for smokers to sit back and have a good time and roll up with some friends or just sit back and smoke a few alone and have a good evening. it had a cool over the top marijuana humor and some cool cameos from tyga and andy milonakis and mike epps. i think they made the movie perfect for the audience their reaching out to and i think for wiz khalifa first movie he did a good job acting. cool smoking movie like cheech and chong but only 1hr 15mins, ive already watched it twice and i can see myself watching this again Collapse
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    8
    This soundtrack beats Rolling Papers & Doggumentary put together. These 2 should make more albums together. I though this was going to trashThis soundtrack beats Rolling Papers & Doggumentary put together. These 2 should make more albums together. I though this was going to trash after Rolling Pappers. But they proved me wrong good work Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2014
    7
    Una película entretenida, no es la típica película de stoners... buena música con Wiz Khalifa y Snoop Dog rapeando a duo, quizás un pocoUna película entretenida, no es la típica película de stoners... buena música con Wiz Khalifa y Snoop Dog rapeando a duo, quizás un poco corta, una segunda parte seria interesante. Pasaran un buen rato. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2012
    0
    I think Snoop should retire and enter an old peoples home immediately to save us from this torment. The album is a diabolical disgrace fromI think Snoop should retire and enter an old peoples home immediately to save us from this torment. The album is a diabolical disgrace from the first minute right up until the last. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    People who give this movie a 10, are just blind fanboys for one of these 2 "rappers". I like movies, and i like rap when it's done right. ThisPeople who give this movie a 10, are just blind fanboys for one of these 2 "rappers". I like movies, and i like rap when it's done right. This movie is not trying to do anything, it's basically just snoop, wiz, some weed, and a few "jokes" here and there. I don't see wiz and snoop as real rappers in the first place, but even friends I know whom are huge fans of Wiz Khalifa felt the same way about this movie.The only people i'd recommend it to are people who have a crush on Wiz or snoop, no one else with common sense. Expand