Made In China - Juliana Hatfield
Made In China Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rocker's latest solo record is the first for her new label, Ye Olde Records.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 80
    Everything here roars. [May 2006, p.108]
  2. Hatfield tears through 12 songs, posturing and pouting over caustic guitars and leaving her singalong hooks raw and unedited. [13 Aug 2005]
  3. Made in China is a raw, angry album that is difficult to endure at points due to the emotionally naked lyrics, but the lo-fi, almost punky, music is a perfect fit.
  4. Hatfield has nothing new to say besides "You don't know what it's like to be perfect," and it might explain her perfect-person tendency toward carelessness-- guitar solos, grating vocals, overdone crabbiness-- all signs that point to thinly veiled midlife crisis rock.
  5. The sour largely overwhelms the sweet on this set of metal sludge, repetitive tunes, and purposefully ugly vocal effects. [12 Aug 2005, p.77]
  6. The blandest rock n' roll record possible.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. KennyN
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    Awesome!! Slap in the face - Rock with catchy melodies telling us all how so much is so wrong out there. I'm glad there is still artists that actually care. Buy Made in China and one for a friend! I love Juliana!! Expand
  2. SteveA
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    I was a huge fan of the "Only Everything" album. I condidered it 1993's best. I expected it to go gold - but it is the album that Atlantic took out of print. Long story short - I think of "Made In China" as a response to everything that Juliana has been through. I liked it on first listen, LOVED it on the second. I am really looking forward to where Ms. Hatfield takes us next. (By the way, I work with a retailer. We sold out of "Made In China" in the first weekend!!!) Expand
  3. DavidA
    Dec 3, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard in a long time. Her sound has changed since the last album, which was a little sweeter. This one's gritty, with more distorted guitar and less cutesy lyrics than some of her work. There really isn't a bad track on this disc, which goes by way too quickly. Tracks 1, 2, 5, 7, and 12 are my favorites. Expand
  4. EricL
    Aug 16, 2005
    9
    This time around, Juliana exposes herself more than ever. Revealing just how much of an emotional wreck she can be. It took a while to grow on me. But, after repeated listenings, I have to admit, that this is a really great rock album. For fans of Juliana's Pony. Definitely Recommended. Expand
  5. davidh
    Sep 26, 2005
    8
    I'm juliana's stalker,so it's kind of hard to be unbiased, and i hate to compare it with other albums. she continues to amaze. she's everything rock and roll should be. her songs don't beg to be liked. or do they?her records are never quite as good as you want them to be, yet they're still my favorite records.she's got nothing left to prove, but keeps proving it. Keep writing, jules!!!!! Expand
  6. Dreampop
    Sep 19, 2005
    8
    Best album since Bed. There are some really rocking songs on this album. The album could of been a 9 or 10 for me if tracks 3-6 and 12 were as good as the rest. I do miss how she was during her first 3 solo albums though. Can't believe those are out of print. Collapse
  7. billh
    Aug 24, 2005
    3
    The CD is too choppy. I've listened thru 4-5 straight times but it refuses to grow on me. I guess I just don't get what was so wrong with a great CD like In Exile Deo that this latest compilation had to be so hastily thrown together. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews