• Record Label: Fiction
  • Release Date: Jan 8, 2008
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 51
  2. Negative: 9 out of 51

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    I love this album. THe first thing that wowed me was that Nash writes all her own songs and music. Another thing is her style..I love how you can hear her accent while she's singing and overall I would reccomend this album even to the unbelieving in music
  2. May 27, 2011
    5
    With the magnificent debut of Foundations and the follow up singles I had high hopes for this album but it didn't quite live up to the expectation.
  3. May 11, 2012
    8
    Nash's co-written material on this album makes for an interesting listen but the rest of the album, written on her own, can take some time to get used to; the quirky hooks and squashed-up lyrics don't always hit the ear right the first time around but I guarantee you after a couple more listens it becomes clear that Nash is a more than capable songwriter with a lot to say. Her lyrics,Nash's co-written material on this album makes for an interesting listen but the rest of the album, written on her own, can take some time to get used to; the quirky hooks and squashed-up lyrics don't always hit the ear right the first time around but I guarantee you after a couple more listens it becomes clear that Nash is a more than capable songwriter with a lot to say. Her lyrics, brutally honest yet so indirect, sung in her trademark talky-singy style, makes every song instantly relatable, none more so than "We Get On", a heartbreaking song about having a crush on someone. Other highlights are the cheeky pop song, "Pumpkin Soup" (co-written with Paul Epworth, the man behind Adele and Florence), and the over-produced yet hard-hitting **** Song". The kooky story of a young girl, "Mariella", also becomes very addictive too. Overall, a great debut album, albeit an acquired taste! Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    'Made Of Bricks' Is the amazing debut by English Singer-Songwriter, Kate Nash. The album puts together simple song arrangements with often quirky-witty lyrics. Nash has an ability like no other to capture the outspoken thoughts, feelings and emotions of a human, which categorizes her as an individual at what she does .
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    0
    Not at all impressed by this album. After all the hype that surrounded Kate Nash I must admit, I expected something at least semi-listen-able. I just find her a little too much like a Lilly Allen wannabe, a little cringe worthy in my opinion.
  6. MojoP.
    Oct 19, 2007
    5
    There's some good moments on this record, all the singles basically, but the rest is very average at best. I was expecting a lot more, and although there is some witty word play at work here it all seems to meander on the same subject in the same way without much melody. I reckon she'll only get better from here though.
  7. JasonT.
    Sep 10, 2007
    10
    Made Of Bricks is one of the best albums of the year by far. The Kate Nash debut gets better with each listen. Regina Spektor and Lily Allen's love child has created a winner with this incredible album!
  8. James
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    Just awfull!!! Blegh!!
  9. JimC.
    Jan 8, 2008
    2
    Am in complete disappointment at what should've been a great album on the back of its singles. Her lyrics borderline innocent to vomit inducing frequently. Grow up Nash!
  10. KateB.
    Mar 30, 2008
    6
    Very nice, this was, and very nice was all it was. I got it for Christmas and I've pretty much forgotten it a couple of months later. Still, if she can write anything other than pretty tunes she might do a good second album. Doubts hang heavy.
  11. MattJ
    Sep 10, 2007
    8
    A hugely personal album, of which all can relate. Often funny, often emotional with songs about love and life. A great soundtrack to the every day. Although there are some duff notes on the album where Nash's self-control seems to have gone amiss slightly there are some great songs in foundations, mouthwash, birds and we get on. A very promising album.
  12. MissH.
    Sep 8, 2007
    5
    Never before have i experienced such an up-and-down, topsy turvy ride when listening to an album. Kate Nash has truly earned all the plaudits and awards with songs like 'Foundations' & 'Mouthwash', yet she also deserves to be stoned for bringing trash such as 'The S**t Song' & 'Punpkin Soup' to a mainstream audience. This album is hit and miss; with Never before have i experienced such an up-and-down, topsy turvy ride when listening to an album. Kate Nash has truly earned all the plaudits and awards with songs like 'Foundations' & 'Mouthwash', yet she also deserves to be stoned for bringing trash such as 'The S**t Song' & 'Punpkin Soup' to a mainstream audience. This album is hit and miss; with gems seeming to be followed by absolute clangers. Personally i would not recommend this album as the lead single is hugely mis-leading and in a completely different world to the other 12 tracks. Expand
  13. WillC.
    Jan 11, 2008
    0
    The lyrics are woeful, her voice is woeful. It's amazing how suck talentless artists get their breaks in the music industry sometimes.
  14. Bla
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    Good CD.
  15. BarryQ.
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    Listen to it a couple of times. The lyrics and music feel naive and accidental at first, but you eventually see how every line is carefully chosen to bring you into the world she lives. the music is best when she is talking about love lost and bad boyfriends (We get on, Merry Happy,Foundations, Nicest thing). Give it a listen, then keep listening. It will grow on you.
  16. AllanC.
    Jan 9, 2008
    8
    She's definitely better then Lily Allen. Solid release by this hottie.
  17. PaulC.
    Feb 2, 2008
    7
    The kind of mindless pop album that I really like now, but will undoubtedly bore me a month from now.
  18. DRanged
    Mar 5, 2008
    1
    A shockingly poor album. Another in a long line of irritating, pretentious middle class British kids who think they're talented by singing about the humdrums of life, using a faux-Cockney accent. Ms Nash's paper thin vocals and pre-school lyrics and pitiful melodies make for a less than pleasing listen. Will anyone remember her in two years from now? With masterful, Shakepearean A shockingly poor album. Another in a long line of irritating, pretentious middle class British kids who think they're talented by singing about the humdrums of life, using a faux-Cockney accent. Ms Nash's paper thin vocals and pre-school lyrics and pitiful melodies make for a less than pleasing listen. Will anyone remember her in two years from now? With masterful, Shakepearean lyrics (sarcasm) like "I just want your kiss boy, kiss boy.....", I surely hope not! Expand
  19. FredR.
    Oct 14, 2007
    9
    A fantastic debut, a thousand light-years above Amy Winehouse, Lily Allen e others new singers out there.
  20. TimE.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    Kate Nash is my favorite Kate ...SH since Kate BuSH. To bad the critics are giving her a lot of SH... She deserves better,
  21. JosephF.
    Jan 9, 2008
    8
    The pros of this album are just too much in comparison to the lack luster songs. I'll admit that I could listen to Foundation pretty much all day long, it's just so damn catchy.
  22. Obama'skoranhuessein
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Critics schmitics. She's selling the heck out of tickets to her live shows - another critical failure but popular success. You go girl.
  23. VictorH.
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    Kate is original. She isn't afraid of saying what's up in her mind. She just says it, no matter who's there to listen. That's what I liked about her and her album the most. The lyrics are amazing. I just found some of them a little too short and, somewhat, repetitive, but still, amazing.
  24. JyotirmayaD.
    Apr 6, 2008
    7
    This album has witty sometimes hilarious songwriting and the music is melodious and thankfully does not polish over Kate Nash's own persona. It's a jaunty, pick-me-up listen.
  25. JerryD
    Aug 9, 2008
    1
    This is not music. It is an abomination and an affront to any songwriter who has written a half-decent tune. Some may think it charming but they fail to understand that it is really just musical immaturity on a grand level.
  26. DaleA.
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Amazing story telling lyrics and a fresh sound.
  27. PedroP
    Dec 21, 2008
    8
    This is a great album, Kate Nash has "it". Some songs have fantastic lyrics and awesome melodies. She doesn't have the best voice in the industry, that's true, but with a good compilation of songs like "Made of Bricks" she will get far.
  28. AidanK.
    Feb 16, 2008
    4
    Some of these songs aren't bad at all, but after 3 or 4 songs the voice just becomes unbearable.
  29. JeremyD.
    Jun 27, 2008
    7
    Terribly rushed. Similar to Adele, another MySpace success because there doesn't seem to be any professional to guide her, and all of these songs seem to have come unchanged from Myspace, where they came from her bedroom after 15 minutes of work. Everything's half done, but to her credit they're good halves.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. It's one of the most exciting debuts by a young female pop artist in ages. If occasionally it veers a wee bit too much towards the cutesy-kooky.
  2. Essentially, Made Of Bricks is comprised of a lot of below-par b-sides, three pretty special tracks and then bunch of 'nice tries'...but don't expect anyone to be whistling them in three months' time.
  3. So, from bed-bound broken foot casualty to creator of the finest debut album of the year in just over a year.