Madvillainy - Madvillain
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. All invention and no indulgence. [Jun 2004, p.110]
  2. While every Ivy League dog kennel worker with a paycheck from Blender or Revolver may write dissertations about how Outkast re-invented pop music (and if we follow that logic) then Madvillain simply destroys the boundaries.
  3. Like both artists' most transcendent work, Madvillainy retains its mystery and wonder after dozens of listens.
  4. Madvillainy is inexhaustibly brilliant, with layer-upon-layer of carefully considered yet immediate hip-hop, forward-thinking but always close to its roots.... Good luck finding a better hip-hop album this year, mainstream, undie, or otherwise.
  5. A definite tour de force for indie hip hop.
  6. 90
    The wily creativity on display here is astonishing. [Jun 2004, p.114]
  7. Madvillainy's strength lies in its mix between seemingly obtuse beats, samples, MCing, and some straight-up hip-hop bumping.
  8. One utterly badass album. [Jul 2004, p.116]
  9. A dizzying synergy of heavy brains and chemistry, culminating in blissfully fun, irreverent, and engaging brand of record-making magic.
  10. The problem with Madvillainy, if it can even be termed a problem, is that Doom and Madlib just have too many ideas.
  11. It’s easily one of the best pieces of work of both participants’ careers and a mark of the incredible talent both possess.
  12. Madvillainy isn't really an inaccessible record. It may take a couple of spins for you to get involved, but once you've passed that initial adaptation, it stays with you.
  13. Not only does it capture the unstructured verse of a masked maniac within a sheer net of plausibility, it parades his inner dementia among instrumental adornments of the highest order.
  14. 88
    Raw, crunchy beats and ugly, monster flows delivered in a punk album format. [#9, p.110]
  15. By trimming excess fat (read: R’n’B choruses), Madvilliany keeps a sense of spontaneity, cutting off unexpectedly and never allowing anything to get stale.
  16. 80
    Boatloads of fresh, clunky beats land ashore with narrative tongue trickery. [Apr 2004, p.86]
  17. Madlib creatively melds electronic and jazzy elements, entertaining voiceovers akin to the kind heard on Batman or Superman cartoons, and snippets of Sun Ra to fashion a wildly diverse yet coherently executed tableaux of brainy, original noise-art.
  18. An outlandishly imaginative collaboration.
  19. 70
    A torrid album that marries old-school rap aesthetics to punk-rock concision. [May 2004, p.127]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 122
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to. Full Review »
  2. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I can't believe it! Almost 10 years after this album came out, it's only recently that I finally get it! I was one of the people who was interested (in major part due to all the amazing reviews it was getting) but didn't "get it". I tried, but for whatever reason it never clicked w me. Well that's changed. It's incredible! To hear this album properly, play it through some really good headphones. Any doubt will be erased. It's an all-time classic! So check it out - it's aged really well & still sounds like nothing else. Full Review »
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. It's one of my favorite albums, and I am not even a big fan of hip hop. MF DOOM's imaginative rhymes and Madlib's excellent and lush production make this album one that absolutely needs to be in your collection. Full Review »