Madvillainy

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 420 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 420

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Taeros
    Jan 21, 2009
    0
    What detached drivel! I saw the high ratings and I thought wow! - finally rap/hip-hop that must have substance---wrong!!! The usual meandering, meaningless rhymes. Really! Elementary schoolyard stuff. Just because you have two words that rhyme does not mean that you should use them together, much less think that they make for a cogent, clear thought. Stupid!! And not in the good way!
  2. ThisIsAwfulMusicThisMusicSucks
    Aug 30, 2009
    0
    This was the worst thing I ever listened to.
  3. JeremyE
    Sep 14, 2009
    1
    In reality, this album deserves a 7, but the score is way too high right now, so I'm giving it a 1 to drop the score a little. This is one of the most overrated albums ever. The production is good, but DOOM spends most of the album talking about NONSENSE! It bugs me when people rate this so highly, because it means that they will agree with anything that seems abstract or not In reality, this album deserves a 7, but the score is way too high right now, so I'm giving it a 1 to drop the score a little. This is one of the most overrated albums ever. The production is good, but DOOM spends most of the album talking about NONSENSE! It bugs me when people rate this so highly, because it means that they will agree with anything that seems abstract or not mainstream. People have to realize that the most important part of a rap album is the lyrics. And the lyrics to this album or completely pointless. Other than Fancy Clown, there isn't a single song on the album that has a coherent message (anyone who disagrees, feel free to prove me wrong). It doesn't matter if DOOM knows how to rhyme. He doesn't put his talent to good use. Do you guys really think that: "More cheese than Doritos Cheetos or Fritos" is a brilliant line? Final Verdict: This album isn't worth the full listen. Just pick up these songs: Raid, Fancy Clown, and Supervillain Theme (instrumental). They're really the only ones worth listening to, the rest is crap. Expand
  4. OK
    Aug 12, 2004
    1
    Boring, repetitive, stale. Doom repeats himself and his old work, only this time he's really high. Oh, and the beats behind any actual rapping are awful. DO NOT BUY!
  5. EricY
    Jun 17, 2006
    0
    HELLO? you call this rap? its WEAK! WEAK! WEAK! even emo music is better than this
  6. KS.
    Jun 20, 2007
    2
    What a complete BORE. I guess I am totally missing the point of this endless drivel. Spoken word over boring GarageBand loops with samples and samples of completely uninteresting blah. Is is the petry that people love? Boring.
  7. GeoffreyL
    Jun 6, 2004
    2
    weak beats, boring verses, bland production. cover art gets it 1 point, cool samples another. don't buy.
  8. BubbaHick
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    This album suck how dare you people vote 10 for this piece of SH** album.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A dizzying synergy of heavy brains and chemistry, culminating in blissfully fun, irreverent, and engaging brand of record-making magic.
  2. Mojo
    90
    The wily creativity on display here is astonishing. [Jun 2004, p.114]
  3. Not only does it capture the unstructured verse of a masked maniac within a sheer net of plausibility, it parades his inner dementia among instrumental adornments of the highest order.