Madvillainy

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 393 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 393

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 9, 2016
    9
    9.5
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  2. Apr 20, 2016
    10
    The scariest rhymer in the 2000's paired up with a trippy, unusual producer. A masterpiece that is to live for many years, which inspired many young rappers in the game.
  3. Apr 7, 2016
    10
    This album is a n absolute masterpiece, by the far greatest hip hop album of all time. Nothing comes close not straight outta Compton, not enter the wu-tang and not even illmatic.
  4. Mar 27, 2016
    10
    This album is a story of two villains who just wanna throw down the strongest beats and nastiest bars known to mankind. Or are they just a couple of misunderstood boys just happened to be on the wrong side of the law?

    I never knew of these two before a certain Anthony Fantano, but damn am I glad he brought this to my attention. This is strong from start to finish and has some memorable
    This album is a story of two villains who just wanna throw down the strongest beats and nastiest bars known to mankind. Or are they just a couple of misunderstood boys just happened to be on the wrong side of the law?

    I never knew of these two before a certain Anthony Fantano, but damn am I glad he brought this to my attention. This is strong from start to finish and has some memorable songs that song so different out of succession with the album listing. If you listen to this album all in one sitting, you will get the complete story of MF Doom and Mad Lib as they take you on this musical adventure of theirs.

    My favourite tracks off of this album are without a doubt: Rhinestone Cowboy, Fancy Clown, Bistro, and Figaro.
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2015
    10
    a very sophisticated piece of work by MF Doom and Madlib. both are very incredible producers. I love the chemistry between these two. the production is mind blowing and the lyrical dexterity that doom brings makes it even better. a classic album by two of hip hops kings. true hip hop at its finest.
  6. Jun 20, 2015
    9
    Was this made in 2004? I have a hard time believing it was. With its structure, amount of tracks, the length of those tracks, and the excessive sampling (which is not a bad thing) I wouldn't even be able to believe that if this had come out in 2015, it did. What makes Madvillainy especially special is that although it feels futuristic, it takes you through a flashback of the 20th century.Was this made in 2004? I have a hard time believing it was. With its structure, amount of tracks, the length of those tracks, and the excessive sampling (which is not a bad thing) I wouldn't even be able to believe that if this had come out in 2015, it did. What makes Madvillainy especially special is that although it feels futuristic, it takes you through a flashback of the 20th century. Though the structure, tracks, and use of sampling make it feel futuristic, the samples that they used makes Madvillainy seem like it could have been made in any year from 1900 to 2100. The originality of Madvillainy is one of the things that make it a classic. The other main thing that makes it a classic is Madlib's fantastic production. The samples are all executed brilliantly and Madlib brings his own vibe to them, which I specifically love. "Accordion" made me start banging my head instantly, and the layered production of this album reminds me of the production on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy by Kanye West. I'm pretty sure that Madlib influenced Kanye very greatly. And the final piece of the puzzle is DOOM's lyricism. DOOM always spits dope rhyme after dope rhyme, and although he should definitely try to be more energetic so he doesn't come off as a boring rapper, I still think that Madvillainy would have been incomplete without Doom. I liked every song on here, except two. "Rainbows" was very weird, and although it was not terrible, it still ended up being my least favorite on the album with Doom's singing and the incomplete production (only being a sample). I didn't care for "Eye" that much either, but it was more because of the fact that DOOM wasn't on it than because it was a bad song. Overall, Madvillainy is a classic because of its production, lyricism and originality. Grade: A. Highlights: "Accordion", "Raid", "America's Most Blunted", "All Caps". Worst song: "Rainbows" Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  8. Apr 9, 2015
    10
    The production is crazy. The rhymes are ill. The flows are insane. This album is sonically so different from what you're used to as a hip-hop album from the 2000's album and yet in all it's strange ways it works so well. You will find yourself rewinding to hear DOOM drop some of the most 'out there' rhyme schemes on beats filled with obscurity unmatched. I've been listening to it for yearsThe production is crazy. The rhymes are ill. The flows are insane. This album is sonically so different from what you're used to as a hip-hop album from the 2000's album and yet in all it's strange ways it works so well. You will find yourself rewinding to hear DOOM drop some of the most 'out there' rhyme schemes on beats filled with obscurity unmatched. I've been listening to it for years and still do, from start to end without skipping. Expand
  9. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    Madvillainy is one of the top five rap albums of all time, no question. Doom's wordplay is intimidatingly dense, and the album is almost entirely free of hooks. Madlib's producing is the best it's ever been and pulled from all kinds of different sources. Accordion, Meat Grinder, Raid, Curls, Shadows of Tomorrow, Figaro, Strange Ways, Fancy Clown, ALL CAPS, and Rhinestone Cowboy are allMadvillainy is one of the top five rap albums of all time, no question. Doom's wordplay is intimidatingly dense, and the album is almost entirely free of hooks. Madlib's producing is the best it's ever been and pulled from all kinds of different sources. Accordion, Meat Grinder, Raid, Curls, Shadows of Tomorrow, Figaro, Strange Ways, Fancy Clown, ALL CAPS, and Rhinestone Cowboy are all individually brilliant, but the whole album is a 46 minute long high point. Expand
  10. May 14, 2014
    10
    excellent album, great production by madlib great flow by doom. the best abstract hip hop in my opinion.. track after track doom stays consistent, the skits on this thing fit in well this was a game changer back in 04
  11. Jan 18, 2014
    10
    I can't believe it! Almost 10 years after this album came out, it's only recently that I finally get it! I was one of the people who was interested (in major part due to all the amazing reviews it was getting) but didn't "get it". I tried, but for whatever reason it never clicked w me. Well that's changed. It's incredible! To hear this album properly, play it through some really goodI can't believe it! Almost 10 years after this album came out, it's only recently that I finally get it! I was one of the people who was interested (in major part due to all the amazing reviews it was getting) but didn't "get it". I tried, but for whatever reason it never clicked w me. Well that's changed. It's incredible! To hear this album properly, play it through some really good headphones. Any doubt will be erased. It's an all-time classic! So check it out - it's aged really well & still sounds like nothing else. Expand
  12. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. It's one of my favorite albums, and I am not even a big fan of hip hop. MF DOOM's imaginative rhymes and Madlib's excellent and lush production make this album one that absolutely needs to be in your collection.
  13. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    There is no doubt in my mind that 'Madvillainy' has managed to convert hipsters and musical intellectuals into avid hip-hop listeners. It is a record that has inspired underground rap in a way not seen since 'Paul's Boutique'. For those who think that this album is overrated, you're missing the point. This album was never intended to be a game-changer, so there's no irony. It just requiresThere is no doubt in my mind that 'Madvillainy' has managed to convert hipsters and musical intellectuals into avid hip-hop listeners. It is a record that has inspired underground rap in a way not seen since 'Paul's Boutique'. For those who think that this album is overrated, you're missing the point. This album was never intended to be a game-changer, so there's no irony. It just requires several listens to fully appreciate, just like any album worth its salt. Expand
  14. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I was going to write a review on the albums 10th anniversary, but I just couldn't wait. After almost 10 years, Madvillainy has etched itself in the history of underground hip hop and is truly a classic to hip hop listeners who appreciate very complex rhyme schemes and carefully put together production. MF DOOM (remember all caps) covers an incredibly large range of topics, and each of hisI was going to write a review on the albums 10th anniversary, but I just couldn't wait. After almost 10 years, Madvillainy has etched itself in the history of underground hip hop and is truly a classic to hip hop listeners who appreciate very complex rhyme schemes and carefully put together production. MF DOOM (remember all caps) covers an incredibly large range of topics, and each of his very clever verses are backed up perfectly by individually unique beats by Madlib. Even Madlib and his alter ego, 'Quasimoto' step in to help the Villain on the lyrics (see: America's Most Blunted, Shadows of Tomorrow). It's hard for me to put into words how great this album is, and writing a 'favourite tracks' list would be silly since this album is perfect to me, but I will name the songs that I think show both Madlib's and DOOM's skills at each their own position: Accordion, Meat Grinder, Curls, Figaro, Strange Ways, All Caps, Great Day, Rhinestone Cowboy. Expand
  15. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    I don't even know why I'm bothering to review this, everyone should know by now how great this thing is, Seriously, I've yet to hear another hip-hop album as creative (while also being consistently catchy and crisp) quite like this one
  16. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    this album might be great to you if you're into weird rap, but if you're a fan of all types of rap, this will just seem good, songs like all caps are gems
  17. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    I' m not big into hip-hop, but I think this, like some other albums from this genre (The Money Store, The Grey Album) is a masterpiece. The singles (like All Caps or Accordion) are delightful, and the other tracks are also great. The group relies equally on the abstract rhymes of MF Doom and Madlib's Jazz Influenced Beats. However, the feat. on Raid and MF's "singing" on Great Day aren'tI' m not big into hip-hop, but I think this, like some other albums from this genre (The Money Store, The Grey Album) is a masterpiece. The singles (like All Caps or Accordion) are delightful, and the other tracks are also great. The group relies equally on the abstract rhymes of MF Doom and Madlib's Jazz Influenced Beats. However, the feat. on Raid and MF's "singing" on Great Day aren't amazing. Overall, a great record and a great introduction to underground Hip-Hop. Expand
  18. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    Fantastic album which has stood the testament of almost a decade. MF Doom continues to release unprecedented rhymes over classic Madlib instrumentals. A true hip-hop classic.
  19. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This is where true rap and hip-hop is. This is what most rap artists are missing. Originality. It has it's own independent style in the lyrically and production department. Perfection, literally...
  20. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    The beats are mostly good. Some of them seem out of place. DOOM has good rhymes. The low ratings seem to be from children who are expecting "gangsta rap". This has very few themes regarding violence or sexuality. It's truly poetry, over nice sounds.
    Deduct one point for some weird beats, and another for some out of place silences from DOOM.
  21. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    a simply mind-blowing record... DOOM lays down his signature twisted lyricism and flow over equally warped and perfectly crafted beats from the one and only Madlib. simply put, this is a landmark hip hop record. must own for all underground rap fans
  22. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to.
  23. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    One of the BEST hip-hop album of all time. I'm honored that I had the opportunity to listen and own this album. The album is genius! Madlib is a awesome producer and MF Doom, is an amazing rapper (and also a producer). Because of this album, I'm a big fan of Madvillian. Can't wait for their next album together!
  24. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    9
    A very entertaining, inventive Hip-Hop album with no boundaries. Like nothing you've ever heard.
  25. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    The best underground album of all-time. The entire album flows from beginning to end; a sequel is needed ASAP. No hooks because none are necessary when an MC as skilled as this handles the microphone
  26. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This album took me for a long ride and on the way explained what was wrong with mainstream rap and how the glory days are long gone. the production from Madlib were topped with a combination of lyrics that were just as strange but incredibly artistic from the undergrounds most treasured lyricst MF DOOM. Losg story short, it just matched perfectly. The unorthodox flow and the mysteriousThis album took me for a long ride and on the way explained what was wrong with mainstream rap and how the glory days are long gone. the production from Madlib were topped with a combination of lyrics that were just as strange but incredibly artistic from the undergrounds most treasured lyricst MF DOOM. Losg story short, it just matched perfectly. The unorthodox flow and the mysterious melodies put my brain into pondering mode and concluded that anything unseen by the public could easily be the best thing around. Hip hop whould be briefly revived by this album and still carrys a strong position as the best hip hop album of its decade. Expand
  27. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Probably the best hip-hop album i have heard in my entire life, make sure you listen to it from start to finish. Very original and heaps of clever lyrics and nice beats. Absolutely quality hip-hop.
  28. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Some people seem just not to GET IT. I hate to phrase it in such a such a way, because everyone is entitled to their opinion, but that's the way it is. For one, both the word play of MF Doom, and the mixing of Madlib destined this album to be extremely polarizing from the get go. Not everyone is going to love it, some are going to hate it, but most just won't get it. It's intentionally aSome people seem just not to GET IT. I hate to phrase it in such a such a way, because everyone is entitled to their opinion, but that's the way it is. For one, both the word play of MF Doom, and the mixing of Madlib destined this album to be extremely polarizing from the get go. Not everyone is going to love it, some are going to hate it, but most just won't get it. It's intentionally a jumbled mess of near silliness, that switches between abstract tracks and specific concepts, but it blends the two seamlessly. It's an album that if you want to hear jaw dropping punchlines and crazy metaphors, you're not going to get until the third listen or so; if you want head nodding beats you're not going to get because the tracks are too short and all over the place. BUT if you're willing to look past the 'weird' nature of the album, you'll hear the masterpiece underneath. And if you give it a chance and listen 2,3, 4 times you'll get something different out of it every time. This album gets a 10/10 from me, because it's so out there that it's brilliant. MF Doom will never be an artist that everyone can appreciate it, but if you give him a chance he might just surprise you.

    Oh, and Accordion is EASILY one of the greatest songs ever, of any genre.
    Expand
  29. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    Truly the best hip-hop album ever made. Can you even imagine the amount of work they've put in to pick the samples? These weren't produced in no studio or whatever, these were hand-picked from a ceiling-high stack of vinyl.

    Kudos to them. Their efforts certainly have not been in vain.
  30. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is strange that the album already downloaded, is different rhymes, beats different, but the sound has an incredible quality;

    A good rap underground, MF DOOM rhymes short, dark and no chorus. Already in the beats, sounds of Madlib uses film clips, cartoons and even accordion, one thing is very complex and different from what happens in the mainstream;
    Expand
  31. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    This is one of very few albums in the rap world where I can jam to the entire album without skipping a song. Doom, being probably my personal favorite rapper, does some of his best work on this album. I heard this album being my first Madlib experience, and I was wowed. Most people don't appreciate the rap DOOM spits, but if you follow along to each spoken word, Doom is probably one ofThis is one of very few albums in the rap world where I can jam to the entire album without skipping a song. Doom, being probably my personal favorite rapper, does some of his best work on this album. I heard this album being my first Madlib experience, and I was wowed. Most people don't appreciate the rap DOOM spits, but if you follow along to each spoken word, Doom is probably one of the top ten most talented MC's of the world. Listen to this, this is BANGIN! Expand
  32. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of the greatest albums, rap/indie wise, possibly ever. Its so well built from instrumentals to lyrical this album is a classic in my opinion. Accordion is one of the best songs on the album and can be taken in to context as one of the best rap songs in the past ten years and possibly of all time. M.F. Doom and Madlib create such a masterpiece that it will have your mind blownThis is one of the greatest albums, rap/indie wise, possibly ever. Its so well built from instrumentals to lyrical this album is a classic in my opinion. Accordion is one of the best songs on the album and can be taken in to context as one of the best rap songs in the past ten years and possibly of all time. M.F. Doom and Madlib create such a masterpiece that it will have your mind blown away from the first minute to the last. Definite buy for any indie lover or rap lover. You will never be the same again after you listen to this work of art Expand
  33. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    I have to respond to JeremyE's review. Look just because you can't understand the lyrics doesn't mean they aren't saying anything or have no meaning. I can't expect you to know what you don't know, but if you pay attention there is a lot of fascinatingly deep lyrics here. Try not to look at the world with such a literal view point. The lyrics on this album are abstract and take time toI have to respond to JeremyE's review. Look just because you can't understand the lyrics doesn't mean they aren't saying anything or have no meaning. I can't expect you to know what you don't know, but if you pay attention there is a lot of fascinatingly deep lyrics here. Try not to look at the world with such a literal view point. The lyrics on this album are abstract and take time to grasp. There are plenty of fine artists out there that say very literal things in their raps, go find them and leave what you don't understand alone. Expand
  34. macb
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Incredible originality and flow - nothing else like it in this genre. Doom is the master of low-fi indie hip-hop and this collection is a 7-course meal of listening pleasure. If you've come here for pop rap or auto-tune, look elsewhere - you are not worthy.
  35. JeremyE
    Sep 14, 2009
    1
    In reality, this album deserves a 7, but the score is way too high right now, so I'm giving it a 1 to drop the score a little. This is one of the most overrated albums ever. The production is good, but DOOM spends most of the album talking about NONSENSE! It bugs me when people rate this so highly, because it means that they will agree with anything that seems abstract or not In reality, this album deserves a 7, but the score is way too high right now, so I'm giving it a 1 to drop the score a little. This is one of the most overrated albums ever. The production is good, but DOOM spends most of the album talking about NONSENSE! It bugs me when people rate this so highly, because it means that they will agree with anything that seems abstract or not mainstream. People have to realize that the most important part of a rap album is the lyrics. And the lyrics to this album or completely pointless. Other than Fancy Clown, there isn't a single song on the album that has a coherent message (anyone who disagrees, feel free to prove me wrong). It doesn't matter if DOOM knows how to rhyme. He doesn't put his talent to good use. Do you guys really think that: "More cheese than Doritos Cheetos or Fritos" is a brilliant line? Final Verdict: This album isn't worth the full listen. Just pick up these songs: Raid, Fancy Clown, and Supervillain Theme (instrumental). They're really the only ones worth listening to, the rest is crap. Expand
  36. ThisIsAwfulMusicThisMusicSucks
    Aug 30, 2009
    0
    This was the worst thing I ever listened to.
  37. TJ
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    I've referred to this as my favorite album of all time in many, many occasions, and I still fully back that comment. Every single track is mindblowing.
  38. cathalf.
    Jan 24, 2009
    10
    Awesome album, makes some of the most original hip hop albums look unoriginal!
  39. Taeros
    Jan 21, 2009
    0
    What detached drivel! I saw the high ratings and I thought wow! - finally rap/hip-hop that must have substance---wrong!!! The usual meandering, meaningless rhymes. Really! Elementary schoolyard stuff. Just because you have two words that rhyme does not mean that you should use them together, much less think that they make for a cogent, clear thought. Stupid!! And not in the good way!
  40. WesM.
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    I admit, this took a LOT of listens for me to get into, and I only finally got into after listening to the excellent Mouse and the Mask -- reinvigorated my interest in hip-hop -- highly recommended!
  41. Daro
    Jul 17, 2008
    10
    Pure genius.
  42. BrandonS
    Apr 5, 2008
    8
    Its a great album but i wouldnt give it a straight 10.
  43. NickD.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    A masterpiece; at turns amusing, threatening and even downright psychopathic. Just for the record, anyone who - like Eric Y - refers to this as "rap" doesn't know of what they speak and should get back to their Fifty Cent record collection.
  44. KrishB
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    DOOM + MADLIB = Greatest Combination EVER!!!
  45. Lukas
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Utterly unique, thick bass lines, fantastic jazz samples and the greatest rapper of all time to boot, any of you fools that gave this a bad review have no taste and are the reason most hip hop is crap nowadays.
  46. Blak000K
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    A classic album. This is one of my favorite hip-hop albums of all time. The CD is filled with great songs, and even greater beats. Doom can sound like he's rambling (as he often does), but his songs usually have a profound (or at least meaningful) message. If you're into jazzy style hip-hop, then this CD might be worth looking into.
  47. HexumS
    Jul 18, 2007
    8
    This album is pretty good, but check out a different and better album by this guy! The only thing about this other album is the subject matter is mostly about Aldult Swim. Danger Doom - The Mouse and the Mask.
  48. JOHNW.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    BRILLIANT.
  49. JimmyC.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    God, there are so many white people on this forum.
  50. DanA
    Jun 24, 2007
    9
    An awesome album, but really the only flaw holding it back is the length of some tracks.
  51. KS.
    Jun 20, 2007
    2
    What a complete BORE. I guess I am totally missing the point of this endless drivel. Spoken word over boring GarageBand loops with samples and samples of completely uninteresting blah. Is is the petry that people love? Boring.
  52. MarcianoP
    May 9, 2007
    10
    I love this
  53. NikolaiR
    May 9, 2007
    10
    WOW. this is weird yet entertaining
  54. OzzieM
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Madvillain album Madvillainy is one of the greatest underground albums of all time period. IT ROCKS
  55. BeerRun
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Cool Clean sound, i am not usually a rap listener, but i would definitely recommend this album to all my rock and metal listening friends!
  56. MFDOOMMFDOOM
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    Gets more fresh and fresh after every listen.
  57. SeppM
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    an unbelievable album!!!
  58. friendofman
    Feb 9, 2007
    4
    Why is this getting such great reviews? I was hoping this would help me cross over the genre. A couple good tunes. If you don't like rap or hip-hop because of muddy, low, emotionless, spoken lyrics, especially the same old stupid puns like "Americas most blunted," keep searching, kids. The detractors on this site are right: repetitive and you can't bob your head to it.
  59. TericD
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    This is a an independent classic for ages to come! I was not a common Doom fan until I listened to this CD. Madlib is one of the best underground producers of all times. This was a big breath of fresh air to Hip Hop!
  60. BillyH
    Nov 11, 2006
    10
    Reading all the bad reviews here clearly shows that this album is for people with an love of hip hop and wider music in general. Some people drink Teachers, other choose a single malt.
  61. HansE
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    This was the first rap album I ever owned and it has never gotten old. It puts me in a mood that no other cd possibly can. The review that Blender gives is so far off from what this cd is. Nothing punk-rock about it. Just fucking amazing
  62. JBone
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    I don't give out tens easily. This album is a ten. Basically, if you are a fan of Madlib's disctinct production style, then this is a masterpiece you must check out. Immediately. Art meets entertainment in a most equisite package/
  63. MichaelC
    Sep 1, 2006
    10
    It's one of the few albums that I can listen to over and over and over again, every track flows so flawlessy, and are instantly catchy, but there are plenty of hidden tresures in some of these songs, that you start to notice on about the 10th listen. A Classic no doubt, almost as good as The Unseen.
  64. proj10
    Aug 28, 2006
    10
    dopeness at it's maximum
  65. JamieM
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    An exceptional album...MF DOOM proves he is among the greatest rappers ever.....
  66. DanH
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    Great album. But to anyone who disses Doom as an MC: name one rapper out today with a more unique style. You can't. And Madlibs beats are cool, perfect for Doom's style.
  67. MikeC
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    I bought this album on critical responce after I head a bunch of good things about Doom, this album is easlily my favorite hip hop album, which is odd because it's so current, but its badass, the beats are spectacular, the punk rock presentation is endearing, and the buttery smooth flow is bodacious, Every single hip hop fan needs to own this album as a reference point to greatness.
  68. AndrewS
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    "Got more soul than a sock with a hole" brilliant
  69. KevinL
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    Wow...this is freaking dope...man this ...is the bomb...I reccomend this to all hip hop and underground rap fans.
  70. EricY
    Jun 17, 2006
    0
    HELLO? you call this rap? its WEAK! WEAK! WEAK! even emo music is better than this
  71. TylerD
    May 1, 2006
    10
    This is what hip hop is supposed to be. Madlib and MF Doom? Are you kiddin me? Wow. All I can say is wow. As for Bubba Hick, well I think his name speaks for himself. He should show more respect for others opinions and go on listening to Journey or something.
  72. AlexS
    Apr 28, 2006
    10
    Simply Head-Bangin, Mind Twangin, and Straight up Reignin at #1 With the world...
  73. ThurogoodW
    Apr 1, 2006
    7
    I enjoy the album start to finish. I would recommend it to hiphop all hiphop lovers. Its the type of album that will never be fully appreciated by the masses as it is too abstract for that. No hooks on any songs, lots instrumental time. This is the type of album that grows on you. When I first listened I was expecting more due to all the hype. When you hit play you wait for this guy to I enjoy the album start to finish. I would recommend it to hiphop all hiphop lovers. Its the type of album that will never be fully appreciated by the masses as it is too abstract for that. No hooks on any songs, lots instrumental time. This is the type of album that grows on you. When I first listened I was expecting more due to all the hype. When you hit play you wait for this guy to rap, but it takes a while, just be easy and let it play in the background...All of the sudden this dudes raps smack you in the face. When he spits, he tickles your rhyming fancy. Expand
  74. TimD
    Mar 29, 2006
    10
    this is the most inventive rap album EVER! if you dont like this your a piece of shAt! i wanna be listening to this when i die...
  75. JoelC
    Mar 2, 2006
    7
    Like other reviewers, I was expecting a lot out of my first listen to MF Doom. I think every track was solid with good beats, tight rhymes, and surgically placed samples. Despite every track's merit, the album it self lacks character and substance. For example, I'm not sure what the most popular track (according to napster), "Accordian," is about... it's so busting at the Like other reviewers, I was expecting a lot out of my first listen to MF Doom. I think every track was solid with good beats, tight rhymes, and surgically placed samples. Despite every track's merit, the album it self lacks character and substance. For example, I'm not sure what the most popular track (according to napster), "Accordian," is about... it's so busting at the seams with similies inserted solely to complete rhymes that the direction of the track unrecognizable. Unfortunately, these meaningless-yet-tight rhymes permeate the whole album. I'll look forward to future releases from MF Doom as his potential is evident though unfulfilled in "Madvillainy". Expand
  76. ON
    Feb 17, 2006
    7
    Madvillainy is a decent album, though to be perfectly honest I expected a lot more from MF Doom after all the hype. And maybe that's why I'm only giving it a 7. After hearing so much about Doom's creative genius it's easy to be disappointed. Is it genius to not have a chorus in any song? I don't know. Is it genius to create "abstract" raps? I don't know. But Madvillainy is a decent album, though to be perfectly honest I expected a lot more from MF Doom after all the hype. And maybe that's why I'm only giving it a 7. After hearing so much about Doom's creative genius it's easy to be disappointed. Is it genius to not have a chorus in any song? I don't know. Is it genius to create "abstract" raps? I don't know. But I know what I like, and I like having some choruses and having some raps that have a story to tell. This album's got some sweet beats and his rhythm is pretty tight, but my expectations were way higher. Expand
  77. BubbaHick
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    This album suck how dare you people vote 10 for this piece of SH** album.
  78. FletcherB
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    An absolute hip-hop classic. A must have. I wouldn't say that Doom misses the beat, he just flows over it. But your head just has to calibrate itself to a style of hip hop that's outside the box...or in this instance; the beat. Picasso had the most warped perspective ever, but he's revered as a master of the masters. And a thousand other examples. the ONLY lacking element An absolute hip-hop classic. A must have. I wouldn't say that Doom misses the beat, he just flows over it. But your head just has to calibrate itself to a style of hip hop that's outside the box...or in this instance; the beat. Picasso had the most warped perspective ever, but he's revered as a master of the masters. And a thousand other examples. the ONLY lacking element is the entire track of "hardcore hustle". No doom, no track. Wildchild sucks. Expand
  79. rodram
    Dec 28, 2005
    10
    brilliant super genius, nvr get bored of this after years..
  80. DankyM
    Nov 21, 2005
    9
    dude mf doom has had the midas touch since 99's operation doomsday. like u can hear it start devepling even with KMD as Zev love X now its Doom's time.
  81. GinaM
    Nov 17, 2005
    10
    i really think this is such an amazing album. the sampling along with the wild rapping is excellently done, and just because all of MF Doom's lyrics don't always make sense it TOTALLY works on this album, it's almost more intelligent. i would definitely recommend this album to anyone.
  82. AdamS
    Oct 30, 2005
    5
    Madlib (the producer) is clearly talented, but Doom's raps need major work. He misses the beat. A lot. And his style is, well... static - it rarely adjusts to the feel of the song. Whether it's artistic expression or just a bad sense of rhythm, he makes it hard to nod your head.
  83. MattH
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Whoever posted anonymous was talking about Bloc Party's album, which i gave a 7.5 too heh. This however, is one of my favorite rap albums of all time.
  84. jonh
    Aug 5, 2005
    6
    I wasn't feeling a majority of the beats, and the best beats on the album are instrumental so they dont get blessed with Doom's vocals. I expected alot from this album but ended up skipping alot of songs due to beats I just couldnt nod my head to. This CD is in the "put a few songs on the iPod and then put on the shelf" pile.
  85. BenS
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    I can't call it the greatest rap album of all time, because I haven't heard them ALL but that said, my favorite rap album of all time.
  86. NathanG
    Jul 4, 2005
    9
    Anyone who is planning to buy this album has to realise that it's MF Doom & Madlib. Those two guys are well into unconventional rap. I mean: this album is as far away from - let's say - 50 Cent as it is to - let's say - Radiohead. Maybe even closer to Radiohead. But if you like to hear new things, things that haven't been done before, if you like to be suprised by an Anyone who is planning to buy this album has to realise that it's MF Doom & Madlib. Those two guys are well into unconventional rap. I mean: this album is as far away from - let's say - 50 Cent as it is to - let's say - Radiohead. Maybe even closer to Radiohead. But if you like to hear new things, things that haven't been done before, if you like to be suprised by an album, if you don't like the "been there, done that"-approach that some rappers are into nowadays, but you are into rap, well: this is your album. BTW: [anonymous] (who gives the album a 7) is talking about Bloc Party's Silent Alarm and not about this album. Expand
  87. IllyaZ
    May 30, 2005
    10
    One of the best rap/hip-hop albums of all time!
  88. matta
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Wow, I know that it's bold of me, but this is seriously the best Rap album that I have ever heard. Madvillainy is not just proof that MF Doom and Madlib are two of the most talented figures in rap today, but that they need to collaborate again. Totally original and groundbeaking in every way.
  89. [anonymous]
    May 11, 2005
    7
    a 7.5 actually. i could have given it 8 or 8.5 being the highest but i think they were overhyped and a bit overrated. i guess i just had high expectations due to the hype. i enjoyed the album though and it's still in my cd player. my top 3 tracks are "banquet", "blue light" and "this modern love".
  90. Ben
    Apr 29, 2005
    9
    Pretty Much As good as rap gets
  91. TimM
    Apr 13, 2005
    9
    This album is simply incredible. Flowing... Brilliant.
  92. LiamL
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    Best album ever
  93. DareA
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    upon ma first listen of this Album...i was thinking the album was a 7 at best. Then I took the commercial MTV/BET clog blocking ma listening skills out. after the 3rd listen i was bedazzled! the lyrical content of this album is Amazing! the beats and skits are perfect. The album touches many many things! This is a classic. Definetaly comes after Illmatic in ma all time greatest upon ma first listen of this Album...i was thinking the album was a 7 at best. Then I took the commercial MTV/BET clog blocking ma listening skills out. after the 3rd listen i was bedazzled! the lyrical content of this album is Amazing! the beats and skits are perfect. The album touches many many things! This is a classic. Definetaly comes after Illmatic in ma all time greatest albums....and if it aint in ur top 3.....I wonder what the f*ck is!!!!!!! Expand
  94. BigD
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    Simply the best of 2004. And maybe 2005.
  95. SamiK
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    Best album of 2004
  96. SteK
    Feb 2, 2005
    10
    Genius. Anyone who doesn't rate this album highly needs to re-assess the way they evaluate pretty much everything. Or they could just turn off MTV.
  97. Chris
    Jan 27, 2005
    7
    This was not that great it sounded all the same what it so good about that. MF Doom has rapped and produced him self much better. I am sorry but being a true rap fan would you seriously say this anywhere near a classic album like illmatic or even close to the underground classic operation Doomsday which MF Doom released in 1999-No
  98. JoeyB
    Jan 23, 2005
    10
    My first exposure to MF Doom has blown me away. I didn't know what to say to what I was listening to as it came through the speakers, but I could only stutter and blink in awe. What a great album.
  99. MichaelN
    Jan 17, 2005
    10
    This album is a stroke of GENIUS. If you are a hardcore Hip Hop head by this album. A combination of hard underground beats by MADLIB and slick lyrical flow by MF DOOM made this album 2004's best buy. Hip Hop Classic.
  100. D-Rod
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    10!!! If you dont agree that this albums a classic, you havent been listening to it long enough. Give it more than two spins and youll be hooked. This album marries classic Madlib production and the always witty genius that is Metal Face Doom. The best album by both so far in their dynamic careers is, for me, the best ALBUM of the year.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. A dizzying synergy of heavy brains and chemistry, culminating in blissfully fun, irreverent, and engaging brand of record-making magic.
  2. Mojo
    90
    The wily creativity on display here is astonishing. [Jun 2004, p.114]
  3. Not only does it capture the unstructured verse of a masked maniac within a sheer net of plausibility, it parades his inner dementia among instrumental adornments of the highest order.