Madvillainy

Madvillainy Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 460 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Madvillainy' is a collaboration between rapper MF Doom and producer Madlib.

Top Track

Rhinestone Cowboy
Hold the cold one like he old the cold gun Like he hold the microphone and stole the show for fun Hold my flow for ransom flows is handsome Hoes is... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. The A.V. Club
    100
    Like both artists' most transcendent work, Madvillainy retains its mystery and wonder after dozens of listens.
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    All invention and no indulgence. [Jun 2004, p.110]
  3. Madvillainy isn't really an inaccessible record. It may take a couple of spins for you to get involved, but once you've passed that initial adaptation, it stays with you.
  4. Madvillainy's strength lies in its mix between seemingly obtuse beats, samples, MCing, and some straight-up hip-hop bumping.
  5. Filter
    88
    Raw, crunchy beats and ugly, monster flows delivered in a punk album format. [#9, p.110]
  6. Blender
    70
    A torrid album that marries old-school rap aesthetics to punk-rock concision. [May 2004, p.127]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 137
  1. jetblack
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Best HipHop Album of 2004.......
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of theA masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to. Expand
  3. matta
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Wow, I know that it's bold of me, but this is seriously the best Rap album that I have ever heard. Madvillainy is not just proof that MF Wow, I know that it's bold of me, but this is seriously the best Rap album that I have ever heard. Madvillainy is not just proof that MF Doom and Madlib are two of the most talented figures in rap today, but that they need to collaborate again. Totally original and groundbeaking in every way. Expand
  4. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is strange that the album already downloaded, is different rhymes, beats different, but the sound has an incredible quality;

    A good rap underground, MF DOOM rhymes short, dark and no chorus. Already in the beats, sounds of Madlib uses film clips, cartoons and even accordion, one thing is very complex and different from what happens in the mainstream;
    Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2017
    10
    DOOM and Madlib came together to create something truly special. There's a reason this is one og the highest rated things ever released onDOOM and Madlib came together to create something truly special. There's a reason this is one og the highest rated things ever released on this site. Few things I can say that haven't been said already, but please do yourself a favor and give it a listen. MADVILLAINY is fantastic. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    I' m not big into hip-hop, but I think this, like some other albums from this genre (The Money Store, The Grey Album) is a masterpiece. TheI' m not big into hip-hop, but I think this, like some other albums from this genre (The Money Store, The Grey Album) is a masterpiece. The singles (like All Caps or Accordion) are delightful, and the other tracks are also great. The group relies equally on the abstract rhymes of MF Doom and Madlib's Jazz Influenced Beats. However, the feat. on Raid and MF's "singing" on Great Day aren't amazing. Overall, a great record and a great introduction to underground Hip-Hop. Expand
  7. BubbaHick
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    This album suck how dare you people vote 10 for this piece of SH** album.

See all 137 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.