Madvillainy - Madvillain
Madvillainy Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 277 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Madvillainy' is a collaboration between rapper MF Doom and producer Madlib.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. All invention and no indulgence. [Jun 2004, p.110]
  2. Like both artists' most transcendent work, Madvillainy retains its mystery and wonder after dozens of listens.
  3. Madvillainy isn't really an inaccessible record. It may take a couple of spins for you to get involved, but once you've passed that initial adaptation, it stays with you.
  4. The problem with Madvillainy, if it can even be termed a problem, is that Doom and Madlib just have too many ideas.
  5. 88
    Raw, crunchy beats and ugly, monster flows delivered in a punk album format. [#9, p.110]
  6. 70
    A torrid album that marries old-school rap aesthetics to punk-rock concision. [May 2004, p.127]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 122
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    This is one of the greatest albums, rap/indie wise, possibly ever. Its so well built from instrumentals to lyrical this album is a classic in my opinion. Accordion is one of the best songs on the album and can be taken in to context as one of the best rap songs in the past ten years and possibly of all time. M.F. Doom and Madlib create such a masterpiece that it will have your mind blown away from the first minute to the last. Definite buy for any indie lover or rap lover. You will never be the same again after you listen to this work of art Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to. Collapse
  3. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    Some people seem just not to GET IT. I hate to phrase it in such a such a way, because everyone is entitled to their opinion, but that's the way it is. For one, both the word play of MF Doom, and the mixing of Madlib destined this album to be extremely polarizing from the get go. Not everyone is going to love it, some are going to hate it, but most just won't get it. It's intentionally a jumbled mess of near silliness, that switches between abstract tracks and specific concepts, but it blends the two seamlessly. It's an album that if you want to hear jaw dropping punchlines and crazy metaphors, you're not going to get until the third listen or so; if you want head nodding beats you're not going to get because the tracks are too short and all over the place. BUT if you're willing to look past the 'weird' nature of the album, you'll hear the masterpiece underneath. And if you give it a chance and listen 2,3, 4 times you'll get something different out of it every time. This album gets a 10/10 from me, because it's so out there that it's brilliant. MF Doom will never be an artist that everyone can appreciate it, but if you give him a chance he might just surprise you.

    Oh, and Accordion is EASILY one of the greatest songs ever, of any genre.
    Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    This is where true rap and hip-hop is. This is what most rap artists are missing. Originality. It has it's own independent style in the lyrically and production department. Perfection, literally... Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I was going to write a review on the albums 10th anniversary, but I just couldn't wait. After almost 10 years, Madvillainy has etched itself in the history of underground hip hop and is truly a classic to hip hop listeners who appreciate very complex rhyme schemes and carefully put together production. MF DOOM (remember all caps) covers an incredibly large range of topics, and each of his very clever verses are backed up perfectly by individually unique beats by Madlib. Even Madlib and his alter ego, 'Quasimoto' step in to help the Villain on the lyrics (see: America's Most Blunted, Shadows of Tomorrow). It's hard for me to put into words how great this album is, and writing a 'favourite tracks' list would be silly since this album is perfect to me, but I will name the songs that I think show both Madlib's and DOOM's skills at each their own position: Accordion, Meat Grinder, Curls, Figaro, Strange Ways, All Caps, Great Day, Rhinestone Cowboy. Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    I don't even know why I'm bothering to review this, everyone should know by now how great this thing is, Seriously, I've yet to hear another hip-hop album as creative (while also being consistently catchy and crisp) quite like this one Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2012
    8
    The beats are mostly good. Some of them seem out of place. DOOM has good rhymes. The low ratings seem to be from children who are expecting "gangsta rap". This has very few themes regarding violence or sexuality. It's truly poetry, over nice sounds.
    Deduct one point for some weird beats, and another for some out of place silences from DOOM.
    Expand

See all 122 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.