Madvillainy

Madvillainy Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 457 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Madvillainy' is a collaboration between rapper MF Doom and producer Madlib.

Top Track

Rhinestone Cowboy
Hold the cold one like he old the cold gun Like he hold the microphone and stole the show for fun Hold my flow for ransom flows is handsome Hoes is... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. The A.V. Club
    100
    Like both artists' most transcendent work, Madvillainy retains its mystery and wonder after dozens of listens.
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    All invention and no indulgence. [Jun 2004, p.110]
  3. Madvillainy isn't really an inaccessible record. It may take a couple of spins for you to get involved, but once you've passed that initial adaptation, it stays with you.
  4. Madvillainy's strength lies in its mix between seemingly obtuse beats, samples, MCing, and some straight-up hip-hop bumping.
  5. Filter
    88
    Raw, crunchy beats and ugly, monster flows delivered in a punk album format. [#9, p.110]
  6. Blender
    70
    A torrid album that marries old-school rap aesthetics to punk-rock concision. [May 2004, p.127]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 136
  1. WillR
    Jul 28, 2004
    10
    A phenomenal hip-hop trip. Listening to this album is actually more like watching a really good film. The straits and peaks are perfectly A phenomenal hip-hop trip. Listening to this album is actually more like watching a really good film. The straits and peaks are perfectly balanced, and despite being incredibly eclectic and creative, Madvillain never lose their grass-roots hip-hop. It's a rocker. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of theA masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to. Expand
  3. LiamL
    Apr 1, 2005
    10
    Best album ever
  4. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    This is one of very few albums in the rap world where I can jam to the entire album without skipping a song. Doom, being probably my personalThis is one of very few albums in the rap world where I can jam to the entire album without skipping a song. Doom, being probably my personal favorite rapper, does some of his best work on this album. I heard this album being my first Madlib experience, and I was wowed. Most people don't appreciate the rap DOOM spits, but if you follow along to each spoken word, Doom is probably one of the top ten most talented MC's of the world. Listen to this, this is BANGIN! Expand
  5. May 6, 2017
    10
    Legitimately perfect. There are no filler tracks. No tracks that feel redundant. There's not a single piece of half-assed production on thisLegitimately perfect. There are no filler tracks. No tracks that feel redundant. There's not a single piece of half-assed production on this album. MF DOOM's vocal delivery suits Madlib's production perfectly. Highlights on this album include 'Accordion', 'Fancy Clown', 'Meat Grinder', 'Figaro', and 'All Caps'. Listen to this. Now. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    Fantastic album which has stood the testament of almost a decade. MF Doom continues to release unprecedented rhymes over classic MadlibFantastic album which has stood the testament of almost a decade. MF Doom continues to release unprecedented rhymes over classic Madlib instrumentals. A true hip-hop classic. Expand
  7. BubbaHick
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    This album suck how dare you people vote 10 for this piece of SH** album.

See all 136 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.