Madvillainy Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 477 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Madvillainy' is a collaboration between rapper MF Doom and producer Madlib.

Top Track

Rhinestone Cowboy
Hold the cold one like he old the cold gun Like he hold the microphone and stole the show for fun Hold my flow for ransom flows is handsome Hoes is... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. The A.V. Club
    100
    Like both artists' most transcendent work, Madvillainy retains its mystery and wonder after dozens of listens.
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    All invention and no indulgence. [Jun 2004, p.110]
  3. Madvillainy isn't really an inaccessible record. It may take a couple of spins for you to get involved, but once you've passed that initial adaptation, it stays with you.
  4. Madvillainy's strength lies in its mix between seemingly obtuse beats, samples, MCing, and some straight-up hip-hop bumping.
  5. Filter
    88
    Raw, crunchy beats and ugly, monster flows delivered in a punk album format. [#9, p.110]
  6. Blender
    70
    A torrid album that marries old-school rap aesthetics to punk-rock concision. [May 2004, p.127]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 140
  1. jetblack
    Aug 1, 2004
    10
    Best HipHop Album of 2004.......
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of theA masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to. Expand
  3. matta
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Wow, I know that it's bold of me, but this is seriously the best Rap album that I have ever heard. Madvillainy is not just proof that MF Wow, I know that it's bold of me, but this is seriously the best Rap album that I have ever heard. Madvillainy is not just proof that MF Doom and Madlib are two of the most talented figures in rap today, but that they need to collaborate again. Totally original and groundbeaking in every way. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This album took me for a long ride and on the way explained what was wrong with mainstream rap and how the glory days are long gone. theThis album took me for a long ride and on the way explained what was wrong with mainstream rap and how the glory days are long gone. the production from Madlib were topped with a combination of lyrics that were just as strange but incredibly artistic from the undergrounds most treasured lyricst MF DOOM. Losg story short, it just matched perfectly. The unorthodox flow and the mysterious melodies put my brain into pondering mode and concluded that anything unseen by the public could easily be the best thing around. Hip hop whould be briefly revived by this album and still carrys a strong position as the best hip hop album of its decade. Expand
  5. SHarris
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    Best Hip-Hop Album of 2004...Madlib's creative - dirty, innovative, yet soulful - productions is the perfect complement over MF Best Hip-Hop Album of 2004...Madlib's creative - dirty, innovative, yet soulful - productions is the perfect complement over MF Doom's calm, yet stylish voice. Furthermore, the dare to bend the rules, not making your very standard hip-hop song (verse and a course) to produce a story element that keeps the listener at the edge of their seat. Most def an "eargasm." Expand
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    I don't even know why I'm bothering to review this, everyone should know by now how great this thing is, Seriously, I've yet to hear anotherI don't even know why I'm bothering to review this, everyone should know by now how great this thing is, Seriously, I've yet to hear another hip-hop album as creative (while also being consistently catchy and crisp) quite like this one Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2018
    0
    Eric Y you are fool for your review, it contributes nothing you ignorant animal

See all 140 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Hip-Hop Albums of the 21st Century

    The Best Hip-Hop Albums of the 21st Century Image
    Published: October 19, 2017
    These are the 30 highest-scoring hip hop albums released since 2000.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.