Madvillainy

Madvillainy Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 379 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Madvillainy' is a collaboration between rapper MF Doom and producer Madlib.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. The A.V. Club
    100
    Like both artists' most transcendent work, Madvillainy retains its mystery and wonder after dozens of listens.
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    All invention and no indulgence. [Jun 2004, p.110]
  3. Madvillainy isn't really an inaccessible record. It may take a couple of spins for you to get involved, but once you've passed that initial adaptation, it stays with you.
  4. Madvillainy's strength lies in its mix between seemingly obtuse beats, samples, MCing, and some straight-up hip-hop bumping.
  5. Filter
    88
    Raw, crunchy beats and ugly, monster flows delivered in a punk album format. [#9, p.110]
  6. Blender
    70
    A torrid album that marries old-school rap aesthetics to punk-rock concision. [May 2004, p.127]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 130
  1. WillR
    Jul 28, 2004
    10
    A phenomenal hip-hop trip. Listening to this album is actually more like watching a really good film. The straits and peaks are perfectly A phenomenal hip-hop trip. Listening to this album is actually more like watching a really good film. The straits and peaks are perfectly balanced, and despite being incredibly eclectic and creative, Madvillain never lose their grass-roots hip-hop. It's a rocker. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of theA masterpiece. MF DOOM is one of the most talented rappers I have ever heard (and I've heard 100's of albums), and Madlib is one of the greatest and most diverse producers in the world. The combination of the two works extremely well, as the two have a very similar sound. This is a must for any hip hop fan to listen to. Expand
  3. DareA
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    upon ma first listen of this Album...i was thinking the album was a 7 at best. Then I took the commercial MTV/BET clog blocking ma listening upon ma first listen of this Album...i was thinking the album was a 7 at best. Then I took the commercial MTV/BET clog blocking ma listening skills out. after the 3rd listen i was bedazzled! the lyrical content of this album is Amazing! the beats and skits are perfect. The album touches many many things! This is a classic. Definetaly comes after Illmatic in ma all time greatest albums....and if it aint in ur top 3.....I wonder what the f*ck is!!!!!!! Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    I have to respond to JeremyE's review. Look just because you can't understand the lyrics doesn't mean they aren't saying anything or have noI have to respond to JeremyE's review. Look just because you can't understand the lyrics doesn't mean they aren't saying anything or have no meaning. I can't expect you to know what you don't know, but if you pay attention there is a lot of fascinatingly deep lyrics here. Try not to look at the world with such a literal view point. The lyrics on this album are abstract and take time to grasp. There are plenty of fine artists out there that say very literal things in their raps, go find them and leave what you don't understand alone. Expand
  5. Apr 20, 2016
    10
    The scariest rhymer in the 2000's paired up with a trippy, unusual producer. A masterpiece that is to live for many years, which inspired manyThe scariest rhymer in the 2000's paired up with a trippy, unusual producer. A masterpiece that is to live for many years, which inspired many young rappers in the game. Expand
  6. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    9
    A very entertaining, inventive Hip-Hop album with no boundaries. Like nothing you've ever heard.
  7. BubbaHick
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    This album suck how dare you people vote 10 for this piece of SH** album.

See all 130 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.