• Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: May 29, 2012
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    80
    They pull it out of the hat in quite an extraordinary fashion here. [Jul 2012, p.94]
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    Smoky, slow- paced, disco soul with Bee Gees-style falsetto harmonising, it's the type of grown-up pop Scissor Sisters can pull off like few others.
  3. Jun 4, 2012
    80
    Even with such hitmaking producers as Calvin Harris and Diplo on board, Magic Hour is refreshingly out of step with current tastes in pop music.
  4. With a little luck, and the careful choice of singles, there might be life in this party yet.
  5. Uncut
    May 25, 2012
    80
    This is full of melodies that feel effortless and instantly classic. [Jun 2012, p.83]
  6. May 25, 2012
    80
    This is the sound of a band truly enjoying themselves in the studio, confident enough in their abilities to freely collaborate with other big names.
  7. Entertainment Weekly
    May 30, 2012
    75
    They've adjusted accordingly, adding next-gen names like Calvin Harris and Azealia Banks to the guest list to keep things at least semi-fresh. [1/8 Jun 2012, p.117]
  8. 70
    Magic Hour is just another reason why people keep Scissor Sisters perpetually on their musical menu.
  9. May 29, 2012
    70
    While Magic Hour may not be as satisfying to fans who just wanna dance as albums like Night Work and Scissor Sisters were, it should please those who enjoy the band's formidable songwriting skills as much as cutting a rug.
  10. May 22, 2012
    70
    Scissor Sisters have rediscovered a magic touch lacking slightly on Night Work. Their progress is marked by a developed sense of reflection, which balances their familiar flamboyance – surely to resurface with their Fraggle Rock soundtrack – quite wonderfully.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    3
    Not Going To Jump For Joy Over The Very "Plain" Songs Again...
    Just Plain Boring.....
    Just Not Original...
    Sorry Sisters You CAN DO BETTER!
  2. May 29, 2012
    6
    Just finished my first listen of Magic Hour. I am not feeling magical yet that's for sure! I will have to give it a few more spins because IJust finished my first listen of Magic Hour. I am not feeling magical yet that's for sure! I will have to give it a few more spins because I didn't feel much on the first listen. What I did feel is this, Magic Hour seems generic and falls flat with the ballads. Jake Shears isn't known for his vocal ability (or lack there of) so when he's singing ballads on this album it's confusing and it doesn't work effectively. KEY TRACKS: Somewhere, Shady Love, Let's Have A Kiki, Only The Horses and Baby Come Home. DUDS: Inevitable, Self Control and The Secret Life of Letters. And sadly I don't remember the others tracks. I give it a modest 3 out of 5 stars. Just my opinion. I LOVE them though! Night Work was basically the only album I listened to in 2010! Maybe next album them can make HAWT dance beats again. And less ballads. Full Review »
  3. Dec 11, 2016
    5
    The upbeat numbers may be fun, but they'll date quickly. The mid-tempo tracks may be quirky, but they're forgettable. The ballads may be wellThe upbeat numbers may be fun, but they'll date quickly. The mid-tempo tracks may be quirky, but they're forgettable. The ballads may be well produced, but they're dull. Magic Hour sees the Sisters grabbing several genres and mixing them about. It jumps from sound to sound with little grace or warning. Their debut was alternative pop, the follow up was twisted party pop, and 'Night Work' was euphoric electro-pop. Magic Hour is patchy mod-pop.
    It's by no means a bad pop album, in fact, had this been the debut of a new artist, it would have been lauded. It's just not a very good Scissor Sisters album.
    Full Review »