• Record Label: Polydor
  • Release Date: May 29, 2012
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 7 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    3
    Not Going To Jump For Joy Over The Very "Plain" Songs Again...
    Just Plain Boring.....
    Just Not Original...
    Sorry Sisters You CAN DO BETTER!
  2. Jun 17, 2012
    4
    Jake Shears doing his best John Cameron Mitchell. Starts strong before showing a threadbare quality. Its lacking confidence and skill of Night Work which is a shame considering it kicks off with a giddy start.
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    4
    I know that the sisters aren't the most sophisticated indie band around the block, but those mainstream dance tracks are downright cheap club backround music.
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    1
    I think Magic Hour was a slightly new direction for the band but one they shouldn't have tried. It does nothing for what they're capable of, especially the slower tracks that don't sound like Scissor Sisters or suit them at all. Ultimately I believe that's why their popularity has been dying out over the years. They do switch up and try new things, but the quality of their music declinesI think Magic Hour was a slightly new direction for the band but one they shouldn't have tried. It does nothing for what they're capable of, especially the slower tracks that don't sound like Scissor Sisters or suit them at all. Ultimately I believe that's why their popularity has been dying out over the years. They do switch up and try new things, but the quality of their music declines steadily with time. The Scissor Sisters people fell in love with seem to be gone and replaced by mind-washed robots who are making music as if they're forced to, not for the love of it. I think it's great they've taken a hiatus, and I really hope it helps them gather themselves and find their passion for music again. I think they have it in them to create really great music, but they just have to give it time and believe in what they're making. Otherwise it will just turn out a mess like Magic Hour. Expand
  5. May 31, 2012
    4
    I never thought i would find myself saying this but Magic Hour, the new album from the Scissor Sisters is just boring. With the exception of a few songs the album is down right boring.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    80
    They pull it out of the hat in quite an extraordinary fashion here. [Jul 2012, p.94]
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    Smoky, slow- paced, disco soul with Bee Gees-style falsetto harmonising, it's the type of grown-up pop Scissor Sisters can pull off like few others.
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    30
    Magic Hour's never exactly bad. It's worse than that. It's boring.