Magic

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Oct 2, 2007
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 112
  2. Negative: 5 out of 112

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. rdo
    Oct 4, 2007
    4
    If you like Tunnel of Love and Human Touch this album is for you...I didn't like either.
  2. SeanC.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Easily his best since Born in the USA.
  3. Dave
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    I am not an enthusiastic Springsteen fan, but I have appreciated his work over the years. This album, however, is a stunner. It's brilliant. So far, it's the one to beat for Album of the Year.
  4. miker.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    Repeated listening increases the depth of the lyrics.
  5. Vassilis
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    His best album since The Rising
  6. FlemmingK.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Time will show, that this will be recognized as one of the great 4. Born To Run, Darkness, River and Magic! Play it through 10-20 times and your reservations will be gone. Mine was! Already a classic!
  7. bramb.
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    A great album! No wonder the red state press is negative; its overtly political, masked by happy tunes.
  8. MartinS
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    With the exception of Spoon's latest, I haven't been this impressed with an album in the past 6 months. It's classic Springsteen. I think he's returned to his roots on this one. This is also his most socially conscious album yet--some would say politically charged. I don't know how this is going over many heads--Last to Die, Magic, Devil's Arcade, Long Walk With the exception of Spoon's latest, I haven't been this impressed with an album in the past 6 months. It's classic Springsteen. I think he's returned to his roots on this one. This is also his most socially conscious album yet--some would say politically charged. I don't know how this is going over many heads--Last to Die, Magic, Devil's Arcade, Long Walk Home, and Radio Nowhere, specifically. Expand
  9. DOUGO
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    ONE OF HIS BEST WORKS.
  10. TobyC.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    The more I listen to it the more I love it. I forgot how much I missed Bruce and his pop style. This isn't pop music in "easy" form however. These songs go deep and resonate for a long time.
  11. VerminDeathstack
    Oct 8, 2007
    8
    This is so much better than The Rising. Seeing as his albums often differ greatly from each other, it's hard to say where Magic sits on the overall scale of things. It doesn't have the naivety of Born in the USA, or the 'street' of Born to Run. But given time, I'm sure it'll be held up alongside those two.
  12. MartyS
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    Where's Mojo's 5 star review???? That will surely offset that bullsh*t review by the chic from Stylus who raved about Mandy Moore. This is a great album. If you don't like it, you must want the terrorists to win.
  13. AndersonS.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    I haven't heard THIS Bruce in a long time. It's great.
  14. BethR.
    Oct 11, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite Bruce albums.
  15. ChadS.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    "Girls in Their Summer Clothes" is Bruce Springsteen's best song since 1993's "Streets of Philadelphia". Morrissey could've written it, or Tom Pernice. This is a great love song, epic in scope like "Born to Run". I think of California when I hear this song. The other major track is, of course, "Radio Nowhere". Bad Religion, anyone? Springsteen sounds like he's in his "Girls in Their Summer Clothes" is Bruce Springsteen's best song since 1993's "Streets of Philadelphia". Morrissey could've written it, or Tom Pernice. This is a great love song, epic in scope like "Born to Run". I think of California when I hear this song. The other major track is, of course, "Radio Nowhere". Bad Religion, anyone? Springsteen sounds like he's in his twenties again, but it's definitely 2007 and not 1975. Expand
  16. ShannaV
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    I love this album!!!!!!! M.I.A., Radiohead, Ryan Adams, Spoon, the White Stripes, and Bruce.....this has been a great few months for music.
  17. ZackA.
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    While I have heard a lot about Springsteen's politicism on this record, I for one know it's nothing new. He's always been a social commentator. The difference here is that it is clear he is responding to a particular administration, while in the past it was more of a focus on the personal lives of his characters. The assault on the American way, however, of the latest While I have heard a lot about Springsteen's politicism on this record, I for one know it's nothing new. He's always been a social commentator. The difference here is that it is clear he is responding to a particular administration, while in the past it was more of a focus on the personal lives of his characters. The assault on the American way, however, of the latest administration clearly requires a more direct response. I like this record more than I did The Rising; it is shorter and more compact. Give it a few listens and you will begin to understand the acclaim. Expand
  18. dec
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Best work in a generation
  19. TomS.
    Oct 16, 2007
    6
    Lyrically as good as ever, but musically it has a recycled, forced feeling. I didn't care for The Rising overall, but it did bring the substance, some of the songs definitely got under the skin. These are all surface, with the possible exception of the last track, which was added to the album at the last minute as a tribute to a deceased friend. If you want a great latter-day Boss Lyrically as good as ever, but musically it has a recycled, forced feeling. I didn't care for The Rising overall, but it did bring the substance, some of the songs definitely got under the skin. These are all surface, with the possible exception of the last track, which was added to the album at the last minute as a tribute to a deceased friend. If you want a great latter-day Boss album check out Devils & Dust. Expand
  20. JoeG.
    Oct 10, 2007
    7
    Weak compared to The Seeger Sessions. Troubled by the same production problems as The Rising was. Things sound a bit too shiny and polished. A bit of raw energy, Bruce's voice being allowed to be raspy, the E Street Band not being forced to the sidelines, it'd make this record something wonderful. As it is, it's pretty good. But Bruce still has amazing potential. Not the Weak compared to The Seeger Sessions. Troubled by the same production problems as The Rising was. Things sound a bit too shiny and polished. A bit of raw energy, Bruce's voice being allowed to be raspy, the E Street Band not being forced to the sidelines, it'd make this record something wonderful. As it is, it's pretty good. But Bruce still has amazing potential. Not the album it could have been. Expand
  21. NathanJr
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Great stuff. Bill O Riley can suck it.
  22. WadeT.
    Oct 10, 2007
    8
    Is Magic Bruce Springsteen's best or even second or third best album? Nope, I'd say most people will still love Springsteen's earlier records much more then Magic. But the questions becomes is this a solid set of Springsteen tunes? The answer is also yes, taken on its own Magic is an impressive array of musical abilities and catchy hooks that will spin on more than a few Is Magic Bruce Springsteen's best or even second or third best album? Nope, I'd say most people will still love Springsteen's earlier records much more then Magic. But the questions becomes is this a solid set of Springsteen tunes? The answer is also yes, taken on its own Magic is an impressive array of musical abilities and catchy hooks that will spin on more than a few stereos. Radio Nowhere is the best rock Springsteen has released in decades and Living In The Future is a great Tenth Avenue rip-off and god bless it for it. I sense this album after the initial hype will settle in as nice end piece to Springsteen's career. But anybody expecting something better than say Born To Run, ask yourself a question: If Springsteen does make a better record then say Born To Run, would you be able to allow yourself to hear it? Expand
  23. BradClark
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    This is a great album! It ranks as one of his best!
  24. JRS
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Um, where's Mojo and Rolling Stone's 5 star review? This is a great album.
  25. DeclanW.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    His best work since TofL.
  26. PhilM
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    Just can't stop singing these tunes....
  27. EricM
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    This is and excellent album. I can see myself listening to this for a long time.
  28. MikeL
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    Magic is the Bruce CD I've been anticipating for the past 27 years.
  29. SusanH
    Oct 3, 2007
    6
    What it really comes down to is whether you like the "Darlington County" "Hungry Heart" Bruce-style. If you don't, there are a lot of songs on this album, you are going to want to skip such as "Livin In the Future", the Beach Boy-ish "Girls in their Summer Clothes", etc. I really think critics have grossly overrated this album, just because it's a rock album by Bruse
  30. MattD.
    Oct 3, 2007
    10
    Any review source that gives this masterpiece less than a 60 will be joining Pitchfork on my do not visit list. Stylus and Austin Chronicle are certainly no losses. This is classic Springsteen - reminds me of Born In The USA, but with some of the moodiness and organic sound of The River. I can't see how any fan could dislike Magic.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
  1. It's the way Springsteen injects his American bible stories with the air of disbelief that makes Magic a truly mature and memorable album.
  2. 80
    It trades in giddying, irresistible, full-steam-ahead-and-damn-the-torpedoes rock'n'roll. But at its heart, it's essentially a thoughtful wander in search of personal and national innocence.
  3. Magic is a strong record, riddled with sad emotion yet a noble intent to carry on.