User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 291 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 291

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    5
    Oh, Jay-Z.... This album wouldn't be so bad if Jay-Z had more to talk about than his success. Unfortunately, though, he doesn't and whenever he tries to make something serious, he'll follow a clever line with another line reminding the listener about his success. We get it, Jay, you're rich. The JT track was over hyped. The Beyonce track should have been titled, 'We Need To Get A Room',Oh, Jay-Z.... This album wouldn't be so bad if Jay-Z had more to talk about than his success. Unfortunately, though, he doesn't and whenever he tries to make something serious, he'll follow a clever line with another line reminding the listener about his success. We get it, Jay, you're rich. The JT track was over hyped. The Beyonce track should have been titled, 'We Need To Get A Room', and the overall feeling of this album felt like it was purposely put out there to scam his listeners. 5.9 average score? Let me put it down with the most overhyped album of the year. That Oceans track was aight, though. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It isn't a bad album, but everyone can expect more than this from Jay-Z. The album has strong parts as the piano in Holy Grail(good job by Justin Timberlake) or the Chorus on BBC, but there are songs out of place like Part 2. Not a good album to buy. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    4
    Seeing as Jay Z is one of the supposed legends in rap, then I expect him to come up with something a little better than this. All it seems he has done here is have a mid-life crisis and come up with a rash, half-hearted attempt to remain a rap superstar, and keep his name on the map.

    Well, in my opinion, I think that Jay should concentrate more now on being a father rather than being a
    Seeing as Jay Z is one of the supposed legends in rap, then I expect him to come up with something a little better than this. All it seems he has done here is have a mid-life crisis and come up with a rash, half-hearted attempt to remain a rap superstar, and keep his name on the map.

    Well, in my opinion, I think that Jay should concentrate more now on being a father rather than being a rapper, as, unlike Nas' latest release (which was innovative, creative, and above all GOOD), MCHG is full of trap-style, 'modern' club beats, with Jay spitting bars that do nothing but drone on and make him sound like someone who has gained perhaps a little too much fame.

    Some of the tracks are bearable, notable ones being 'Holy Grail' and 'Part 2 (On the Run)'. However, the credit for this should go to the featuring artists (Justin Timberlake and Beyonce) who add a little melody and style to what can only be called a..well..boring album.

    All in all, if Jay Z really does want to stay in the game, then he really needs to go back to his old self and take a leaf out of Nas' book who is still releasing incredible music 19 years after his debut. He needs to make something blueprint-esque, and modernise it, rather than this obvious pull for mainstream success and attention that'll only alienate long term fans that waited painfully for a new release from their favourite rapper, only for him to slap them in the face and practically insult them after years of loyalty.

    I am very disappointed.
    Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    6
    MCHG is classic Jay, though the strong production is constantly weighed down by his inconsistent lyricism and foggy direction. It's a shame, but it's not easy matching arguably his best work, Reasonable Doubt and The Blueprint.
  5. May 3, 2014
    6
    I wouldn't say this is a bad album per se, because there's no denying: the beats are great.

    It's just a huge disappointment. It sounds as if Jay-Z doesn't care anymore. Which might even be true, I mean there truly is no reason for him to care anymore. But still, it doesn't make the album any better. On Jay Electronica's "We Made It" Remix we also heard than Jay-Z still CAN rap... if he
    I wouldn't say this is a bad album per se, because there's no denying: the beats are great.

    It's just a huge disappointment. It sounds as if Jay-Z doesn't care anymore. Which might even be true, I mean there truly is no reason for him to care anymore. But still, it doesn't make the album any better.
    On Jay Electronica's "We Made It" Remix we also heard than Jay-Z still CAN rap... if he wants to.

    The lyrical content of this album is so incredibly forgettable, that I just wish Timbaland would've given the beats to someone who can.

    All-in-all an incredibly disappointing album by one of the all-time greatest that only deserves some praise for the great production.
    Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    Crown, Somewhereinamerica, Tomford, Picasso baby, FWTMYKIGI's beats are so nice
    but other songs were not enough to attract audience.......
    Albums was not classic but it is good albums of 2013.
  7. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    I had high hopes for MCHG, especially after a load of my favorite producers popped up on the commercials (and because this was going to be the next step in Timbaland's comeback). However the weak link, unfortunately, was Jay Z. For every clever line, he has a clunky and inane one to follow it. His attempt to juxtapose his life on the streets with his current situation comes with an awkwardI had high hopes for MCHG, especially after a load of my favorite producers popped up on the commercials (and because this was going to be the next step in Timbaland's comeback). However the weak link, unfortunately, was Jay Z. For every clever line, he has a clunky and inane one to follow it. His attempt to juxtapose his life on the streets with his current situation comes with an awkward reference to Tumblr. On Picasso Baby, he composes a laundry list of all the artists he knows, but ends by claiming he is the "modern day Pablo.... Picasso Baby" in case listeners weren't sure what the song title meant. Moments like this insult the listeners' intelligence and his awkward appropriation of other songs, like REM's Losing My Religion and Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit don't fit at all in the songs they appear on. Furthermore, he is thoroughly outclassed by his featured peers. Even Justin Timberlake doing his best Bruno Mars impression on album opener Holy Grail is more interesting than Jay's verses. Rick Ross seems to be the leading artist on as Jay doesn't appear until more than halfway through the song. Even then, Ross sounds confident with his lines, whereas Jay Z's stuttering, awkward flow give him the appearance of being timid and unsure. On the highly anticipated BBC, Jay's verse is lost in the mix of a multitude of featuring artists. Other times, Jay just sounds bland. Throughout the album, he tries to do his best Kanye impression, juxtaposing luxury with historical references, African American rights, and adversity to fame. However these sound like imitations and his analogies fall flat. On Oceans, he references slavery against the backdrop of a yacht party, but the execution is less powerful than WTT's No Church in the Wild or Kanye's Diamonds from Sierre Leone. In the end, MCHG is stuck in the middle, more experimental, but less meaningful and powerful than past efforts. At its most emotional, on Jay Z Blue, the verses sound like a midlife crisis, rather than a pouring out of emotions. In the end, the good, if not somewhat unremarkable production save the album. But this is not the gathering of talent that we were led to believe it would be from the advertisements. Rather, just like the Samsung affair itself, this album is a business transaction, not a labor of love. Expand
  8. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    I am a huge Jay-Z fan and have found him as one of the few hip hop artists not to fall off. However I did not care for Blueprint 3 nor did I care for Kingdom Come, though he did have some good tracks on both. Same thing with Magna Carta Holy Grail. There are some great tracks (i.e.Holy Grail & Crown) and some awful tracks (i.e. F*ckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt & Part II On the Run). So withI am a huge Jay-Z fan and have found him as one of the few hip hop artists not to fall off. However I did not care for Blueprint 3 nor did I care for Kingdom Come, though he did have some good tracks on both. Same thing with Magna Carta Holy Grail. There are some great tracks (i.e.Holy Grail & Crown) and some awful tracks (i.e. F*ckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt & Part II On the Run). So with most recent Jay-Z albums, you may be better off downloading half individually than downloading the entire album from iTunes. Hope this helps. Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2013
    5
    A typical modern day Jay-Z album. Nothing changes. Obviously there's nothing wrong with Hov, but he hasn't switched things up since The Black Album. It's as simple as that. Like The Blueprint 3, it's a decent album at best. Production by Mike Dean and songs like "Somewhereinamerica" and "BBC" gave it an edge. But mistakes like putting Frank Ocean's vocals over a Pharrell beat is just anA typical modern day Jay-Z album. Nothing changes. Obviously there's nothing wrong with Hov, but he hasn't switched things up since The Black Album. It's as simple as that. Like The Blueprint 3, it's a decent album at best. Production by Mike Dean and songs like "Somewhereinamerica" and "BBC" gave it an edge. But mistakes like putting Frank Ocean's vocals over a Pharrell beat is just an enormous misuse of the greatest singer of our time. Major disappointment. Expand
  10. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    I expected much more from Jay-Z with the beats that he has he could have said some really deep and profound things as well as used his spit-fire flow especially on the tracks produced by Timberland. I have he should have taken more time to work on his flow with the beats as opposed to so much stopping a pauses in his rhymes. As far as lyrics I was too happy about that either, he has greatI expected much more from Jay-Z with the beats that he has he could have said some really deep and profound things as well as used his spit-fire flow especially on the tracks produced by Timberland. I have he should have taken more time to work on his flow with the beats as opposed to so much stopping a pauses in his rhymes. As far as lyrics I was too happy about that either, he has great ideas but he doesn't lay them out well it is just kind of jumbled up in this mix of street vs success music. I will say that the last 3 tracks on the album really saved this from being a complete 0. I was hoping for more within his lyrics especially after what J Cole brought to the table with Born Sinner and from I saw in his commericals. I would listen to it first from a friend before I bought it. Expand
  11. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    Overall, a colossal disappointment. I enjoyed Jay's last album, Empire State of Mind, and his duo with Kanye West "Watch The Throne. It had been about 4 years since Jay Z's last solo album, so naturally I was very hyped for this. Also, there were all those galaxy promotions and videos that gave inside looks on the album, and it sounded very soulful and personal. But then, (after aOverall, a colossal disappointment. I enjoyed Jay's last album, Empire State of Mind, and his duo with Kanye West "Watch The Throne. It had been about 4 years since Jay Z's last solo album, so naturally I was very hyped for this. Also, there were all those galaxy promotions and videos that gave inside looks on the album, and it sounded very soulful and personal. But then, (after a ridiculous, unprofessional delay) I head MCHG. I listened to all of it while working out today and didn't really like too much of it. There were a few tracks that were fairly decent, but overall, this was a true disappointment. If you're into buying music, by the tracks Holy Grail, Tom Ford, Jay Z Blue, Picasso Bay, and if you have some to spare, Oceans. Maybe this album is good, and maybe the outstanding Yeezus(quotation forthcoming) is just making me really harsh on this. But it's just not up to Hov's standards, and there is not one track on here that I will put on a playlist or into heavy rotation. If you're looking for good rap albums that dropped this year, I recommend Yeezus by Kanye, and Born Sinner by J. Cole. I'm hoping that when this album goes wide on tuesday that the averages stay green, because there was a clear amount of effort put into this record, but it's just not for me. In terms of Jay Z, wait for the reported Watch The Throne II. Expand
  12. Jul 10, 2013
    5
    For anybody else this might be a great album, but let's face it, the bar is raised for Jay-Z, a man who has put out some of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. Unfortunately Magna Carta doesn't live up to the highs of Jay-Z's career. Magna Carta is frankly too long. Jay has little new or interesting to say. There's only so many times I need to hear him rap about being married toFor anybody else this might be a great album, but let's face it, the bar is raised for Jay-Z, a man who has put out some of the greatest hip hop albums of all time. Unfortunately Magna Carta doesn't live up to the highs of Jay-Z's career. Magna Carta is frankly too long. Jay has little new or interesting to say. There's only so many times I need to hear him rap about being married to Beyonce or his new side gig representing Robinson Cano. Halfway through the album it just becomes a boring slog. Maybe we'll get lucky and Dangermouse can mix it with Sgt. Peppers or something. Otherwise this is a bore and not worth paying for. Expand
  13. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    Disappointing overall, though still good and very much all over the place. Songs such as "Picasso Bay" (until the beat change), "Tom Ford", "BBC", and "La Familia", were horrible. There were songs with great hooks (which were also my favorite songs) such as "Oceans" and "Heaven", and then songs with horrible hooks such as "FUTW", though the song was still good. The beats were greatDisappointing overall, though still good and very much all over the place. Songs such as "Picasso Bay" (until the beat change), "Tom Ford", "BBC", and "La Familia", were horrible. There were songs with great hooks (which were also my favorite songs) such as "Oceans" and "Heaven", and then songs with horrible hooks such as "FUTW", though the song was still good. The beats were great throughout, especially on songs such as "F***WithMeYouKnowIGotIt" and "Crown", though the former is not that great as a song and the latter is on of the best. In addition, Jay got upstaged big time by Justin Timberlake on "Holy Grail" and Beyonce on "Part II (On the Run)". It's a good album, but likely one without lasting power. Collapse
  14. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    I think its better than Kanye's new one. Not all the tracks work, but I love BBC. Hearing Jay and Nas was easily the biggest highlight of the album for me. Production is good but it just seemed like the album was too hit and miss. Makes sense Timberlake is on it since Jay is touring with him this summer (!?!).

    Pros some hot tracks, some quest features work (Frank Ocean, Nas) Cons
    I think its better than Kanye's new one. Not all the tracks work, but I love BBC. Hearing Jay and Nas was easily the biggest highlight of the album for me. Production is good but it just seemed like the album was too hit and miss. Makes sense Timberlake is on it since Jay is touring with him this summer (!?!).

    Pros some hot tracks, some quest features work (Frank Ocean, Nas)
    Cons album feels like there is a bit too much filler. Sounds at times like Jay is going through the motions (doesn't he have some sports agent stuff to do?!?). Some features don't work (Rick Ross)
    Expand
  15. Jul 6, 2013
    5
    I liked the songs until the 'rapping' part started. Lyrics are much worse than Yeezus', for instance. The instrumentals (beats?) are nice, but easily forgettable. Yet this is my favourite Jay-Z album. I really didn't enjoy the previous ones.

    Magna Carta Holy Grail is worth a listen, but I wouldn't listen to it again.
  16. N10
    Jul 13, 2013
    6
    I'm a Jay fan but this.. was just not what I expected from all the trailers. It seemed all epic and filled with stuff to love. Lyrically and flow wise it's really weak at times coming from Jay, feels often too lazy.

    To be honest, Hov's title as the greatest as many claims seems to have split, he's lost it. Lyrically Jay shine's on "Picasso Baby" and "Oceans" which both are probably my
    I'm a Jay fan but this.. was just not what I expected from all the trailers. It seemed all epic and filled with stuff to love. Lyrically and flow wise it's really weak at times coming from Jay, feels often too lazy.

    To be honest, Hov's title as the greatest as many claims seems to have split, he's lost it. Lyrically Jay shine's on "Picasso Baby" and "Oceans" which both are probably my favorites from the project.
    The beats are an A+, the production team did an outstanding job to this, and could actually see Timbaland or Pharell take home a grammy for this years work.
    I really enjoyed tracks like the opening one "Holy Grail", "FUTW", "Crown", "Part II" and the massive track filled with featues "BBC". Some of these I found great, but a shame that the tracks I really loved like "Versus" and "Beach Is Better" only run around 30-60 seconds. Got to say, "Somewhereinamerica" was a funny ass song.

    Overall, I was dissapointend on MCHG. Tough it had great tracks, the delievery from Jay-Z just did'nt seem matching up to his earlier works or even much released in the recent time of Hip Hop.
    Light three out of five, thank the men behind the music Hov rapped over!
    Expand
  17. Jul 25, 2013
    4
    In Magna Carta Holy Grail, Jay-Z demonstrates his lack of inspiration now after more than 15 years of career. The production of this album (Timbaland) is trivial and confusing. PLEASE save Jay-Z from himself.
  18. Jul 23, 2013
    5
    "I left feeling like Jay-Z almost threw together an album just because. Some songs on it had absolutely no reason to be on it, let alone exist. Some had potential but were supported with little dedication and much creativity. There were bright spots. I hope Jay-Z takes the time to actually generate an album worth buying here soon instead of developing what is really just a lazy attempt"I left feeling like Jay-Z almost threw together an album just because. Some songs on it had absolutely no reason to be on it, let alone exist. Some had potential but were supported with little dedication and much creativity. There were bright spots. I hope Jay-Z takes the time to actually generate an album worth buying here soon instead of developing what is really just a lazy attempt at bringing his name back into the spotlight."

    "Jay-Z is back with more of the same, minus some production changes for the most part. That’s the thing though, for an album with this name and cover, I wanted (or at least expected) something more conceptual based on it’s source material. What I got here was some interesting concept ideas, thrown on-top of basic trap style rapping and some weak features and hooks. Jay-Z had the chance to bring some needed change to the table, and make a rap album worth remembering, but as a whole, this is a let down with a few memorable tracks.
    Expand
  19. Sep 20, 2013
    4
    This ablum sucks to me. I dont know it doesnt seem like Jay-Z. Some of songs on this album sound like he wants to sound like these young rappers out here that all use the same flow. Made the mistake of buying this album twice CD and Playstore. Wish i can get a refund. Only Four songs on the album are worth the time to listen to.
  20. Jul 7, 2013
    5
    Proving yet again that sometimes it's best to let sleeping dogs lie, Grey-Hova steps back in the rap ring with another lackluster, expensive effort that veers wildly from his classic nimble raps to inanity, backed by sometimes thrilling, sometimes plodding beats from an army of talented of producers. His batting average between 2003's "Black Album", 2007's "American Gangster" and nowProving yet again that sometimes it's best to let sleeping dogs lie, Grey-Hova steps back in the rap ring with another lackluster, expensive effort that veers wildly from his classic nimble raps to inanity, backed by sometimes thrilling, sometimes plodding beats from an army of talented of producers. His batting average between 2003's "Black Album", 2007's "American Gangster" and now "MCHG" finally take him to his own savage "one hot album every ten year average" diss from "Takeover". Expand
  21. Jul 11, 2013
    4
    Disappointing. A set back in some of the growth he has shown lyrically. You're happily married, have a beautiful baby daughter, and are in your mid-40s. Why are you still so concerned with material boasts?
  22. Sep 6, 2013
    5
    Jay-Z's new album lacks what his other albums clearly exhibited; a hunger to be great. With his fame and persona already known world-wide, a wife and kid, and more money than god, it felt like this album was produced and released only to get his name once again in the mainstream.
  23. Jan 10, 2014
    6
    Besides the first two tracks, this album is wack...
    Besides the first two tracks, this album is wack...
    Besides the first two tracks, this album is wack...
  24. Dec 27, 2013
    6
    Upon first listen of MCHG, I was thoroughly refreshed by the refined, acclimated, modern sound of it. The more and more I listened though, the more and more disappointed I became with his dull, uninspired lyrics. Hov's lyrical dexterity was one of the characteristics that made him a legend to begin with and this album is completely bereft of any lyrical substance at all, except on a fewUpon first listen of MCHG, I was thoroughly refreshed by the refined, acclimated, modern sound of it. The more and more I listened though, the more and more disappointed I became with his dull, uninspired lyrics. Hov's lyrical dexterity was one of the characteristics that made him a legend to begin with and this album is completely bereft of any lyrical substance at all, except on a few stand out tracks; "Heaven", "Oceans", "Jay-Z Blue", and "Nickles and Dimes". Not that I can't admire the man Sean Carter has built himself to be, but he says a whole lot of nothing and does a whole lot of bragging. Which is something Jay-Z is definitely above, but unfortunately he conforms to the norms of mainstream rap nowadays. The production is mostly extravagant and very energetic but again, what Hov is saying doesn't necessarily do his wise production choices any justice. It's an enjoyable album for the lazy listener, but for a Jay-Z fan, it's a disappointing piece of work and it unfortunately raises the question of when will he finally put down the pen and pad. Expand
  25. Aug 22, 2013
    6
    Magna Carta Holy Grail is the latest album from one of my favorite hip-hop artists of all-time Jay-Z. This album has some great, some good, some mediocre, and some bad.

    The features on this album are all really good for the most part. Justin Timberlake's singing on the title track is beautiful and he has lots of metaphors. Speaking of metaphors, Frank Ocean brings a lot of them on
    Magna Carta Holy Grail is the latest album from one of my favorite hip-hop artists of all-time Jay-Z. This album has some great, some good, some mediocre, and some bad.

    The features on this album are all really good for the most part. Justin Timberlake's singing on the title track is beautiful and he has lots of metaphors. Speaking of metaphors, Frank Ocean brings a lot of them on "Oceans". It's one of the best features on the album. Nas had a very solid feature on "BBC". Two features in particular didn't really work with this album though. Rick Ross has a feature on here and it's decent, but seems out of place. Beyonce has a good feature on "Part II", but I feel like that entire song should have been on her album, not Jay-Z's.

    The beats on this album are pretty good as well. The title track has a very hard hitting beat that comes on once Jay starts to rap, and it works very well. Picasso Baby has an almost futuristic beat, and is fantastic. Tom Ford and F*ckwithmeyouknowigotit are kind of generic trap beats, but the get the job done. I also really liked the beat on Somewhereinamerica. The beat on F.U.T.W. sounds like "O.G.', the sound from Wiz and Snoop. The beat is not very good. The Versus beat, Part II beat, Jay-Z Blue, and La Familia are the other beats that I don't care for.

    Magna Carta is a decent album. The first five tracks I really enjoyed, but then I didn't care for F.U.T.W., Part II, La Familia, Jay-Z Blue, and Nickles and Dimes. I know that a lot of people really enjoyed Nickles and Dimes, but the beat was too simple, and the song really shows its length.
    Expand
  26. Oct 7, 2013
    5
    To me, this album is a huge disappointment. Firstly, Jay Z's flow is simply non-existant. It seems like he's trying to rap as an aspiring young artist like Big Sean or even Tyga. On top of that, his lyrics are not on the level they need to be. This is Jay Z! Not 2 chainz or Trinidad James! His lyrics are juvenile and it seems like he was extremely lazy in writing his verses. The only thingTo me, this album is a huge disappointment. Firstly, Jay Z's flow is simply non-existant. It seems like he's trying to rap as an aspiring young artist like Big Sean or even Tyga. On top of that, his lyrics are not on the level they need to be. This is Jay Z! Not 2 chainz or Trinidad James! His lyrics are juvenile and it seems like he was extremely lazy in writing his verses. The only thing going for MCHG is the production. There are some explosive beats like crown and F***withmeyouknowIgotit. But F***withmeyouknowigotit is a prime example of a situation where the production is far superior to the lyrics and the delivery. As a Jay Z fan I am ashamed and saddened that this album had huge potential and the opportunity was lost. Expand
  27. Oct 23, 2013
    6
    The problem with this album is failed expectations. When Yeezus first came out I was spell bounded by how different it was from his work on Watch The Throne with Jay Z. Then as the Yeezus reviews were piling high with praise Jay comes out with overly hyped Samsung commercials that hinted at "new" rules, reflective tracks about family, Rick Rubin, Pharrell, Timbaland and descriptions ofThe problem with this album is failed expectations. When Yeezus first came out I was spell bounded by how different it was from his work on Watch The Throne with Jay Z. Then as the Yeezus reviews were piling high with praise Jay comes out with overly hyped Samsung commercials that hinted at "new" rules, reflective tracks about family, Rick Rubin, Pharrell, Timbaland and descriptions of hip hop and internet as the "Wild West". At some point he says "Hip Hop is about emotion". The thing is that this is what the album lacks. Tracks like "Tom Ford" and "Picasso Baby" both reiterate his wealth and opulence but have really, really great instrumentation and beats. But look Jay Z, we get it you're filthy rich, you've said it millions of times. "F*ckwithmeyouknowigotit" has terrible flow, "F.U.T.W" *sigh* (geez the hook on this), and "La Familia" is, sorry, not really intresting lyrically and musically. Another point that I did not enjoy was the hype over "Jay Z Blue". I'm sorry but a song that was hyped to be a reflective piece about fatherhood, didn't come off towards me as memorable or emotional, fabricated would be a better word for it. The "Mommie Dearest" references were a bit overused and creepy the song overall didn't really mean much, even the Notorious B.I.G samples came off as a nuisance, and the attempt to bring in acoustic guitars to make himself appear vulnerable comes off as an artificial plea for "emotion". At this point, track 14, the running time of the album begins to take its toll as more meaningless raps and catchy beats begin to feel tired, dull and uninteresting. It is evident by this point that Jay Z hasn't grown much musically from Watch The Throne.

    In all brutal honesty, I just was not feeling this LP. The production is a really strong, great instrumentation and great cameos from Frank Ocean, Justin Timberlake and Beyonce. However, Jay Z plays the lyrics safe and narrow minded about wealth and his pretentiousness of him being "the sh*t." The only reason this album went platinum the day it was released was because Jay Z sold 1 million copies to Samsung. No comment. Remember in the beginning when I said, there hasn't been a memorable Jay Z album with widespread acclaim like his previous works? Don't expect it to come any sooner or now.

    Follow @PRTYNTGRVS for more music reviews
    Expand
  28. Nov 3, 2013
    4
    I'm a fan of jay z. I loved watch the throne which he did with fellow friend Kanye west. I was anticipating Magna Carta because of this. The first single holy grail I was impressed me. I loved Justin's performance. And I Also loved the beats. But the problem with the album is that I feel jay z's writing and the beats of this album come across tired and lazy. A lot of Timbaland and mikeI'm a fan of jay z. I loved watch the throne which he did with fellow friend Kanye west. I was anticipating Magna Carta because of this. The first single holy grail I was impressed me. I loved Justin's performance. And I Also loved the beats. But the problem with the album is that I feel jay z's writing and the beats of this album come across tired and lazy. A lot of Timbaland and mike will made it overflow this album as well. The three stand outs are holy grail, beach is better which is a creative song only at 55 seconds, and Picasso Baby. The three worst songs are fu** with me you know I got it a terrible verse with Rick Ross, la familia is lazy and boring, and part 2 on the run beyonces voice is nice but god that song is a snooze fest. Other songs like Tom ford and heaven are only ok. So unfortunately jay Z does not bring us the rap album of the year Expand
  29. Jan 10, 2014
    4
    Before MCHG had hit the shelves, I viewed a trailer which previewed the production of the album and I was blown away by how the album was going to sound. I was definitely hyped. After I had heard the album, I felt like the trailer ruined the album for me. Much like how Kanye West released the best tracks of Cruel Summer. Holy Grail was the intro song which I was looking forward to the mostBefore MCHG had hit the shelves, I viewed a trailer which previewed the production of the album and I was blown away by how the album was going to sound. I was definitely hyped. After I had heard the album, I felt like the trailer ruined the album for me. Much like how Kanye West released the best tracks of Cruel Summer. Holy Grail was the intro song which I was looking forward to the most but I felt like it was Justin Timberlake's song. I was hoping it'd be an aggression filled banger but it was a story-telling journey with a hard beat. The album did redeem itself with bangers like Tom Ford, BBC and Picasso but overall, the album was filled with corporate theme songs about wealth and making business. The album was a sellout.. and I mean it by selling out to what the non-Jay Z fans wanted. Expand
  30. Aug 11, 2014
    6
    Thus far, it certainly isn't the most amazing effort of Jay Z's career, but despite what so many are saying, I don't think its half bad either. I will happily say there are moments that I thoroughly enjoyed.
  31. Jul 13, 2014
    4
    By this time in Jay-Z's career, one can without listening, predict the substance of his new efforts - mindless braggadocio constantly reminding us of his wealth and success. Such has been the case for his last two releases. At least throughout Watch the Throne, Kanye had managed to keep some semblance of sense and intelligence.

    Similar to The Blueprint 3, MCHG has (arguably) been
    By this time in Jay-Z's career, one can without listening, predict the substance of his new efforts - mindless braggadocio constantly reminding us of his wealth and success. Such has been the case for his last two releases. At least throughout Watch the Throne, Kanye had managed to keep some semblance of sense and intelligence.

    Similar to The Blueprint 3, MCHG has (arguably) been "saved" by its production, this time from Timbaland et al. - "Somewhereinamerica", "Nickles and Dimes" and "F*ckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt" stand out especially. By and large, Jay (perhaps unknowingly) defaces well-engineered instrumentals with his dire lyricism. Nonsensical masterpieces abound: "Twerk, Miley Twerk", and my personal favourite: "I'm on the ocean/I'm in heaven. Yacht! Ocean's 11!". Even his guests fail to mend anything; Rick Ross proudly exclaims: "I just landed in Europe n*gga"; whereabouts would that be Rick? Even the venerable Frank Ocean has his blunders.

    Realistically, Jay-Z is no longer in his prime, but he continues (perhaps due to his arrogance) to make incoherent and disjointed records. Ultimately, even the production fails to illuminate a path leading out of the album's confusion. Indeed, Magna Carta has 99 problems, but the beats ain't one. C[+]
    Expand
  32. Mar 26, 2015
    6
    6.2/10................................................................................................................................................
  33. Jul 15, 2014
    5
    B- "I left feeling like Jay-Z almost threw together an album just because. Some songs on it had absolutely no reason to be on it, let alone exist. Some had potential but were supported with little dedication and much creativity. There were bright spots. I hope Jay-Z takes the time to actually generate an album worth buying here soon instead of developing what is really just a lazy attemptB- "I left feeling like Jay-Z almost threw together an album just because. Some songs on it had absolutely no reason to be on it, let alone exist. Some had potential but were supported with little dedication and much creativity. There were bright spots. I hope Jay-Z takes the time to actually generate an album worth buying here soon instead of developing what is really just a lazy attempt at bringing his name back into the spotlight."

    M- "Jay-Z is back with more of the same, minus some production changes for the most part. That’s the thing though, for an album with this name and cover, I wanted (or at least expected) something more conceptual based on it’s source material. What I got here was some interesting concept ideas, thrown on-top of basic trap style rapping and some weak features and hooks. Jay-Z had the chance to bring some needed change to the table, and make a rap album worth remembering, but as a whole, this is a let down with a few memorable tracks.
    Expand
  34. Oct 30, 2014
    6
    The album is strong lyrically, with impressive beats and hooks that compliment this in the majority of the tracks here. However, some pointlessly short songs (Versus, Beach is Better) and a lack of variation in general makes "Magna Carta Holy Grail" fall short of its full potential.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    Despite lackluster showings on the title track, and the anti-climactic first two verses of "Picasso Baby," a track presence that has stood the test of time for almost two decades eventually shines though. The second half of the aforementioned "Picasso Baby" shows off Jay-Z at his peak. [Sep 2013, p.97]
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    40
    Magna Carta... Holy Grail isn't a dreadful record but it's a redundant one. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Give it up to the one where Beyonce pledges gangsta devotion and, best of all, the one where the "billionaire" (he says) looks back at the betrayals of his own departed head of family with something that feels like dread.