User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 289 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 289

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 7, 2013
    5
    Oh, Jay-Z.... This album wouldn't be so bad if Jay-Z had more to talk about than his success. Unfortunately, though, he doesn't and whenever he tries to make something serious, he'll follow a clever line with another line reminding the listener about his success. We get it, Jay, you're rich. The JT track was over hyped. The Beyonce track should have been titled, 'We Need To Get A Room',Oh, Jay-Z.... This album wouldn't be so bad if Jay-Z had more to talk about than his success. Unfortunately, though, he doesn't and whenever he tries to make something serious, he'll follow a clever line with another line reminding the listener about his success. We get it, Jay, you're rich. The JT track was over hyped. The Beyonce track should have been titled, 'We Need To Get A Room', and the overall feeling of this album felt like it was purposely put out there to scam his listeners. 5.9 average score? Let me put it down with the most overhyped album of the year. That Oceans track was aight, though. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It isn't a bad album, but everyone can expect more than this from Jay-Z. The album has strong parts as the piano in Holy Grail(good job by Justin Timberlake) or the Chorus on BBC, but there are songs out of place like Part 2. Not a good album to buy. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    On initial hearing, this album may sound as if it hasn't lived up to the Jay Z (formerly Jay-Z) name. However, the more I listen to this album, the more it grows on me. The first time I listened to 'Tom Ford', I dismissed it. After the 2nd or 3rd time, I started liking it. I had the privilege of going to the first performance of Legends of Summer at the Wireless Festival in London and sawOn initial hearing, this album may sound as if it hasn't lived up to the Jay Z (formerly Jay-Z) name. However, the more I listen to this album, the more it grows on me. The first time I listened to 'Tom Ford', I dismissed it. After the 2nd or 3rd time, I started liking it. I had the privilege of going to the first performance of Legends of Summer at the Wireless Festival in London and saw Jay Z perform some of the songs on this album live. They were performed very well and the audience definitely seemed to be enjoying them, hopefully this album is a slow burner and this album grows on the public. On a side note, some negative reviews of this album are written because they didn't receive the free album through the Magna Carta app on the Samsung devices. It's not the fault of Jay Z that these people didn't understand that only (ha!) 1 million were being given away for free, and that demand was 20 times higher than the supply. Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    7
    This album was somewhat a huge disappointment. When i saw all the promotional videos and stuff on youtube i was expecting something beyond incredible. The album's production is incredible. The beats are something that you could listen to over and over. The lyrics however are beyond weak. Especially for someone as amazing as Jay-Z. This album is by far his worst in my opinion. I listenedThis album was somewhat a huge disappointment. When i saw all the promotional videos and stuff on youtube i was expecting something beyond incredible. The album's production is incredible. The beats are something that you could listen to over and over. The lyrics however are beyond weak. Especially for someone as amazing as Jay-Z. This album is by far his worst in my opinion. I listened to it a couple of times and thats it. It has already become bland. Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    To say the least I'm confused as to why the user score is so low for this album. I'm far from a big Jay-Z fan, in fact I really didn't start getting into his music until The Black Album came out (not saying any of his albums before then aren't good). I think the problem people have with this album is that they expected a Reasonable Doubt or Blueprint type album and were extremelyTo say the least I'm confused as to why the user score is so low for this album. I'm far from a big Jay-Z fan, in fact I really didn't start getting into his music until The Black Album came out (not saying any of his albums before then aren't good). I think the problem people have with this album is that they expected a Reasonable Doubt or Blueprint type album and were extremely disappointed. My one question to people that thought this is why get your expectations so high? BP3 is easily in the bottom half of Jay's long catalog, after a lack luster effort why would you expect him to release an album of the caliber of BP1 or The Black Album? It just doesn't make sense to me.

    The production on this album is top notch. It's hypnotic, it's loud, it's aggressive, it's everything you want to hear from a Jay-Z album. The features are all excellent with the exception of Rick Ross (I'll get to him later). JT does an incredible job on Holy Grail delivering what I think is the best Hook in a hip hop song so far this year. Frank Ocean also delivers one of my favorite hooks of the year on the song Oceans. Nas delivers a solid guest verse on the track BBC and Beyonce does a pretty good job on the song On The Run though the track as a whole sounds a bit dated. Rick Ross was the only guest appearance on this project that failed to deliver while Jay did pick out a good track for Ross to be featured on, it was a very mediocre and forgettable effort from Ross. Ross's whole "I'm the boss" persona didn't live up to it's expectations on in fact every time I listen to it I find myself zoning out till Jay's verse comes on. Which brings me to my next point Jay-Z's writing. Like I said before, people expecting Jay to come out with a BP1 or TBA are going to be disappointed but that doesn't make the writing of this project bad or mediocre. Jay-Z is his braggadocios self on this project with lines like Yellow Basquiat in my kitchen corner, go ahead lean on that Blue, you own it" but also touches on controversial social matters with bars like "Feds still lurkin, they see i'm still puttin work in, cuz some where in America, Miley Cyrus is still twerkin". Jay also goes on a more introspective note with songs like Jay-Z Blue where he talks about the struggle of having to learn to become a father when he never grew up with a father himself. Overall this is a very good effort from the rap veteran, at 43 years of age and heading towards the end of his career, it's very unlikely we will hear another Blueprint or Black Album for Jay but that doesn't mean he still can't make great and enjoyable music.
    Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Magna Carta Holy Grail is very much a fundamentally sound rap album. It doesn't try anything new, isn't experimental, but that doesn't make it underwhelming. Every track is full of energy and confidence, and the production is excellent. Jay keeps his signature style while appealing to the younger audience. Consistency plays to the album's advantage, and overall the project is very much atMagna Carta Holy Grail is very much a fundamentally sound rap album. It doesn't try anything new, isn't experimental, but that doesn't make it underwhelming. Every track is full of energy and confidence, and the production is excellent. Jay keeps his signature style while appealing to the younger audience. Consistency plays to the album's advantage, and overall the project is very much at Jay Z's par, if not higher. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    4
    Seeing as Jay Z is one of the supposed legends in rap, then I expect him to come up with something a little better than this. All it seems he has done here is have a mid-life crisis and come up with a rash, half-hearted attempt to remain a rap superstar, and keep his name on the map.

    Well, in my opinion, I think that Jay should concentrate more now on being a father rather than being a
    Seeing as Jay Z is one of the supposed legends in rap, then I expect him to come up with something a little better than this. All it seems he has done here is have a mid-life crisis and come up with a rash, half-hearted attempt to remain a rap superstar, and keep his name on the map.

    Well, in my opinion, I think that Jay should concentrate more now on being a father rather than being a rapper, as, unlike Nas' latest release (which was innovative, creative, and above all GOOD), MCHG is full of trap-style, 'modern' club beats, with Jay spitting bars that do nothing but drone on and make him sound like someone who has gained perhaps a little too much fame.

    Some of the tracks are bearable, notable ones being 'Holy Grail' and 'Part 2 (On the Run)'. However, the credit for this should go to the featuring artists (Justin Timberlake and Beyonce) who add a little melody and style to what can only be called a..well..boring album.

    All in all, if Jay Z really does want to stay in the game, then he really needs to go back to his old self and take a leaf out of Nas' book who is still releasing incredible music 19 years after his debut. He needs to make something blueprint-esque, and modernise it, rather than this obvious pull for mainstream success and attention that'll only alienate long term fans that waited painfully for a new release from their favourite rapper, only for him to slap them in the face and practically insult them after years of loyalty.

    I am very disappointed.
    Expand
  8. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    Nothing progressive in the hip hop world, but it is full of hits that never seem to get old!! If you like the fusion of rap and r&b, or just love catchy hooks then this album is for you.
  9. Jul 11, 2013
    6
    MCHG is classic Jay, though the strong production is constantly weighed down by his inconsistent lyricism and foggy direction. It's a shame, but it's not easy matching arguably his best work, Reasonable Doubt and The Blueprint.
  10. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    I'm not quite sure why so many people are hating on this album. I think alot of people put so much energy into worshiping idols they get disappointed when an ARTIST makes a piece of art that isn't their favorite or tries to do something different they just get thrown under a bus. I remember when people used to say Jay Z sucked because he wouldn't switch his flow up then he does and theyI'm not quite sure why so many people are hating on this album. I think alot of people put so much energy into worshiping idols they get disappointed when an ARTIST makes a piece of art that isn't their favorite or tries to do something different they just get thrown under a bus. I remember when people used to say Jay Z sucked because he wouldn't switch his flow up then he does and they hate it...You just can't win with people....Hov they really just want to wake up in the morning and see you died on the news then 5....10 years from now....people are going yo miss JayZ Expand
  11. May 3, 2014
    6
    I wouldn't say this is a bad album per se, because there's no denying: the beats are great.

    It's just a huge disappointment. It sounds as if Jay-Z doesn't care anymore. Which might even be true, I mean there truly is no reason for him to care anymore. But still, it doesn't make the album any better. On Jay Electronica's "We Made It" Remix we also heard than Jay-Z still CAN rap... if he
    I wouldn't say this is a bad album per se, because there's no denying: the beats are great.

    It's just a huge disappointment. It sounds as if Jay-Z doesn't care anymore. Which might even be true, I mean there truly is no reason for him to care anymore. But still, it doesn't make the album any better.
    On Jay Electronica's "We Made It" Remix we also heard than Jay-Z still CAN rap... if he wants to.

    The lyrical content of this album is so incredibly forgettable, that I just wish Timbaland would've given the beats to someone who can.

    All-in-all an incredibly disappointing album by one of the all-time greatest that only deserves some praise for the great production.
    Expand
  12. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    Crown, Somewhereinamerica, Tomford, Picasso baby, FWTMYKIGI's beats are so nice
    but other songs were not enough to attract audience.......
    Albums was not classic but it is good albums of 2013.
  13. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    This album is great but its not his best album. The album starts off with an great track. Jay z is an intelligent artist that is also an gifted lyricist. The commercials for this album was great. I like the album but i did expected much more from it, i expected the best jay z album when i watched the commericial from this album.

    The thing that i love about the album is the guest
    This album is great but its not his best album. The album starts off with an great track. Jay z is an intelligent artist that is also an gifted lyricist. The commercials for this album was great. I like the album but i did expected much more from it, i expected the best jay z album when i watched the commericial from this album.

    The thing that i love about the album is the guest apperance is less than your average hip hop album. Most albums have a ton of guess artist on it but this album doesnt which is a step up from his previous album "the blueprint 3"

    If you are a jay z fan or a fan of hip hop you should def buy this album. I am a hip hop fan and a jay z fan so i did enjoy this album but its not outstanding or impress me in anyway.
    Expand
  14. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    I had high hopes for MCHG, especially after a load of my favorite producers popped up on the commercials (and because this was going to be the next step in Timbaland's comeback). However the weak link, unfortunately, was Jay Z. For every clever line, he has a clunky and inane one to follow it. His attempt to juxtapose his life on the streets with his current situation comes with an awkwardI had high hopes for MCHG, especially after a load of my favorite producers popped up on the commercials (and because this was going to be the next step in Timbaland's comeback). However the weak link, unfortunately, was Jay Z. For every clever line, he has a clunky and inane one to follow it. His attempt to juxtapose his life on the streets with his current situation comes with an awkward reference to Tumblr. On Picasso Baby, he composes a laundry list of all the artists he knows, but ends by claiming he is the "modern day Pablo.... Picasso Baby" in case listeners weren't sure what the song title meant. Moments like this insult the listeners' intelligence and his awkward appropriation of other songs, like REM's Losing My Religion and Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit don't fit at all in the songs they appear on. Furthermore, he is thoroughly outclassed by his featured peers. Even Justin Timberlake doing his best Bruno Mars impression on album opener Holy Grail is more interesting than Jay's verses. Rick Ross seems to be the leading artist on as Jay doesn't appear until more than halfway through the song. Even then, Ross sounds confident with his lines, whereas Jay Z's stuttering, awkward flow give him the appearance of being timid and unsure. On the highly anticipated BBC, Jay's verse is lost in the mix of a multitude of featuring artists. Other times, Jay just sounds bland. Throughout the album, he tries to do his best Kanye impression, juxtaposing luxury with historical references, African American rights, and adversity to fame. However these sound like imitations and his analogies fall flat. On Oceans, he references slavery against the backdrop of a yacht party, but the execution is less powerful than WTT's No Church in the Wild or Kanye's Diamonds from Sierre Leone. In the end, MCHG is stuck in the middle, more experimental, but less meaningful and powerful than past efforts. At its most emotional, on Jay Z Blue, the verses sound like a midlife crisis, rather than a pouring out of emotions. In the end, the good, if not somewhat unremarkable production save the album. But this is not the gathering of talent that we were led to believe it would be from the advertisements. Rather, just like the Samsung affair itself, this album is a business transaction, not a labor of love. Expand
  15. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    I am a huge Jay-Z fan and have found him as one of the few hip hop artists not to fall off. However I did not care for Blueprint 3 nor did I care for Kingdom Come, though he did have some good tracks on both. Same thing with Magna Carta Holy Grail. There are some great tracks (i.e.Holy Grail & Crown) and some awful tracks (i.e. F*ckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt & Part II On the Run). So withI am a huge Jay-Z fan and have found him as one of the few hip hop artists not to fall off. However I did not care for Blueprint 3 nor did I care for Kingdom Come, though he did have some good tracks on both. Same thing with Magna Carta Holy Grail. There are some great tracks (i.e.Holy Grail & Crown) and some awful tracks (i.e. F*ckWithMeYouKnowIGotIt & Part II On the Run). So with most recent Jay-Z albums, you may be better off downloading half individually than downloading the entire album from iTunes. Hope this helps. Expand
  16. Jul 5, 2013
    5
    A typical modern day Jay-Z album. Nothing changes. Obviously there's nothing wrong with Hov, but he hasn't switched things up since The Black Album. It's as simple as that. Like The Blueprint 3, it's a decent album at best. Production by Mike Dean and songs like "Somewhereinamerica" and "BBC" gave it an edge. But mistakes like putting Frank Ocean's vocals over a Pharrell beat is just anA typical modern day Jay-Z album. Nothing changes. Obviously there's nothing wrong with Hov, but he hasn't switched things up since The Black Album. It's as simple as that. Like The Blueprint 3, it's a decent album at best. Production by Mike Dean and songs like "Somewhereinamerica" and "BBC" gave it an edge. But mistakes like putting Frank Ocean's vocals over a Pharrell beat is just an enormous misuse of the greatest singer of our time. Major disappointment. Expand
  17. Jul 8, 2013
    0
    Anyone who says that this album is good doesn't know anything about music and is a jackass, I'm so fed up with Jay-Z believing that he's so damn original and cool when his music shows that he lacks talent and common sense, this album is as boring and crappy just as Justin Timberlake 20/20, the album doesn't have any cool song none fo them are listenable. It's waste fo money and moreAnyone who says that this album is good doesn't know anything about music and is a jackass, I'm so fed up with Jay-Z believing that he's so damn original and cool when his music shows that he lacks talent and common sense, this album is as boring and crappy just as Justin Timberlake 20/20, the album doesn't have any cool song none fo them are listenable. It's waste fo money and more important it's a waste fo time listen to it. Expand
  18. Jul 6, 2013
    10
    This is Jay's best album since American Gangster, it has great production and it shows a growth in his lyrical ability. I am not comparing it to classics like Reasonable Doubt and The Blueprint, but the album is simply a great Jay-Z album and it's an album that will be played in the next 5 years.
  19. Jul 11, 2013
    5
    I expected much more from Jay-Z with the beats that he has he could have said some really deep and profound things as well as used his spit-fire flow especially on the tracks produced by Timberland. I have he should have taken more time to work on his flow with the beats as opposed to so much stopping a pauses in his rhymes. As far as lyrics I was too happy about that either, he has greatI expected much more from Jay-Z with the beats that he has he could have said some really deep and profound things as well as used his spit-fire flow especially on the tracks produced by Timberland. I have he should have taken more time to work on his flow with the beats as opposed to so much stopping a pauses in his rhymes. As far as lyrics I was too happy about that either, he has great ideas but he doesn't lay them out well it is just kind of jumbled up in this mix of street vs success music. I will say that the last 3 tracks on the album really saved this from being a complete 0. I was hoping for more within his lyrics especially after what J Cole brought to the table with Born Sinner and from I saw in his commericals. I would listen to it first from a friend before I bought it. Expand
  20. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    Overall, a colossal disappointment. I enjoyed Jay's last album, Empire State of Mind, and his duo with Kanye West "Watch The Throne. It had been about 4 years since Jay Z's last solo album, so naturally I was very hyped for this. Also, there were all those galaxy promotions and videos that gave inside looks on the album, and it sounded very soulful and personal. But then, (after aOverall, a colossal disappointment. I enjoyed Jay's last album, Empire State of Mind, and his duo with Kanye West "Watch The Throne. It had been about 4 years since Jay Z's last solo album, so naturally I was very hyped for this. Also, there were all those galaxy promotions and videos that gave inside looks on the album, and it sounded very soulful and personal. But then, (after a ridiculous, unprofessional delay) I head MCHG. I listened to all of it while working out today and didn't really like too much of it. There were a few tracks that were fairly decent, but overall, this was a true disappointment. If you're into buying music, by the tracks Holy Grail, Tom Ford, Jay Z Blue, Picasso Bay, and if you have some to spare, Oceans. Maybe this album is good, and maybe the outstanding Yeezus(quotation forthcoming) is just making me really harsh on this. But it's just not up to Hov's standards, and there is not one track on here that I will put on a playlist or into heavy rotation. If you're looking for good rap albums that dropped this year, I recommend Yeezus by Kanye, and Born Sinner by J. Cole. I'm hoping that when this album goes wide on tuesday that the averages stay green, because there was a clear amount of effort put into this record, but it's just not for me. In terms of Jay Z, wait for the reported Watch The Throne II. Expand
  21. Jul 17, 2013
    1
    Is it bad that a collaborator is better than the actual artist? Yeah, that's what I though. When the over-powering flair of Justin Timberlake and Frank Ocean dominate Jay-Z's minuscule talent, you know there isn't much to look at. On Jay-Z's most recent effort, he tries to pull out all the stops, making his album comparable to the likes of Kanye West's Yeezus. I'm sorry my friend, youIs it bad that a collaborator is better than the actual artist? Yeah, that's what I though. When the over-powering flair of Justin Timberlake and Frank Ocean dominate Jay-Z's minuscule talent, you know there isn't much to look at. On Jay-Z's most recent effort, he tries to pull out all the stops, making his album comparable to the likes of Kanye West's Yeezus. I'm sorry my friend, you missed the mark by about a mile. To be honest, I couldn't even listen to the album completely. It lacks creativity, originality, and the ability to actually sound good.

    The first track, "Holy Grail (feat. Justin Timberlake)" is a mixed bag. Seriously, who becomes so desperate that they need Courtney Love's permission to use Nirvana lyrics? You can't write anything yourself? I'm sorry, but if you borrow the chorus from "Smells Like Teen Spirit", you've hit rock bottom. Plus, Justin Timberlake runs circles around Jay-Z. At first, I thought the song was a new Timberlake song. The rest of the album drips with self-loathing and spite. It's almost unbearable to continue your listening experience. I could go on and on criticising the crap out of the talentless shell of a man, but I don't want to put you through all that.

    I will leave you with one final comment. Magna Carta... Holy Grail is my least favourite album of 2013 so far. It has nothing good about it. From the shady lyrics to the repetitive, overplayed beats, Jay-Z has become the anti-Yeezus.
    Expand
  22. Jul 5, 2013
    7
    Overall this album is very good. Easy to listen the production was great and so was Jay-Z if you can catch his metaphors and understand the meanings to his songs.
  23. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    It's no Blueprint, Vol 1 or 2 but Jay-Z for the first time since the Black album has combined that street sound while sounding innovating at the same time.

    If someone can convince him to stop singing....permanently and play 'Marcy' than he might recapture that magic. It's not going to get the good ratings since there are no 'pop' hits here as he had the last 4-5 albums. This one is
    It's no Blueprint, Vol 1 or 2 but Jay-Z for the first time since the Black album has combined that street sound while sounding innovating at the same time.

    If someone can convince him to stop singing....permanently and play 'Marcy' than he might recapture that magic.

    It's not going to get the good ratings since there are no 'pop' hits here as he had the last 4-5 albums. This one is for the people he dropped in '05 and hopefully he'll shake the mall-rap punks with this effort.
    Expand
  24. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    This album should be getting more love than it is. Even though I don't think it is a great album, I think it is an important one for Jay-Z's career and hip hop in general. The production and sound takes you back a little bit and even shows some new possibilities. This is honestly the best produced album I've heard in a while, but the lyrics just couldn't take it to that next level. TheThis album should be getting more love than it is. Even though I don't think it is a great album, I think it is an important one for Jay-Z's career and hip hop in general. The production and sound takes you back a little bit and even shows some new possibilities. This is honestly the best produced album I've heard in a while, but the lyrics just couldn't take it to that next level. The lyrics aren't great by any means, but they have FEW great MOMENTS and are good enough to keep this album at that important status in hip hop history. The features work for the most part. This album is a major improvement upon his previous album "Watch The Throne" that he made alongside Kanye. Magna Carta Holy Grail is important for multiple reasons. One for Jay-Z, because I think he maxed out his ability to put out a significantly good album at the perfect time in his career. He's rapped 17 years and put out 15 albums, 12 solo and 3 tandem albums which is just about the maximum that any artist should really do. Not to mention he's 43. And two for hip hop, because this album sonically almost brings hip hop full circle, lyrically seems to attempt to stay in touch with typical mainstream fans taste, which is the only negative about this album, while re-introducing an old-school style/theme and both expand ever so slightly to again introduce new ideas, and is a last contribution/gift to hip hop to point the genre in the right direction... Or at least it should be. Expand
  25. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    Another classic by JAY Z. Jay Z has always been one of my favorite artists because of his ability to soak listeners in by the message of his lyric. The catchy beats are awesome and they help the album to give that vibe that is expected from Jay Z. Was it his best? No, but it is definitely a Jay Z product that is right in sink with his God given ability to catch the eyes and the ears of theAnother classic by JAY Z. Jay Z has always been one of my favorite artists because of his ability to soak listeners in by the message of his lyric. The catchy beats are awesome and they help the album to give that vibe that is expected from Jay Z. Was it his best? No, but it is definitely a Jay Z product that is right in sink with his God given ability to catch the eyes and the ears of the hip hop scene. I don't think that we will ever hear something from Jay Z that will be classified as mediocre. Expand
  26. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    When I first listened to this album I enjoyed it thoroughly, now I have listened to it a lot more and I still really enjoy it. I am shocked by the negative reviews this has gotten and am convinced this album is going over a lot of people's heads. Some of the lyrics on this album are very sick, just check rapgenius and you will see that they deserve more than just a surface listen. He rapsWhen I first listened to this album I enjoyed it thoroughly, now I have listened to it a lot more and I still really enjoy it. I am shocked by the negative reviews this has gotten and am convinced this album is going over a lot of people's heads. Some of the lyrics on this album are very sick, just check rapgenius and you will see that they deserve more than just a surface listen. He raps about new subjects like history, his daughter and religion while not losing his personality. There are braggadocious tracks, more social conscious tracks, emotional tracks and they all blend together well. I think this is album is a lot better than bp3 and almost as good as, or as good as the underrated American Gangster. Expand
  27. Jul 10, 2013
    3
    I think it's time for Jay-z to retire. The lyrics are boring and the only thing worth listening on this album are the beats and I rather hear some other rapper on them. But it's not suprising that Jay-z is so uninteresting lately. It's not possible to release an album almost every year and stay equally interesting and inspiring. I think he should've stopped at american gangster, or evenI think it's time for Jay-z to retire. The lyrics are boring and the only thing worth listening on this album are the beats and I rather hear some other rapper on them. But it's not suprising that Jay-z is so uninteresting lately. It's not possible to release an album almost every year and stay equally interesting and inspiring. I think he should've stopped at american gangster, or even the black album. Expand
  28. Jul 9, 2013
    3
    It's just not very good. I keep seeing mentions of how this was knocked out in 2 weeks. Yeah, you can tell when you listen to it. It's not nearly on par with any of his previous work, sounds half hearted, and frankly the content is just dull and boring.

    Give me more Shad please.
  29. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    THis is not a classic like his first albums and i do not think as lyrically tight as watch the throne. But, I do like the stetch JayZ seemed to make this album sound different than the others-and different from most things out. The production perfectly fits his lyrical style on almost every track. Although S Beatz and Timbo are not my favorite producers (i.e. same sound EVERYTIME) evenTHis is not a classic like his first albums and i do not think as lyrically tight as watch the throne. But, I do like the stetch JayZ seemed to make this album sound different than the others-and different from most things out. The production perfectly fits his lyrical style on almost every track. Although S Beatz and Timbo are not my favorite producers (i.e. same sound EVERYTIME) even their tracks were agreeable. Expand
  30. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    Magna Carta May Be Jay's lyrically dumbed downed work to date but it delivers a personal message in the album. The message that no matter how much you accomplish in life, you should never lose sight of where you came from. Personal songs like "Jay-Z Blue" and "La familia" shows Jay-z drive what keeps his drive and his insecurities about fatherhood. As A Unit "Magna Carta" Is a solid album.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    Despite lackluster showings on the title track, and the anti-climactic first two verses of "Picasso Baby," a track presence that has stood the test of time for almost two decades eventually shines though. The second half of the aforementioned "Picasso Baby" shows off Jay-Z at his peak. [Sep 2013, p.97]
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    40
    Magna Carta... Holy Grail isn't a dreadful record but it's a redundant one. [Sep 2013, p.103]
  3. Give it up to the one where Beyonce pledges gangsta devotion and, best of all, the one where the "billionaire" (he says) looks back at the betrayals of his own departed head of family with something that feels like dread.