Make Believe

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: May 10, 2005
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 281 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 281

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffJ
    Jul 29, 2006
    5
    Rivers just tried too hard to come up with something good, it ends up sounding pretty cheesy at points. It's not totally unlistenable though.
  2. MarcB
    Jun 8, 2005
    6
    When i was 15, their blue album came in my life like a 300 tons rock on my head!It was refreshing, a new kind of pop-punk and the guys were doing great vocals almost reminding the beach boys. For this one the first time was really deceiving(except bev.hills and We are all on drugs). Then i heard it a couple of times(i work in a cd store),And found that there's credit to give to When i was 15, their blue album came in my life like a 300 tons rock on my head!It was refreshing, a new kind of pop-punk and the guys were doing great vocals almost reminding the beach boys. For this one the first time was really deceiving(except bev.hills and We are all on drugs). Then i heard it a couple of times(i work in a cd store),And found that there's credit to give to weezer for trying to try some new things.The last song (so alone in love,i think) is the best example(reminds me of Radiohead "Life in a glass house" )We are all on drugs will surely be the next big hit for them. Expand
  3. BillS
    May 20, 2005
    4
    Rob J, Pinkerton and the blue album were excellent records. It has nothing to do with nostalgia. Make Believe is mostly a boring, generic record. It's not in the same league as the first two weezer releases.
  4. PeterA
    May 30, 2005
    5
    A mediocre album--I was expecting a lot more when I heard Rick Rubin was working on it. There are a few good tunes such as "perfect situation" and "hold me" but overall this is a fairly boring album... and I have all of their albums. I would hope for more on their next effort (if they last that long).
  5. HomieBB
    Jun 26, 2006
    6
    the first half is good but the second half of the record is garbage except for "best friend"
  6. MattG
    May 11, 2005
    4
    The problem with this album isn't that it's awful. It's not. It's really, really not. However, it is so mediocre when compared to Weezer's past records it's heartbreaking. Even Maladroit and the Green Album has shining moments of creativity and good old fashioned rock in songs like "Burndt Jamb" and "Hashpipe". All Make Believe has are unsightful and The problem with this album isn't that it's awful. It's not. It's really, really not. However, it is so mediocre when compared to Weezer's past records it's heartbreaking. Even Maladroit and the Green Album has shining moments of creativity and good old fashioned rock in songs like "Burndt Jamb" and "Hashpipe". All Make Believe has are unsightful and uninspired whines set to standard chords. Such a disappointment from a such a talented band. Expand
  7. DanK
    May 11, 2005
    5
    I expected more from a comeback album. Compared to the likes of Pinkerton and the Blue album which i stil love to listen to now, this album is much like Maladroit in having jsut a few decent tracks. My fave track on the album is "perfect Situation" even though he seems to run out things to say by the time the chorus kicks in. The track "This is such a Pity" pretty much sums up the album I expected more from a comeback album. Compared to the likes of Pinkerton and the Blue album which i stil love to listen to now, this album is much like Maladroit in having jsut a few decent tracks. My fave track on the album is "perfect Situation" even though he seems to run out things to say by the time the chorus kicks in. The track "This is such a Pity" pretty much sums up the album for me in that it is a damn pity! We can only hope their next album if they do one, is an improvement. Don't get me wrong i don't think its tragic, just aint no pinkerton! Expand
  8. PeterV
    May 12, 2005
    6
    Huge disappointment....The worst Weezer album yet. Although the Pitchfork review is too negative.
  9. FlynnN
    May 13, 2005
    4
    People who like this record just don't get it.
  10. MarkCh
    May 13, 2005
    4
    One of the biggest musical disappointments I've had. For me, Cuomo had previously managed to write perfect pop songs wrapped up in guitars that didn't sound like they were polished to a high sheen in the studio. Not always the most deep of lyrics but then that was never the point. I never questioned Cuomo's songwriting ablity as the quality of output had been strong over One of the biggest musical disappointments I've had. For me, Cuomo had previously managed to write perfect pop songs wrapped up in guitars that didn't sound like they were polished to a high sheen in the studio. Not always the most deep of lyrics but then that was never the point. I never questioned Cuomo's songwriting ablity as the quality of output had been strong over the last 4 albums (and check out those brilliant b-sides and rarities like Jamie) but then this...I've read in a few other reviews that the songwriting sounds lazy and I couldn't agree more. It seems that he has resorted to creating a Weezer template to avoid writers block or something. There are some truly awful moments on here - This Is Such A Pity being once of the worst offenders. Twee Cars rip-off was the first thought in my mind upon first listening and then the vocals begin to grate half way through the first "chorus" (i use that term loosely here). Surely an aberrition? Unfortunately not. The album does not improve - not even with repeated listening. Weezer always managed to write classic pop songs with just the right amount of unpredictability to throw off any expectations (just the right deviation at the right time in a chord sequence). I reckon Rivers could knock this stuff out in his sleep...and from the sounds of it he probably did. A real shame. Expand
  11. SteveG
    May 17, 2005
    4
    Disappointing, considering the buildup. Mostly generic, awful grade-school poetry lyrics.
  12. kylea
    May 9, 2005
    5
    Worst Weezer yet, but they're still Weezer - there's definitely some good.
  13. Matt
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    The songs are either catchy in an annoying way or bland. "Hold Me" is the only song I loved.
  14. JesseP
    Jan 30, 2006
    6
    This album is interesting. I've been a Weezer fan ever since I heard the opening notes to Say It Ain't So. At first, I heard Beverly Hills on the radio and completely dismissed the album, I immediately thought it a joke and pale imitation of music much less Weezer. After the first knee-jerk reaction, I gave it an actual listen when my cousin brought it over. I was reluctant, but This album is interesting. I've been a Weezer fan ever since I heard the opening notes to Say It Ain't So. At first, I heard Beverly Hills on the radio and completely dismissed the album, I immediately thought it a joke and pale imitation of music much less Weezer. After the first knee-jerk reaction, I gave it an actual listen when my cousin brought it over. I was reluctant, but curious so I just listened straight through. Now, I'm glad I did. While I feel this is their worst album, it at least has some real catchy tunes and pretty good lyrics. The ones that really stick out to me are Perfect Situation, This is Such a Pity, Hold Me, Peace, and Pardon Me (Freak Me Out is good as well, just a little.... weird). Some songs are just god awful... I'm sorry but We Are All On Drugs, Beverly Hills, and My Best Friend.... I just can't listen to them. Overall, I'd say its worth a listen through, although I don't think I will listen to more than 3 or 4 songs more than a few times. Expand
  15. HoldenC
    Mar 31, 2006
    5
    A couple standout songs, a few more that are pleasant but not especially good. But Weezer is Weezer, and the album as a whole still has a good vibe, although it's not very exciting. 7/10 for Perfect Situation and Peace, -2 for the album lasting too long and boring me.
  16. vg
    Jun 6, 2006
    4
    this is "radio friendly" rock...yeah...and i can remember..but one of the songs....has the same bass line from "Dolphins and Dreams" (i cant remember exact title of song offhand) by This Perfect Day...and i know i heard snatches of Pink Triangle in there....but i am sure it will sell big time...*sigh*...it did sound a bit uninspired...oh well
  17. carlos
    May 17, 2005
    5
    umm not so good, kinda playing.
  18. RobJ
    May 18, 2005
    6
    This new Weaver album is neither as great nor as terrible as people claim. It
  19. HexG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    4
    Only 2 or 3 songs here are worthy of being on a weezer album, the rest are just plain, boring and uninspired and the idea of putting "Butterfly" on this record is baffling. "This Is Such A Pity" and "The Damage In Your Heart" are just awful when you think of the music these guys have created together in the past. For me, this is Weezers poorest album by far.
  20. LucasW.
    Feb 16, 2008
    6
    Good album musical skill, and songs such as hold me as well as haunt you every day are very well crafted, however after listening i feel unsatisfied. It has no ability to evoke feeling.
  21. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    5
    Not a terrible album but not a good one either. Average at best.
  22. Dec 15, 2014
    6
    I've split Weezer into 3 periods. Early Days (Blue and Pinkerton) which was the band at the peak of their creative powers and when the created 2 modern classics. Then we have the early 00's (Green and Maladroit) which were not quite as good but still decent albums and really good fun. Then you have everything that followed - mediocrity - the rare ok tune and then lots of more mediocrity.I've split Weezer into 3 periods. Early Days (Blue and Pinkerton) which was the band at the peak of their creative powers and when the created 2 modern classics. Then we have the early 00's (Green and Maladroit) which were not quite as good but still decent albums and really good fun. Then you have everything that followed - mediocrity - the rare ok tune and then lots of more mediocrity. This is the start of the third Weezer period. The lead single "Beverly Hills" doesn't really sound like a Weezer track, more bland aimless AOR rock than the geeky surf/punk pop the band became renowned for. The good songs on this album can only really be classed as decent rather than great and even at that there are very few of these (We are All on Drugs, The Other Way are the only ones that immediately come to mind). The rest of the songs on this record fall somewhere under poor, average or boring and if I'm honest this album marks the beginning of the end for the band and where I stopped taking any real interest of note in what Weezer were doing. Expand
  23. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    A couple of really good tracks do a valiant effort for trying to make up for other poorly written, fairly bad songs. Don't get me wrong, I love Weezer, and if I let that bias in this review, I give it 10/10, but I find myself listening to their other albums more often than Make Believe.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 25
  2. Negative: 8 out of 25
  1. Weezer's most conventional disc... a cleaner-sounding record heavy on way-earnest power ballads. [13 May 2005, p.85]
  2. A breakthrough for Weezer... Cuomo's songs are his most plaintive and brilliant since Pinkerton. [19 May 2005, p.74]
  3. Sometimes an album is just awful. Make Believe is one of those albums.