Make Believe

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: May 10, 2005
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 293

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2016
    5
    It's not quite the car crash that Raditude would prove to be. It tries to fuse the melancholy demeanour of Pinkerton with a much more radio-friendly punch never heard from the band before, and falls short for the most part, and much of the album isn't particularly memorable though it tries hard to be.
  2. May 5, 2016
    8
    Easily one of the most under-appreciated Weezer albums. While the lyrical work doesn't come close to anything from Pinkerton or Blue, ever song fits so well together in that buttery alt-rock-pop zone.
  3. Apr 1, 2016
    3
    Not much redeemable on this album. "Beverly Hills" and "We Are All on Drugs" are two of the worst singles that Weezer has ever put out. The beats are pretty stagnant and only feature a few chords like on "Perfect Situation" and the lyrics on "Freak Me Out" are laughable. This was the moment Weezer went mainstream, and the result is some pretty terrible tunes.
  4. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  5. Jan 28, 2015
    3
    I think this album could hold the world record for most stupid lines of lyrics in a single album. Literally, every song has a major flaw somewhere, with the singles being the biggest offenders. Also, Weezer had no idea what sound or genre they were going for on this album. Beverly Hills and This Is Such a Pity are only separated by one track, but they sound like they could've come from twoI think this album could hold the world record for most stupid lines of lyrics in a single album. Literally, every song has a major flaw somewhere, with the singles being the biggest offenders. Also, Weezer had no idea what sound or genre they were going for on this album. Beverly Hills and This Is Such a Pity are only separated by one track, but they sound like they could've come from two different artists. What was Cuomo thinking when he wrote lyrics like the ones on Freak Me Out? (Man, you really freak me out/I'm so afraid of you/and when I lose my cool/I don't know what to do.) These could've been written by a mediocre ninth grade English student. It sounds cheap, and it is. Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2014
    6
    I've split Weezer into 3 periods. Early Days (Blue and Pinkerton) which was the band at the peak of their creative powers and when the created 2 modern classics. Then we have the early 00's (Green and Maladroit) which were not quite as good but still decent albums and really good fun. Then you have everything that followed - mediocrity - the rare ok tune and then lots of more mediocrity.I've split Weezer into 3 periods. Early Days (Blue and Pinkerton) which was the band at the peak of their creative powers and when the created 2 modern classics. Then we have the early 00's (Green and Maladroit) which were not quite as good but still decent albums and really good fun. Then you have everything that followed - mediocrity - the rare ok tune and then lots of more mediocrity. This is the start of the third Weezer period. The lead single "Beverly Hills" doesn't really sound like a Weezer track, more bland aimless AOR rock than the geeky surf/punk pop the band became renowned for. The good songs on this album can only really be classed as decent rather than great and even at that there are very few of these (We are All on Drugs, The Other Way are the only ones that immediately come to mind). The rest of the songs on this record fall somewhere under poor, average or boring and if I'm honest this album marks the beginning of the end for the band and where I stopped taking any real interest of note in what Weezer were doing. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2014
    9
    I'll never understand why so many people give this album such a hard time. I'll admit it's a little too mid-tempo at times and could have been better, but it's a pretty solid and "classic" Weezer album imo.
  8. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    I'm not really sure why people prefer Hurley and Raditude over this. I mean, yes, I particularly didn't like the slickness of the production and the sometimes generic lyrics, but it's still good. Not as good as TBA and Pinkerton, though.
  9. Sep 29, 2014
    2
    This lazy, dull, and shameless album had me try and "Make Believe" my way to a better Weezer album. It's so lifeless, the songs drag on forever, it tries to have heart and sincerity but fails on almost every occasion. Beverly Hills is catchy, but depressing at a closer listen and it's also lazy. That's the whole problem with this album, the songs are lazily constructed both in terms ofThis lazy, dull, and shameless album had me try and "Make Believe" my way to a better Weezer album. It's so lifeless, the songs drag on forever, it tries to have heart and sincerity but fails on almost every occasion. Beverly Hills is catchy, but depressing at a closer listen and it's also lazy. That's the whole problem with this album, the songs are lazily constructed both in terms of music and lyrics. Most songs only use 2 chords, and is a complete step-down from Weezer's previous album, Maladroit. There are a few classic Weezer songs, Perfect Situation and Haunt You Every Day, but other than that this album sucks. Expand
  10. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    A couple of really good tracks do a valiant effort for trying to make up for other poorly written, fairly bad songs. Don't get me wrong, I love Weezer, and if I let that bias in this review, I give it 10/10, but I find myself listening to their other albums more often than Make Believe.
  11. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    5
    Not a terrible album but not a good one either. Average at best.
  12. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    A very inconsistent album that still has enough good songs to make it good. The first half is great and favourites are Hold Me and Peace. From there I find the album goes downhill with songs that have mediocre lyrics. I find that out of all Weezer albums I listen to this the least. I rated it the same as Raditude as it does have deeper songs, however it is not as catchy and fun. DespiteA very inconsistent album that still has enough good songs to make it good. The first half is great and favourites are Hold Me and Peace. From there I find the album goes downhill with songs that have mediocre lyrics. I find that out of all Weezer albums I listen to this the least. I rated it the same as Raditude as it does have deeper songs, however it is not as catchy and fun. Despite this I still enjoy it and feel it earns a 7 rating. Expand
  13. JordanF.
    Aug 17, 2008
    8
    Ok. the album itself is pretty bad... but nonetheless, it holds my all-time favorite song: "Haunt You Every Day".
  14. BriJ.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    This album is not Pinkerton or the Blue album. It is better. It shows that they have evolved and every song is very catch. To me, the weakest songs are the 2 that got the air play; Beverly Hills and We are all on drugs. Those 2 were ok, but the rest of the album was awesome. Take it for what it is. It's happy upbeat power pop. There's nothing with that when in this day things This album is not Pinkerton or the Blue album. It is better. It shows that they have evolved and every song is very catch. To me, the weakest songs are the 2 that got the air play; Beverly Hills and We are all on drugs. Those 2 were ok, but the rest of the album was awesome. Take it for what it is. It's happy upbeat power pop. There's nothing with that when in this day things are so depressing. This is one of my most listened to cd's still? My concern would be whether they will be able to top this cd on their next one, if there is a next one. Expand
  15. EC.
    Feb 20, 2008
    1
    The album that ruined Weezer for me. I could care less about their upcoming '08 album. I would call this their sell out album, but they sold their souls to their record label years ago. It's just painfully obvious on this album. When the nostalgia fades (if you every even feel it during any of these songs) you're just left with a bitter realization that one of the most fun The album that ruined Weezer for me. I could care less about their upcoming '08 album. I would call this their sell out album, but they sold their souls to their record label years ago. It's just painfully obvious on this album. When the nostalgia fades (if you every even feel it during any of these songs) you're just left with a bitter realization that one of the most fun bands of the 90s is officially irrelevant. Expand
  16. LucasW.
    Feb 16, 2008
    6
    Good album musical skill, and songs such as hold me as well as haunt you every day are very well crafted, however after listening i feel unsatisfied. It has no ability to evoke feeling.
  17. MikeS.
    Nov 25, 2007
    7
    I can only hope that "tout ensemble" will be back to cuomo's old writing days,not that make believe was particularily bad,its just not up to true weezer standard!
  18. HexG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    4
    Only 2 or 3 songs here are worthy of being on a weezer album, the rest are just plain, boring and uninspired and the idea of putting "Butterfly" on this record is baffling. "This Is Such A Pity" and "The Damage In Your Heart" are just awful when you think of the music these guys have created together in the past. For me, this is Weezers poorest album by far.
  19. JoeB.
    Aug 8, 2007
    8
    Considering that most music reviewers are self-pretentious idiots with not a hint of musical knowledge within them (seriously - I bet that the some of these reviews are by journalists not important enough to cover real news), it's not surprising that an album as catchy and well-made as Make Believe is disregarded and even blatantly insulted. Have a look at some of the unfavourable Considering that most music reviewers are self-pretentious idiots with not a hint of musical knowledge within them (seriously - I bet that the some of these reviews are by journalists not important enough to cover real news), it's not surprising that an album as catchy and well-made as Make Believe is disregarded and even blatantly insulted. Have a look at some of the unfavourable reviews: wtih the exception of one or two, they rant on almost exclusively about the lyrics. What about the catchy guitar and vocal hooks? Well, here's what CokeMachineGlow's Clayton Purdom has to say: "You can Expand
  20. A.J.C.
    Mar 27, 2007
    0
    There is not much to say here, except everything. It's painful, yes, but it needs to be done. For someone like me who's been following Weezer since I was 12 and popped in the Blue album, their tour de force and in my opinion the album that they've painfully tried to recreate ever since Pinkerton (which in reality was one of the best albums of the 90's) was critically There is not much to say here, except everything. It's painful, yes, but it needs to be done. For someone like me who's been following Weezer since I was 12 and popped in the Blue album, their tour de force and in my opinion the album that they've painfully tried to recreate ever since Pinkerton (which in reality was one of the best albums of the 90's) was critically assaulted. I don't ever want to dream of the feeling a musician as devoted as Rivers Cuomo must get when he goes out on a limb and pours his feelings into an album like Pinkerton, only to have it rejected for not being as upbeat and catchy as his previous album. Ever since then, that one Rolling Stone review, Cuomo and crew have been on a downword spiral. Several failed attempts to revisit that pop music bliss that was Blue...but in my opinion they could have tried a million times to get that old juice flowing again only to be thouroughly dissapointed each time. Blue album was fantastic, not only because of its music and lyrics, but because it stood out in an era where heavy guitars and scraping metal along with kitchy pop plastered the top 40. Since then, Blue has influenced so many bands and knock offs that any reattempt at that originality again by Cuomo would be futile. And don't get me wrong when I say this...in no way am I implying Make Believe would have been as big as Blue had their release dates been switched, Make Believe is a horrifying album. There is nothing appealing at all about these contrived and cliche melodies, these do goody high school jock band lyrics, this fake innocence Cuomo evokes when he sings "girl, you really freak me out" when in reality, after his shaky voice croons these words, he goes backstage and pisses all over everything he once created, then lights it on fire. Never in my life would I have expected Cuomo, a man as humble as to turn his cheek to his fellow Harvard classmates who neglected to even notice him while they blasted "Buddy Holly" through a boombox, to sell out like this. Sell out may even be an understatement, Cuomo promotes and seems to adore this album with so much idiocy and obliviousness he may not even think he's sold out. I'm sorry sir, but I would say when you start touring with Taking Back Sunday and the Fray, you've given your heart to the record industry. Expand
  21. BrendanD
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    It's now been nearly two years since what may end up having been the final Weezer release came out, and I have to say, upon its initial release, I drubbed it just like anyone else. I agreed mainly with the Pitchfork assessment, that this was a weak record, especially by the saviors of power-pop, the spiritual inheritors to mid-'70s Cheap Trick, etc., etc. Recently, however, I It's now been nearly two years since what may end up having been the final Weezer release came out, and I have to say, upon its initial release, I drubbed it just like anyone else. I agreed mainly with the Pitchfork assessment, that this was a weak record, especially by the saviors of power-pop, the spiritual inheritors to mid-'70s Cheap Trick, etc., etc. Recently, however, I began noticing something. Being on the cusp of turning 23, having recently graduated college, and being somewhere in between longing to be back amongst teenage peers and wanting to act like a grown-up, I started reflecting on the music I've loved throughout my life. Since I grew up in the '90s, Weezer was amongst those bands I considered my favorite. Then I started thinking, what has Weezer actually DONE for me? Well, go back to the Blue Album -- it's an album about being a freshman or sophomore in high school; by junior year, however, you've gotten MORE melodramatic, thinking your life is just one big fricking soap opera -- and that's where Pinkerton comes in. By the time you're ready to at least pretend to act like a grown-up, around 18 or 19, you're dating, screwing, drinking, doing drugs, things like that, and that's where the Green Album works. And when you're getting ready to finish up your college career and thinking that the real world's coming soon, so you'd better cherish what little time you have left, Maladroit (which, by the way, means "awkward," a perfect explanation of what it feels like to be about 21), goes down perfectly. Then comes "Make Believe." It's easy to dismiss this as the worst of Weezer's records (which it isn't; that distinction, and screw the Weezophiles who worship at the Japanese-fetish temple, goes to Pinkerton); but this actually cuts deeper once you're in that mode of being just-about-ready to grow up and move on with your life. Take "We Are All On Drugs," for example. Dissed by most as Weezer turning from the slightly ambiguous turn on drug use to an anti-drug anthem, people have missed what it's about: it's about not being a kid anymore but still feeling like you want to party as if you are. This is an album about how much growing up sucked in retrospect, but how absolutely frightening it is to think you might not be able to live a carefree life anymore. The fact that Rivers Cuomo is stuck in a perpetual state of arrested development is unimportant; this album holds up really well, despite the shoddy and glitzy production by Rick Rubin. Expand
  22. MattM
    Feb 24, 2007
    9
    Come on, this album is sick. What is the point of comparing it to the past. Take it for what it is: fun and well written. haven't we learned by now that we'll look back at weezer albums later and realize the genius was there all along, we just failed to see it.
  23. Fcuker
    Nov 18, 2006
    8
    Wow! After seeing the Beverly Hills video on MTV i was hooked. Having never heard of Weezer before I immediately went out and purchased the album. Some albums drag on and on when listening to them but the 45 minutes this album generates absolutely flew by, A SUPERB album
  24. MatE
    Sep 27, 2006
    7
    this is an avarage weezer album. but compared to other records, its still a very good album with very good songs (Perfect Situation, Freak Me Out, Haunt You Everyday).
  25. JeffJ
    Jul 29, 2006
    5
    Rivers just tried too hard to come up with something good, it ends up sounding pretty cheesy at points. It's not totally unlistenable though.
  26. HomieBB
    Jun 26, 2006
    6
    the first half is good but the second half of the record is garbage except for "best friend"
  27. DaveK
    Jun 20, 2006
    2
    Soooo far removed from what is their best work ever. Oh how we long for the days of Blue Alubum/Pinkerton. I guess this is just the direction theyre going in, and it seems to be the end of what was a good run. Blame this on whoever, but this CD resembles nothing of old. I can understand you wanting to grow musically, maybe weezer fans are just hardcore on what they love....better luck next time.
  28. vg
    Jun 6, 2006
    4
    this is "radio friendly" rock...yeah...and i can remember..but one of the songs....has the same bass line from "Dolphins and Dreams" (i cant remember exact title of song offhand) by This Perfect Day...and i know i heard snatches of Pink Triangle in there....but i am sure it will sell big time...*sigh*...it did sound a bit uninspired...oh well
  29. matt
    May 28, 2006
    0
    i was weezer superfan #1 all through high school (pre green album) and this album makes me feel like i wasted my time back then, it makes me wish time travel was possible so i could go back to 1998 and uppercut myself.
  30. BlizakeB
    Apr 25, 2006
    3
    Blue Album great, Pinkerton great, but Make Believe? I wish I could make believe that Rivers didnt crank out this sloppy album, I feel ripped of as a Weezer fan. Please Rivers put yourself together and get the original Weezer back(Rivers Cuomo, Brian Bell, Patrick Wilson and Matt Sharp) and make another great album or at least a good one
  31. HoldenC
    Mar 31, 2006
    5
    A couple standout songs, a few more that are pleasant but not especially good. But Weezer is Weezer, and the album as a whole still has a good vibe, although it's not very exciting. 7/10 for Perfect Situation and Peace, -2 for the album lasting too long and boring me.
  32. KevinK.
    Mar 22, 2006
    2
    About 2 or 3 good songs. The rest is arena-ready angst-rock garbage. Either give up or actually try the next time out, Rivers.
  33. JesseP
    Jan 30, 2006
    6
    This album is interesting. I've been a Weezer fan ever since I heard the opening notes to Say It Ain't So. At first, I heard Beverly Hills on the radio and completely dismissed the album, I immediately thought it a joke and pale imitation of music much less Weezer. After the first knee-jerk reaction, I gave it an actual listen when my cousin brought it over. I was reluctant, but This album is interesting. I've been a Weezer fan ever since I heard the opening notes to Say It Ain't So. At first, I heard Beverly Hills on the radio and completely dismissed the album, I immediately thought it a joke and pale imitation of music much less Weezer. After the first knee-jerk reaction, I gave it an actual listen when my cousin brought it over. I was reluctant, but curious so I just listened straight through. Now, I'm glad I did. While I feel this is their worst album, it at least has some real catchy tunes and pretty good lyrics. The ones that really stick out to me are Perfect Situation, This is Such a Pity, Hold Me, Peace, and Pardon Me (Freak Me Out is good as well, just a little.... weird). Some songs are just god awful... I'm sorry but We Are All On Drugs, Beverly Hills, and My Best Friend.... I just can't listen to them. Overall, I'd say its worth a listen through, although I don't think I will listen to more than 3 or 4 songs more than a few times. Expand
  34. jamesc
    Jan 29, 2006
    1
    its a real piece of shit.
  35. JustinM
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    Solid album with a couple weak tracks.
  36. AndrewL
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    Brilliant album. Do not listen to the detracters.
  37. DylanP
    Jan 3, 2006
    1
    We Are All On Drugs is one of the worst songs ever recorded. What the heck happened to =w=
  38. marshallm
    Dec 26, 2005
    8
    it's pretty good, sometimes it felt a little sappy, like on "pardon me" and "my best friend" felt melodramatic and cheesy...but some of the songs really rock! rating: 8.3
  39. BShort
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Love this album! First time i really became a fan of Weezer..love "this is such a pity"
  40. nateb
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Give it a second and third run people. This album deserves repeated listens. Yea, the lyrics have been simplified, it is called Rivers maturing. He knows how to express what he feels now, and what he feels does not need to be woven in an intricate web of lyrics which you have to look up on the internet to decipher their meanings. This album captures all the emotions that either have (or Give it a second and third run people. This album deserves repeated listens. Yea, the lyrics have been simplified, it is called Rivers maturing. He knows how to express what he feels now, and what he feels does not need to be woven in an intricate web of lyrics which you have to look up on the internet to decipher their meanings. This album captures all the emotions that either have (or haven't) been captured in the previous albums. Oh, and then there's that little part about the music. This album finds the band experimenting with a wider variety of sounds, and it works great. I seriously wonder sometimes, if the reason the reviews are so low, is because fans keep setting themselves up for dissapointment. Seriously, there will NEVER, ever be another Pinkerton (you know, the one you all HATED at first?) Rivers is not like that anymore. He is trying to find peace, and happiness. The music reflects that. Enjoy it for what it is, and allow yourself to relate to it. It really is possible to do so, if you quit letting expectations or your disgust for the band's newest wave of success cloud your perception. Expand
  41. Aaron
    Nov 11, 2005
    0
    This album is just plain fu**ing awful!!!
  42. ShaneyT
    Aug 9, 2005
    7
    most critics don't give the album more than a couple listens, and this record needs quite a few before its beauty is revealed. give it a fe more spins and you'll notice that "This is Such a Pity", "The Damage In Your Heart", "The Other Way", "Freak Me Out", and "Haunt You Everyday" are great additions to the Cuomo songbook.
  43. RachelA
    Aug 8, 2005
    1
    It is so difficult for me to separate Rivers' biographical vignettes (since it is no secret this band is ALL ABOUT HIM) from my overall impression of this album. His emotional development may have arrested sometime around 1986 (he was 15). In some instances, this can produce quality art. Specifically, his sordid sexual experiences as a rock star compelled him to pen "Tired of Sex". It is so difficult for me to separate Rivers' biographical vignettes (since it is no secret this band is ALL ABOUT HIM) from my overall impression of this album. His emotional development may have arrested sometime around 1986 (he was 15). In some instances, this can produce quality art. Specifically, his sordid sexual experiences as a rock star compelled him to pen "Tired of Sex". For that most Pinkerton fans are grateful. However, this lack of emotional development is also reflected in his desire to become a rock god of sorts. The result is pandering to 14 year olds and fratboy types who can "rock out" to Beverly Hills. Yay. Perhaps we expected too much from Rivers. We forgave past transgressions such as the green album and Maladroit, which both had a few glimmers of hope for the future. I should have whipped out my old copy of Pavement's "Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain for the sad, prescient truth: Songs mean a lot when songs are bought And so are you Let's run down to the practice room tension and fame a career career, career, career I feel duped. Expand
  44. NicolasP
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Excellent!
  45. RobbinL
    Aug 1, 2005
    3
    Wow! I am truly at a loss for words. The band is clearly just a shadow of its former self. The hooks are gone, the melodies too. The lyrics?! Rivers is this what you are getting for your tuition money at Harvard? I'd ask for a refund, Dude. And No, getting Hugh Heffner to appear in your video will not help you save your faded reputation either. May the real Weezer R.I.P.
  46. FLauren
    Jul 25, 2005
    0
    The critics are right, that's why people read what the write. This album blows. If every band changes with each cd, Weezer has changed into the one of the many ironic drunks that pervade crappy parties and pop their collars. I'm going to make believe this album never happened.
  47. PaulH
    Jul 21, 2005
    2
    The songs are so corny, it's embarressing to actually listen to it.
  48. WillO
    Jul 18, 2005
    0
    This album is so empty of emotion. I've heard their more recent self-titled (green) album and I thought that was pointless. This is merely horrid. Even without comparing it to their first two albums, the songs are childish and have stupid riffs and choruses that aren't really catchy but just make one shudder to hear how lacking his songwriting is.
  49. DannyM
    Jul 12, 2005
    8
    this isn't weezer's best album but I like it alot!
  50. DavidB
    Jul 10, 2005
    1
    Unlistenable. What a disappointment...
  51. TBoneM
    Jul 2, 2005
    3
    I've listened through this a few times. At first the songs seem to have some hooks but are a little annoying. Later you will realize they're just annoying. Let's start with a 10. -2 because it does nothing new, unless you live in 1995 or the suburbs. -2 because the first single - Beverly Hills- sucks and is annoying. -2 because the rest of the songs sound like a formula. -1 I've listened through this a few times. At first the songs seem to have some hooks but are a little annoying. Later you will realize they're just annoying. Let's start with a 10. -2 because it does nothing new, unless you live in 1995 or the suburbs. -2 because the first single - Beverly Hills- sucks and is annoying. -2 because the rest of the songs sound like a formula. -1 because people are hyping this too much. There you have it. I think I'm being generous. Expand
  52. JustinK
    Jul 1, 2005
    8
    Make Believe isn't the best from Weezer, but it's much better than 90% of the other alt rock albums out. It's quick, catchy, and simple but still fun. If you're a bitter 35 year old dad looking to relive the early 90's weezer, this isn't the album for you. For everybody else, it's a good listen.
  53. LaurenF
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Critics are stupid, thats why no one listens to them and they dont make any money. Rivers Cuomo on the other hand makes lots of money because he is a genius and speaks from the heart and thats why people listen to him instead. Every great band changes with every cd, If you like the blue album go buy that one instead.
  54. PatrickC
    Jun 27, 2005
    0
    They should have quit while they were ahead.
  55. AaronR
    Jun 23, 2005
    10
    Critics are wrong about this one. This is a great album with classic weezer all the way through. Just because Beverly Hills is a mainstream loser doesn't mean the rest is the same. check out This is a Pity and Haunt you everyday!
  56. Mack
    Jun 21, 2005
    0
    With all the real, imaginative, and inventive music available (Spoon, White Stripes, Doves, um...Weezer's debut) how could you possibly listen to 2 seconds of this terrible heap? Weezer has been on an obvious downward spiral for 3 albums now - this album is like a 'Worst Hits' of the post-Pinkerton years. It's quite sad, really.
  57. DaveN
    Jun 21, 2005
    0
    I wanted to love this album. Badly. I listened to it about 15 times after it came out. Can't. I've thoroughly enjoyed every weezer album up until this one. even more uninspired lyrically than maladroit, but without the fun. =w= is dead.
  58. RyanM
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    Top to bottom, better than you think. Some of the tracks take from current bands, seemingly (listen to The Bravery, then the track "This is Such a Pity), but others are their sound, through and through (Freak Me Out). Don't be turned off by Beverly Hills. It's as representative of this album as El Scorcho was of Pinkerton (in other words, not at all).
  59. JeffS
    Jun 17, 2005
    7
    critics are scrutinizing this album way too hard. its the classic Weezer sound. And although its not as good as the Blue or Pinkerton, definately not as miserable as Malidroit...perhaps the bitterness of that album spilled over to the reviewing of this one.
  60. MarkP
    Jun 15, 2005
    8
    I liked it at first, but the more listened to it the more i liked and after i tried taking it out to listen to something else i couldnt get it out of my head and keep putting it back. i guess it just keeps growing on me.
  61. LarryS
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    Good solid Alternative album, its brilliant.
  62. EricO
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    Good, but not their best work.
  63. AlexJ
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    Album of the Year.
  64. GregP
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    This is the kind of album that makes me feel good about the music year.
  65. WeezerMakeBelieve
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    It's awesome!
  66. NeilFan
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    A great Newe Album From Weezer. IT's their best album since Pinkerton.
  67. PopeJohnPaul
    Jun 11, 2005
    0
    Goodbye Rivers. I know we had some great times together, but that was 9 years ago. It's over.
  68. Matt
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    The songs are either catchy in an annoying way or bland. "Hold Me" is the only song I loved.
  69. Joey
    Jun 9, 2005
    7
    Lovin' this album! My favourite track is probably the new single, 'Beverly Hills.' All the songs are really catchy but some sound like each other. Though doesn't every artist do that?
  70. Chris
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    Although slanted towards the emo side, this album is packed with very original and great songs
  71. MarcB
    Jun 8, 2005
    6
    When i was 15, their blue album came in my life like a 300 tons rock on my head!It was refreshing, a new kind of pop-punk and the guys were doing great vocals almost reminding the beach boys. For this one the first time was really deceiving(except bev.hills and We are all on drugs). Then i heard it a couple of times(i work in a cd store),And found that there's credit to give to When i was 15, their blue album came in my life like a 300 tons rock on my head!It was refreshing, a new kind of pop-punk and the guys were doing great vocals almost reminding the beach boys. For this one the first time was really deceiving(except bev.hills and We are all on drugs). Then i heard it a couple of times(i work in a cd store),And found that there's credit to give to weezer for trying to try some new things.The last song (so alone in love,i think) is the best example(reminds me of Radiohead "Life in a glass house" )We are all on drugs will surely be the next big hit for them. Expand
  72. Steve
    Jun 7, 2005
    1
    "why bother? its gonna hurt me, its gonna kill when you desert me, this happened to me twice before, it wont happen to me anymore." As I look back on these lines from Why Bother, I can only think that Rivers could see the future up to 2005 when he wrote that song. Yup, twice before (green, maladroit).
  73. Travis
    Jun 7, 2005
    1
    Absolutely can not believe this garbage is from the same band that created the Blue album and Pinkerton. I never expected any of their albums to top either of those, but this a horrible display of slant rhyme and moronic songs. The first awful track is about how he doesnt belong in Beverly Hills. Then a few songs later he's in his Mercedes-Benz and on drugs. How retarted.
  74. RobertA
    Jun 7, 2005
    7
    Well from listening to maladroit you can tell that weezer is on a downhill spiral. I am not sure which cd I like better maladroit or make believe. Well either way Make Believe was made with some kind of twisted humor. Is this really the Weezer we remember? No, but if you make believe that it is, it might just help you figure out that Weezer may be playing with your mind. 7 for the beats Well from listening to maladroit you can tell that weezer is on a downhill spiral. I am not sure which cd I like better maladroit or make believe. Well either way Make Believe was made with some kind of twisted humor. Is this really the Weezer we remember? No, but if you make believe that it is, it might just help you figure out that Weezer may be playing with your mind. 7 for the beats and treats, and -3 for the trickery and mediocrity. Expand
  75. MikeG
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Go ahead, say that my musical tastes are unrefined or whatever. I just love this album, and that's all there is to it.
  76. brian
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    its ok, its tough to compete with the blue album or any of there successful CD's. A lot of the songs sound basically the same
  77. BrianL
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    While not up to Weezer's amazing standard from the Blue Album years, this is better than Maladroit, their last release, and some of the songs are genuinely brilliant; This Is Such A Pity, We Are All On Drugs and Haunt You Every Day being my favourites
  78. [Anonymous]
    Jun 6, 2005
    0
    horrible, ugh
  79. CorneliusW
    Jun 5, 2005
    3
    Sounds like a bad Rooney album. I'm serious.
  80. CosmoJPrelog
    Jun 4, 2005
    1
    The first album to influence me to vacuum
  81. SamA
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    This is a great album. Perfect Situation could be the best Weezer song yet.
  82. GregR
    Jun 2, 2005
    8
    Music criticism is so subjective. Why would you trust one person's word over another? There are as many positive reviews here as there are negative ones. Weezer has always been a band in command of the catchy pop song and this album is no different. Unless you are some sort of rabid Weezer fan who holds on to Blue and Pinkerton as if suckling on your Mother's breast you should Music criticism is so subjective. Why would you trust one person's word over another? There are as many positive reviews here as there are negative ones. Weezer has always been a band in command of the catchy pop song and this album is no different. Unless you are some sort of rabid Weezer fan who holds on to Blue and Pinkerton as if suckling on your Mother's breast you should at least enjoy this album [even if you don't love it]. Remember that those same people who long for a new Pinkerton would be complaining just as vocally if we'd heard it done 5 different ways by now. Expand
  83. MattJ
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    Except for "My Best Friend" this album was far above my expectations and is quite good.
  84. BelovedAunt
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    Its A GREAT WEEZER ALBUM. If you are blessed with superior musical taste, you will likely enjoy this major comeback. Cuomo mixes Charlie Brown lyrics, angst drenched melodies and heavenly vocals to a satisfying melange of power pop utopia. And anyone that tells you otherwise has no interest in music, a very low IQ and possibly personal hygiene issues. And no other way to express the pent Its A GREAT WEEZER ALBUM. If you are blessed with superior musical taste, you will likely enjoy this major comeback. Cuomo mixes Charlie Brown lyrics, angst drenched melodies and heavenly vocals to a satisfying melange of power pop utopia. And anyone that tells you otherwise has no interest in music, a very low IQ and possibly personal hygiene issues. And no other way to express the pent up rage of the impotent computer bound Weiners that frequent these boards. Either that or they only listened to it once before pronouncing their turgid views with venom and bile. Buy it! it will immediately reside in your top 5 for the year. Expand
  85. bretttc
    Jun 1, 2005
    2
    Awful. Terrible. Bad. Useless. Futile. CRAP. Etc..
  86. PeterA
    May 30, 2005
    5
    A mediocre album--I was expecting a lot more when I heard Rick Rubin was working on it. There are a few good tunes such as "perfect situation" and "hold me" but overall this is a fairly boring album... and I have all of their albums. I would hope for more on their next effort (if they last that long).
  87. neutro
    May 27, 2005
    2
    This album is almost entirely disposable. If these were the "cream of the crop" of all the songs the band had worked on since the last potboiler - I think it's time to hang up the instruments and stop tarnishing what's respectable of their previous material.
  88. GeorgeJ
    May 27, 2005
    10
    This album is great.
  89. AndrewG
    May 25, 2005
    8
    After a couple of listenings you get major earworms. I dig this album, it has moved QOTSA's new album out of the CD player.
  90. Sean-TambaM
    May 24, 2005
    10
    Make Believe is a great Pop-Modern Rock album. No its not your typical underground pinkerton album, but who said it was supposed to be.
  91. NathanS.
    May 24, 2005
    7
    There was a lot of hype for this album, and it delivers in parts. Everyone was lookign for the next Blue album or Pinkerton, Instead, they got an album somewhere between 80s synth rock and your average emo band. That's not necessarily a bad thing. There are some decently good pop songs on here (I love the chorus on "Perfect Situation" and have grown to love both "Beverly Hills" and There was a lot of hype for this album, and it delivers in parts. Everyone was lookign for the next Blue album or Pinkerton, Instead, they got an album somewhere between 80s synth rock and your average emo band. That's not necessarily a bad thing. There are some decently good pop songs on here (I love the chorus on "Perfect Situation" and have grown to love both "Beverly Hills" and "We Are All On Drugs"). However, overall it doesn't sound like a Weezer album. Not too dissapointing, but nothing overly outstanding either. Expand
  92. BradM.
    May 23, 2005
    0
    A five year old could write "Beverly Hills." It might be the worst single of the year. It's the kind of song that 14 year olds trying to learn guitar will take to their instructors. These guys once wrote fun songs like "The Sweater Song" and "Surf Wax America." What happened? The only thing that seems to be keeping this band in the spotlight is River's geek glasses. "Oh Rivers, A five year old could write "Beverly Hills." It might be the worst single of the year. It's the kind of song that 14 year olds trying to learn guitar will take to their instructors. These guys once wrote fun songs like "The Sweater Song" and "Surf Wax America." What happened? The only thing that seems to be keeping this band in the spotlight is River's geek glasses. "Oh Rivers, you're so....sensitive and bookish." What a pile. Expand
  93. J.Charreaux
    May 22, 2005
    7
    Great drummer, good singing and production. The guitar solos show joy and abandon, but for a band supposedly so obsessed by perfect pop, they come off as bland and uninspired as when I first saw them in L.A. right before and right after they got signed. The first CD suceeded due to a combination of contributors that never appeared on subsequent releases.
  94. WesD
    May 22, 2005
    2
    I give it a 2 only because I saw a stripper dance to "Beverly Hills." Ever since, my appreciation for the tune has grown a bit. I thought Maladroit was horrid, but it didn't prepare me in the least for how disappointing this album is. Those who think it is similar to the first two albums in sound at all just aren't listening.
  95. eduardom
    May 21, 2005
    10
    One of the best records I've ever heard, each one you will love this record a year from now, that's a promise, I love it already cuz' I understand that Weezer does the best pop in the world, I am just gonna say that you should remember the feeling you had when you first heard Pinkerton, tell me don't you love it right now ;-)
  96. BillS
    May 20, 2005
    4
    Rob J, Pinkerton and the blue album were excellent records. It has nothing to do with nostalgia. Make Believe is mostly a boring, generic record. It's not in the same league as the first two weezer releases.
  97. jon
    May 18, 2005
    0
    Could honestly be one of the worst things ever recorded. It makes you wonder if all their old stuff was as good as you thought it was when you were in middle school.
  98. RobJ
    May 18, 2005
    6
    This new Weaver album is neither as great nor as terrible as people claim. It
  99. ThomasP
    May 18, 2005
    9
    At first listen, Make Believe threw me off and I was somewhat dissapointed. After about thirty passes, I believe that this could be the best Weezer to date. Make Believe is a very complex and deep release that seems to favor some of the best Beatles releases. Funny enough, the best material on the release is towards the end of the CD - Tracks 10-12 are pure genious.
  100. ElDuderino
    May 18, 2005
    0
    I remember a small scene from the Simpsons where Homer and Flanders were in Vegas, and their hotel marquee read that the entertainment was a Moody Blues cover band, whose opening band was the Moody Blues. After this crap-heap of an album, that scene serves as an analog for the future of Weezer.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 25
  2. Negative: 8 out of 25
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Weezer's most conventional disc... a cleaner-sounding record heavy on way-earnest power ballads. [13 May 2005, p.85]
  2. Rolling Stone
    80
    A breakthrough for Weezer... Cuomo's songs are his most plaintive and brilliant since Pinkerton. [19 May 2005, p.74]
  3. Sometimes an album is just awful. Make Believe is one of those albums.