Make Believe

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: May 10, 2005
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 293

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RobbinL
    Aug 1, 2005
    3
    Wow! I am truly at a loss for words. The band is clearly just a shadow of its former self. The hooks are gone, the melodies too. The lyrics?! Rivers is this what you are getting for your tuition money at Harvard? I'd ask for a refund, Dude. And No, getting Hugh Heffner to appear in your video will not help you save your faded reputation either. May the real Weezer R.I.P.
  2. BriJ.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    This album is not Pinkerton or the Blue album. It is better. It shows that they have evolved and every song is very catch. To me, the weakest songs are the 2 that got the air play; Beverly Hills and We are all on drugs. Those 2 were ok, but the rest of the album was awesome. Take it for what it is. It's happy upbeat power pop. There's nothing with that when in this day things This album is not Pinkerton or the Blue album. It is better. It shows that they have evolved and every song is very catch. To me, the weakest songs are the 2 that got the air play; Beverly Hills and We are all on drugs. Those 2 were ok, but the rest of the album was awesome. Take it for what it is. It's happy upbeat power pop. There's nothing with that when in this day things are so depressing. This is one of my most listened to cd's still? My concern would be whether they will be able to top this cd on their next one, if there is a next one. Expand
  3. BlizakeB
    Apr 25, 2006
    3
    Blue Album great, Pinkerton great, but Make Believe? I wish I could make believe that Rivers didnt crank out this sloppy album, I feel ripped of as a Weezer fan. Please Rivers put yourself together and get the original Weezer back(Rivers Cuomo, Brian Bell, Patrick Wilson and Matt Sharp) and make another great album or at least a good one
  4. JeffJ
    Jul 29, 2006
    5
    Rivers just tried too hard to come up with something good, it ends up sounding pretty cheesy at points. It's not totally unlistenable though.
  5. AaronE
    May 10, 2005
    10
    F'n awesome! Its neither worse, better or equal to their previous material. make believe just is.
  6. DevinB
    May 10, 2005
    0
    The scathing, hateful Pitchfork review is right. This is not just an awful album, it's so jaw-droppingly, impossibly bad that it retroactively destroys the enjoyability of everything Rivers Cuomo has ever done. Pinkerton was one of my favorite albums as a kid. However, I've been so traumatized by Make Believe that I can no longer listen to it without curling my toes in horror. I The scathing, hateful Pitchfork review is right. This is not just an awful album, it's so jaw-droppingly, impossibly bad that it retroactively destroys the enjoyability of everything Rivers Cuomo has ever done. Pinkerton was one of my favorite albums as a kid. However, I've been so traumatized by Make Believe that I can no longer listen to it without curling my toes in horror. I hope you're happy, River. You've finally, definitively ruined your legacy. Expand
  7. CosmoJPrelog
    Jun 4, 2005
    1
    The first album to influence me to vacuum
  8. MarcB
    Jun 8, 2005
    6
    When i was 15, their blue album came in my life like a 300 tons rock on my head!It was refreshing, a new kind of pop-punk and the guys were doing great vocals almost reminding the beach boys. For this one the first time was really deceiving(except bev.hills and We are all on drugs). Then i heard it a couple of times(i work in a cd store),And found that there's credit to give to When i was 15, their blue album came in my life like a 300 tons rock on my head!It was refreshing, a new kind of pop-punk and the guys were doing great vocals almost reminding the beach boys. For this one the first time was really deceiving(except bev.hills and We are all on drugs). Then i heard it a couple of times(i work in a cd store),And found that there's credit to give to weezer for trying to try some new things.The last song (so alone in love,i think) is the best example(reminds me of Radiohead "Life in a glass house" )We are all on drugs will surely be the next big hit for them. Expand
  9. ElliotR
    May 10, 2005
    9
    I enjoy it.
  10. JamesK
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Most underappreciated album of all time. This album is amazing.
  11. JamesJ
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Weezer have it spot on. Great songs with feeling. Different from their previous albums, but in this case change is good. Their best since the Blue album.
  12. MarkW
    May 11, 2005
    2
    Dull. Bad. I really enjoyed the harder polished edge of Maladroit, as it struck me as a creative step forward... I was really looking forward to Make Believe, and have been soundly disappointed. The songs are too simplistic, and the edge is gone. Even Beverly Hills seems like a forced effort. Worst =w= by far.
  13. SteveS
    May 10, 2005
    9
    Well just as i suspected alot of people are voting to soon. I belive u have to listen to a album over 10 times before u label it shit. I remember when pinkerton first came out everybody hated it. Then they actually started to listen to it and now its along with blue for the 2 best albums. I believe this album is good so far and if you keep on listneing to it you will understand it more Well just as i suspected alot of people are voting to soon. I belive u have to listen to a album over 10 times before u label it shit. I remember when pinkerton first came out everybody hated it. Then they actually started to listen to it and now its along with blue for the 2 best albums. I believe this album is good so far and if you keep on listneing to it you will understand it more and appreciate cuomo's work more. no its not a blue album but most bands change and you have to change with them. Expand
  14. JulianK
    May 10, 2005
    9
    not to feed off of my original bias as a weezer fan, but this disc is just great. It's a step in a different dirrection for weezer just like the other 4 were. i'm very impressed with the crafting of these songs, very mellow and powerful at the same time.
  15. BrianneG
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Whether the lyrics are passionate, trite, or simply ironic, Weezer's strengths rely on their cohesive sound and familiar formula. Hopefully, non-Weezer fans will enjoy it as much as I do.
  16. BillS
    May 20, 2005
    4
    Rob J, Pinkerton and the blue album were excellent records. It has nothing to do with nostalgia. Make Believe is mostly a boring, generic record. It's not in the same league as the first two weezer releases.
  17. PeterA
    May 30, 2005
    5
    A mediocre album--I was expecting a lot more when I heard Rick Rubin was working on it. There are a few good tunes such as "perfect situation" and "hold me" but overall this is a fairly boring album... and I have all of their albums. I would hope for more on their next effort (if they last that long).
  18. RogerS
    May 9, 2005
    9
    Weezer's best album since Pinkerton. A joy to listen.
  19. BelovedAunt
    Jun 1, 2005
    9
    Its A GREAT WEEZER ALBUM. If you are blessed with superior musical taste, you will likely enjoy this major comeback. Cuomo mixes Charlie Brown lyrics, angst drenched melodies and heavenly vocals to a satisfying melange of power pop utopia. And anyone that tells you otherwise has no interest in music, a very low IQ and possibly personal hygiene issues. And no other way to express the pent Its A GREAT WEEZER ALBUM. If you are blessed with superior musical taste, you will likely enjoy this major comeback. Cuomo mixes Charlie Brown lyrics, angst drenched melodies and heavenly vocals to a satisfying melange of power pop utopia. And anyone that tells you otherwise has no interest in music, a very low IQ and possibly personal hygiene issues. And no other way to express the pent up rage of the impotent computer bound Weiners that frequent these boards. Either that or they only listened to it once before pronouncing their turgid views with venom and bile. Buy it! it will immediately reside in your top 5 for the year. Expand
  20. BrianL
    Jun 6, 2005
    8
    While not up to Weezer's amazing standard from the Blue Album years, this is better than Maladroit, their last release, and some of the songs are genuinely brilliant; This Is Such A Pity, We Are All On Drugs and Haunt You Every Day being my favourites
  21. [Anonymous]
    Jun 6, 2005
    0
    horrible, ugh
  22. ShaneyT
    Aug 9, 2005
    7
    most critics don't give the album more than a couple listens, and this record needs quite a few before its beauty is revealed. give it a fe more spins and you'll notice that "This is Such a Pity", "The Damage In Your Heart", "The Other Way", "Freak Me Out", and "Haunt You Everyday" are great additions to the Cuomo songbook.
  23. KoenDeCrock
    May 11, 2005
    0
    I can't believe this!!! This is sooooooooo bad it makes me wish metacritic allowed negative scores. Of course, "Beverly hills" was a good indicator for how bad this album was going to be, but believe it or not, it is one of the "best" songs on the album. weezer is going into Def Leppard territorium with this album, an ancient long forgotten land that noone has dared to thread since I can't believe this!!! This is sooooooooo bad it makes me wish metacritic allowed negative scores. Of course, "Beverly hills" was a good indicator for how bad this album was going to be, but believe it or not, it is one of the "best" songs on the album. weezer is going into Def Leppard territorium with this album, an ancient long forgotten land that noone has dared to thread since the end of the eighties. Expand
  24. ryanb
    May 10, 2005
    0
    Absolutely brutal. The Pitchfork review sums up my thoughts nicely, though I'd like to add the song "Hold Me" smells strongly of "I Started A Joke" by the Bee Gees.
  25. DaveS
    May 10, 2005
    0
    everytime i hear this album it makes me want to vomit. I also can't believe that Rolling Stone is calling it great and comparing it to Pinkerton... last time I checked, Pinkerton was named "worst album of 1996" by RS
  26. NicolasC
    May 11, 2005
    8
    Not as good as blue different from Pinkerton better than green and the same as maladroit = Good album
  27. JustinS
    May 10, 2005
    8
    I like the return of Rivers' emotion. I do not, however, like the brief retreads into unintelligent pop (We Are All On Drugs, Best Friend, Freak Me Out). Other than those tracks though, this album is amazing, especially with its hybrid Pinkerton-Blue songs (Pardon Me, The Other Way, Perfect Situation, Peace). Overall a great album and worthy of the Weezer name.
  28. GaryM
    May 11, 2005
    8
    'Make Believe' is not Blue or Pinkerton. If you want it to be those albums, don't bother listening as it will never meet your lofty standards. On its own, though, 'Make Believe' is a fine album with at least six songs which are EXCELLENT and the rest of which is very good (except Freak Me Out, which I don't care for.) The lyrics aren't as good as 'Make Believe' is not Blue or Pinkerton. If you want it to be those albums, don't bother listening as it will never meet your lofty standards. On its own, though, 'Make Believe' is a fine album with at least six songs which are EXCELLENT and the rest of which is very good (except Freak Me Out, which I don't care for.) The lyrics aren't as good as Pinkerton but the music is very solid and Rivers can shred. And back by popular demand, Rivers writes personal songs again, only to be trashed by you people. He can't win for losing. Very good album. Worth picking up for Perfect Situation, This is Such A Pity, Haunt You Every Day and The Other Way. Expand
  29. Josh
    May 11, 2005
    0
    Totally awful. Every song is formulaic--they take a trite sentiment and repeat it over and over. All of the lyrical magic I expect from Weezer is gone. I still love Blue, PInkerton, and Maladroit, though.
  30. BenA
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Don't listen to the snobby Pitchfork cronies. So what if the prissy indy in-crowd doesn't accept weezer. This album rules. The lyrics are laughably bad by themselves but the songs are so brilliant it makes them shine. I love this album. It makes me so happy. Weezer is back and they are dorky as ever. A+
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 25
  2. Negative: 8 out of 25
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Weezer's most conventional disc... a cleaner-sounding record heavy on way-earnest power ballads. [13 May 2005, p.85]
  2. Rolling Stone
    80
    A breakthrough for Weezer... Cuomo's songs are his most plaintive and brilliant since Pinkerton. [19 May 2005, p.74]
  3. Sometimes an album is just awful. Make Believe is one of those albums.