User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 278

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    7
    A very inconsistent album that still has enough good songs to make it good. The first half is great and favourites are Hold Me and Peace. From there I find the album goes downhill with songs that have mediocre lyrics. I find that out of all Weezer albums I listen to this the least. I rated it the same as Raditude as it does have deeper songs, however it is not as catchy and fun. DespiteA very inconsistent album that still has enough good songs to make it good. The first half is great and favourites are Hold Me and Peace. From there I find the album goes downhill with songs that have mediocre lyrics. I find that out of all Weezer albums I listen to this the least. I rated it the same as Raditude as it does have deeper songs, however it is not as catchy and fun. Despite this I still enjoy it and feel it earns a 7 rating. Expand
  2. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    5
    Not a terrible album but not a good one either. Average at best.
  3. Dec 15, 2014
    6
    I've split Weezer into 3 periods. Early Days (Blue and Pinkerton) which was the band at the peak of their creative powers and when the created 2 modern classics. Then we have the early 00's (Green and Maladroit) which were not quite as good but still decent albums and really good fun. Then you have everything that followed - mediocrity - the rare ok tune and then lots of more mediocrity.I've split Weezer into 3 periods. Early Days (Blue and Pinkerton) which was the band at the peak of their creative powers and when the created 2 modern classics. Then we have the early 00's (Green and Maladroit) which were not quite as good but still decent albums and really good fun. Then you have everything that followed - mediocrity - the rare ok tune and then lots of more mediocrity. This is the start of the third Weezer period. The lead single "Beverly Hills" doesn't really sound like a Weezer track, more bland aimless AOR rock than the geeky surf/punk pop the band became renowned for. The good songs on this album can only really be classed as decent rather than great and even at that there are very few of these (We are All on Drugs, The Other Way are the only ones that immediately come to mind). The rest of the songs on this record fall somewhere under poor, average or boring and if I'm honest this album marks the beginning of the end for the band and where I stopped taking any real interest of note in what Weezer were doing. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    A couple of really good tracks do a valiant effort for trying to make up for other poorly written, fairly bad songs. Don't get me wrong, I love Weezer, and if I let that bias in this review, I give it 10/10, but I find myself listening to their other albums more often than Make Believe.
  5. Oct 10, 2014
    8
    I'm not really sure why people prefer Hurley and Raditude over this. I mean, yes, I particularly didn't like the slickness of the production and the sometimes generic lyrics, but it's still good. Not as good as TBA and Pinkerton, though.
  6. Sep 29, 2014
    2
    This lazy, dull, and shameless album had me try and "Make Believe" my way to a better Weezer album. It's so lifeless, the songs drag on forever, it tries to have heart and sincerity but fails on almost every occasion. Beverly Hills is catchy, but depressing at a closer listen and it's also lazy. That's the whole problem with this album, the songs are lazily constructed both in terms ofThis lazy, dull, and shameless album had me try and "Make Believe" my way to a better Weezer album. It's so lifeless, the songs drag on forever, it tries to have heart and sincerity but fails on almost every occasion. Beverly Hills is catchy, but depressing at a closer listen and it's also lazy. That's the whole problem with this album, the songs are lazily constructed both in terms of music and lyrics. Most songs only use 2 chords, and is a complete step-down from Weezer's previous album, Maladroit. There are a few classic Weezer songs, Perfect Situation and Haunt You Every Day, but other than that this album sucks. Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2014
    9
    I'll never understand why so many people give this album such a hard time. I'll admit it's a little too mid-tempo at times and could have been better, but it's a pretty solid and "classic" Weezer album imo.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 25
  2. Negative: 8 out of 25
  1. Weezer's most conventional disc... a cleaner-sounding record heavy on way-earnest power ballads. [13 May 2005, p.85]
  2. A breakthrough for Weezer... Cuomo's songs are his most plaintive and brilliant since Pinkerton. [19 May 2005, p.74]
  3. Sometimes an album is just awful. Make Believe is one of those albums.