Make Believe

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Make Believe Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 293 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rick Rubin produced album number five for the Rivers Cuomo-led band.

Top Track

Beverly Hills
Where I come from isn't all that great My automobile is a piece of crap My fashion sense is a little whack And my friends are just as screwy as me I... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 25
  2. Negative: 8 out of 25
  1. Rolling Stone
    80
    A breakthrough for Weezer... Cuomo's songs are his most plaintive and brilliant since Pinkerton. [19 May 2005, p.74]
  2. Q Magazine
    80
    Hints that Cuomo may be approaching some sort of personal epiphany about his place in the world. [Jun 2005, p.116]
  3. Filter
    64
    The thread that made Weezer everyone's favorite nerd-rock quartet--the soul and core behind the dramatic guitar crescendos--has unraveled completely, leaving us with a record full of, well, a lot of dramatic guitar crescendos. [#16, p.87]
  4. Mojo
    60
    Another patchily edifying addition to the Cuomo enigma. [Jul 2005, p.106]
  5. Many of these songs are thin schematics for “perfect” pop songs. They’re impressive in their commitment to formula--deploying catchy, whiny hooks, taut structure, loud-soft interplay, and well-timed guitar peals. Yet for all their nakedness, they offer little in the way of revelation.
  6. Make Believe seems so simple compared to [Weezer's] other albums.
  7. Sometimes an album is just awful. Make Believe is one of those albums.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 196
  1. BriJ.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    This album is not Pinkerton or the Blue album. It is better. It shows that they have evolved and every song is very catch. To me, the weakest This album is not Pinkerton or the Blue album. It is better. It shows that they have evolved and every song is very catch. To me, the weakest songs are the 2 that got the air play; Beverly Hills and We are all on drugs. Those 2 were ok, but the rest of the album was awesome. Take it for what it is. It's happy upbeat power pop. There's nothing with that when in this day things are so depressing. This is one of my most listened to cd's still? My concern would be whether they will be able to top this cd on their next one, if there is a next one. Expand
  2. ReubenG
    May 12, 2005
    10
    This is by far Weezer's best effort since Pinkerton. Will it kickstart a new genre for bands like Pinkerton did for emo? Most likely This is by far Weezer's best effort since Pinkerton. Will it kickstart a new genre for bands like Pinkerton did for emo? Most likely not, but it does re-establish the fact that Weezer are once again a influential premier rock band (whose best days are no longer behind them.) Expand
  3. JesperM
    May 16, 2005
    9
    This album is neither what I expected nor what I hoped for. It is something else, and it gave me a hard time at first. But it still remained This album is neither what I expected nor what I hoped for. It is something else, and it gave me a hard time at first. But it still remained fixed in my CD-player. Now I really, really like it. The bad reviews all to me seem nothing but "this band is not doing what I want them to do. How dare they!" I remember the abandoned concept for the Beverly Hills video (suggested by Brian Bell)where the band is given an extreme makeover, and their appearances all change - except for Rivers Cuomo. He looks just the same as before, because, said Bell, "Rivers is not allowed to change." Says it all, really. Give the man a break and listen. Expand
  4. JeffS
    Jun 17, 2005
    7
    critics are scrutinizing this album way too hard. its the classic Weezer sound. And although its not as good as the Blue or Pinkerton, critics are scrutinizing this album way too hard. its the classic Weezer sound. And although its not as good as the Blue or Pinkerton, definately not as miserable as Malidroit...perhaps the bitterness of that album spilled over to the reviewing of this one. Expand
  5. HexG.
    Nov 17, 2007
    4
    Only 2 or 3 songs here are worthy of being on a weezer album, the rest are just plain, boring and uninspired and the idea of putting Only 2 or 3 songs here are worthy of being on a weezer album, the rest are just plain, boring and uninspired and the idea of putting "Butterfly" on this record is baffling. "This Is Such A Pity" and "The Damage In Your Heart" are just awful when you think of the music these guys have created together in the past. For me, this is Weezers poorest album by far. Expand
  6. WesD
    May 22, 2005
    2
    I give it a 2 only because I saw a stripper dance to "Beverly Hills." Ever since, my appreciation for the tune has grown a bit. I thought I give it a 2 only because I saw a stripper dance to "Beverly Hills." Ever since, my appreciation for the tune has grown a bit. I thought Maladroit was horrid, but it didn't prepare me in the least for how disappointing this album is. Those who think it is similar to the first two albums in sound at all just aren't listening. Expand
  7. Rowdy
    May 9, 2005
    0
    They've come a long way..........and the road they've traveled has been a steep downhill one.

See all 196 User Reviews