• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Oct 8, 2002
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AshlieW.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    I rate this album a 10 because it never gets old and I can listen to it over and over without ever getting tired of it. It is catchy and melodic, with fun tunes so no matter who you are, you'll want to sing along and maybe even dance some. I cannot even pick a favorite from this album, mostly because every song is so fun and unique and has a different reason for being well-liked. I rate this album a 10 because it never gets old and I can listen to it over and over without ever getting tired of it. It is catchy and melodic, with fun tunes so no matter who you are, you'll want to sing along and maybe even dance some. I cannot even pick a favorite from this album, mostly because every song is so fun and unique and has a different reason for being well-liked. Talk to me, Dance with me will have you dancing and smiling with great instrumental solos and everything. Oh Goddamnit is a fun song that is many fans' favorite song. All in alll the album is great, I would recommend it to all over my friends and peers and it makes me happy to hear that someone new is listening to it! Expand
  2. jao
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    this album consumed me for 2 months.
  3. MeganS
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    Make Up The Breakdown is amazing. Every song is dangerously catchy, and the lyrics are so witty. Each song is very different, and many have several different parts, so the listener is never bored. I can't say what the highlights of this album are, because every song is equally incredible. You'll want to dance when listening to this. This is definently worth your money, and if Make Up The Breakdown is amazing. Every song is dangerously catchy, and the lyrics are so witty. Each song is very different, and many have several different parts, so the listener is never bored. I can't say what the highlights of this album are, because every song is equally incredible. You'll want to dance when listening to this. This is definently worth your money, and if you like it, also check out Hot Hot Heat's EP Knock Knock Knock. Expand
  4. BrandonB
    Nov 29, 2002
    9
    Sure it's not sex, drugs or violence; but would you honestly use that as your judgement call for a "great album". Great lyrics, original guitar, and wonderfully constructed or rather deconstructed songs; more than fun, it's really- well done fun.
  5. Chris
    Oct 27, 2002
    10
    Perfect!
  6. nono
    Oct 28, 2002
    10
    the best.
  7. shannonh
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    how much energy do you want the same four guys to put forth with in five months. I like this album even more than the EP.
  8. MichaelD
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    Very well done. Can't wait for their next album.
  9. KessT
    Mar 26, 2005
    8
    This was a very entertaining and overall happy album. It is a major change from all of the dark and depressing music that has been popular these days. If you are looking for something to have fun with check it out. It is definitly worth it.
  10. MandyM
    Dec 29, 2002
    10
    Um, I havent bought the album yet, but the video for "Bandaages" is great. One question seems to be n my mind lately- what the hell is he saying? lol, i like it. he is pretty hot, whoever he is...
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Breakdown is gleeful, digestible, and eminently enjoyable.
  2. Mojo
    60
    When on their game -- about two-thirds of this to-the-point-set -- Hot Hot Heat are too breathlessly enjoyable to refuse. [Apr 2003, p.98]
  3. It's a great way to start off a career.