Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jan 31, 2012
    90
    Unlike other overhyped albums that have achieved similar fame, Making Mirrors is the real deal.
  2. 83
    The kind of atmospheric, dub-inflected pop and yearning vocals that would make Peter Gabriel proud. [3/10 Feb 2012, p.112]
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    80
    Quirky nods to power pop, jazz, and even sci-fi dub suggest a restless, Beck-like future. [April 2012, p.107]
  4. Feb 3, 2012
    80
    The lustrous "In Your Light" alone should see his name on billboards. [Mar 2012, p.87]
  5. Feb 1, 2012
    80
    Overall, the charms of the album make it more than a knockoff of more established pop brands; it often feels like Making Mirrors bounces their reflections into fresh focus.
  6. Jan 30, 2012
    77
    Gotye's exemplary pop sense may be the big revelation of Making Mirrors, yet it's his arty restlessness that will continue to keep him interesting.
  7. Feb 17, 2012
    70
    The result: ingenious, oddly touching, refreshingly emphatic bedroom pop.
  8. Feb 10, 2012
    70
    This is a varied album that combines old and new musical styles without the fear of pastiche.
  9. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    The album merges catchy gizmo-loving pop constructions with a stalwartly depressive mindset.
  10. Jan 30, 2012
    70
    Familiar they may be, but some credit has to go to De Backer for managing to weave these eclectic retro sounds into a cohesive affair.
  11. Feb 29, 2012
    60
    Making Mirrors offers plenty of evidence the guy could be capable of just a little bit more if he'd focus in on pop music at the expense of his more esoteric impulses, or at least learn how to separate the two more efficiently.
  12. Feb 13, 2012
    60
    Sadly, this album has as many misses as hits.
  13. 60
    Chopped and diced from a variety of sources, it packs a lyrical punch, but nothing here transcends his internet hit.
  14. Feb 9, 2012
    60
    A maverick worth watching.
  15. 60
    Has the dense, occasionally cluttered manner of the obsessive bedroom producer.
  16. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    At his best he reminds you of everything that makes Miike Snow's self-titled debut such an addictive listen, but at his worst he comes across like an electronic music dilettante.
  17. Oct 9, 2012
    50
    [Making Mirrors] showcases a risk-taking, self-possessed artist, with mixed results.
  18. 50
    The LP toes a line between eclecticism and kitchen sink, but the one thing he hasn't chucked in here is a little focus.
  19. The wan vocals and listless melodies conspire to render such eclecticism [on this album] as flavourless as a Cup-a-Soup variety pack.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This album is one of the best things of 2012 for me so far, there isn't a song i dislike on the whole CD. Also love how each song is veryThis album is one of the best things of 2012 for me so far, there isn't a song i dislike on the whole CD. Also love how each song is very different from the last... GREAT ALBUM! buy now Full Review »
  2. May 30, 2012
    4
    The Australian Belgian-born Wouter De Backer became known in the world with the exceptional tube Somebody That I Used to Know, in mid-2011 andThe Australian Belgian-born Wouter De Backer became known in the world with the exceptional tube Somebody That I Used to Know, in mid-2011 and more recently with us, necessitating this year outstripped domestic . Third installment of the artist, Gotye Making Mirrors establishes that's not a shooting star: multi-instrumentalist, multi-genre, he demonstrates a mastery of dynamics and delivers a pop-rock expressive, lively and complex. Effective when he plays in left field (fuzzée Easy Way Out, prog State of the Art), it is however agreed when it touches the very soul (I Feel Better). In the end, alas Making Mirrors is a little smoother, but the multitude of angles explored gives personality Full Review »
  3. Feb 28, 2012
    9
    When the opening track, which is only 1 minute long, started, I feared this album wouldn't be as great as I hoped, but it turned out I wasWhen the opening track, which is only 1 minute long, started, I feared this album wouldn't be as great as I hoped, but it turned out I was wrong. Easy Way Out, Eyes Wide Open and Somebody That I Used to Know are some great indie pop songs that gave me the impression that this was going to be a good album.

    And then the great stuff kicked in. Smoke and Mirrors is a very classy song with a progressive sound and one of my favorites on the album. After 2 songs that take inspiration from soul and George Michael, the album reaches its peak (at least for me), with the groovy, psychedelic State of the Art and the creepy, alienating Don't Worry We'll Be Watching You. From this point, the album builds off with Giving Me a Chance and Save Me, the first one being a soft, sad song and the second being a clear and fun song. Finally the album closes with Bronte, my favorite from the album, for Gotye really sings with his heart and the song is soothing yet sad. Overall a fantastic album, that shows a lot of different styles but never feels too inconsistent. I highly recommend anyone to listen to this album, I think anybody who likes music can find at least one song on this album that fits his/her style.
    Full Review »