Mama's Gun

  • Record Label: Motown
  • Release Date: Nov 21, 2000
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 53
  2. Negative: 3 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    This is one of the most beautiful albums I've ever heard in my life. The work that Badu did it's just perfect, from the compositions and productions to the vocals and feelings that she can transmit on all tracks. Just perfect!
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    A freaking genius album that put Erykah on the map for me, and to this day remains a default go to record when I can't decide what to listen to, because I can listen to it in nearly any circumstance or mood. She hits political without getting preachy, and emotional without losing the sexy.
  3. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    I listened to this album more than any other during the 00's
  4. CynthiaC.
    Jul 17, 2001
    10
    I thought this album was a masterpiece. People have a tendency to downrate something they don't understand, and I think that's why some may not have liked it. I love this album because it is not just music, but has message behind it, a positive message. Along with the message is soulful art that can only come from someone that loves music, life, and people. Someone that not only I thought this album was a masterpiece. People have a tendency to downrate something they don't understand, and I think that's why some may not have liked it. I love this album because it is not just music, but has message behind it, a positive message. Along with the message is soulful art that can only come from someone that loves music, life, and people. Someone that not only wants to make music and enjoy life, but also make a difference in the process. Expand
  5. marcellw
    Jan 10, 2002
    10
    This album falls into one of those classic categories that most people overlook due to lack of radio-friendly singles. This album is too deep for most, with poetic, sensitive vibes that really show a new side to Erykah Badu. Too bad most will not look far enough into this album to see the true inner quality.
  6. RoyW.
    Jun 7, 2002
    10
    This album is excellent!! Ms. Badu is truly the best Soul artist out now male or female. I can't wait for her next Album. I listen to this CD every night when i go to bed!!!
  7. BrandiC.
    Oct 26, 2001
    10
    This albumis a classic.
  8. MarlinB.
    Aug 10, 2001
    10
    this album took you back to the days of listening to your parents non-stop lectures about things that they didnt have and the tribulations that they had to deal with, if your werent there already going through it with them, memories whether they are good or bad if they happened 17 or even a year ago you had to feel this album in your soul cause that's all it was, pure soul.
  9. MarlinB.
    Aug 10, 2001
    10
    this album took you back to the days of listening to your parents non-stop lectures about things that they didnt have and the tribulations that they had to deal with, if your werent there already going through it with them, memories whether they are good or bad if they happened 17 or even a year ago you had to feel this album in your soul cause that's all it was, pure soul.
  10. Vernisha
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    This album is the absolute BEST! It helped me through a tramatic breakup and helped me loved myself all over again. I listen to her every night and always find something new, different, and inspiring in the songs.
  11. NishaG
    Jan 12, 2004
    10
    from the moment i listened to mamas gun in virgin on the headphones,i knew what treat i was in for at home.so i bought it.every song is like a poem,its unreal.no1 in ireland even knows who she is,its a shame.shes amazing.i listen to it every nite,and orange moon is my absolute favourite.
  12. ShemJ
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    One of the best R&B albums I own. Musical masterpiece. Brilliant. And I don't dish out compliments to everybody, either.
  13. EvryMansdream
    Feb 23, 2002
    10
    Im grooving this right now.....Erykah is by far one the most talented, poetic, lyricits and scribes out there today. I know the Harlem Renaissance would have loved to have her
  14. MonicaC
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    This is a timeless, timeless masterpiece.
  15. DH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    I luv it. U can get up and groove to it its amazing.
  16. CherronT
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    I love this CD!
  17. BrandiC.
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    This albumis a classic.
  18. MajikMajik
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Under-appreciated classic album.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. A definite work of art, destined to remain in heavy rotation for some time to come.
  2. The Dallas native has created a womb of an album. It's a warm, soft, retreat from the outside world. Reading between the lines, this means no hits.... [but] reading the printed lyrics shows what a wonderful poet she is.
  3. But what makes Badu a source of deep pride for her black audience (and intriguing puzzlement for her ever-growing white one) is that her mysticism produces its most compelling poetry when set against gritty realities such as drug-dealing boyfriends, jealous neighbors, ghetto etiquette, and the constant war on poverty. As a songwriter, Badu's particular gift is being able to work such everyday touchstones into sublime allusions of spiritual rebirth.