User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 213 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 213

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Honestly, I don't really understand how people can even consider this album to be "mainstream music". How many of the songs from this album have you heard playing on the radio (with the exception of Day n Nite)? None, and it's not because they suck either. With that said, this is easily one of my favorite albums of all time and one of the most genuine lyrically. Cudi may not be forHonestly, I don't really understand how people can even consider this album to be "mainstream music". How many of the songs from this album have you heard playing on the radio (with the exception of Day n Nite)? None, and it's not because they suck either. With that said, this is easily one of my favorite albums of all time and one of the most genuine lyrically. Cudi may not be for everybody, but this is a spectacular album. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Probably the best debut album i have ever heard, Kid Cudi and his team (Emile, Pain Pat & Dot Da Genius) can't do no wrong. If you though Kid Cudi's was just an one-hit wonder because of Day N' Nite you were wrong, most the songs on this album are much better.
  3. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    The originality, the atmosphere and the way of 'pouring out his emotions' are really cool! The haters simply don't understand... Sorry for them! CuDi is here for staying!
  4. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Terrific album, the kind of album that you can just pop into your CD player and listen to start to finish. I highly recommend this album to anyone who is just a little bit into hip hop/rap or a seasoned veteran of the genre. He puts none conventional artists on tracks and it turns out wonderfully, Kid Cudi is a lyrical genius in my opinion and this album is perfect for a warm summer'sTerrific album, the kind of album that you can just pop into your CD player and listen to start to finish. I highly recommend this album to anyone who is just a little bit into hip hop/rap or a seasoned veteran of the genre. He puts none conventional artists on tracks and it turns out wonderfully, Kid Cudi is a lyrical genius in my opinion and this album is perfect for a warm summer's night with some friends. Expand
  5. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    OK, so the album is not perfect. Common tries to ruin it with his stupid narration. There are a few bad tracks. ("Make Her Say", "My World") In addition, Kid Cudi is not the best rapper in the world. In fact, I would argue even he would tell you that. However, the album is saved by amazing production quality, amazing beats, and Ratatat along with MGMT. "Alive" and "Pursuit ofOK, so the album is not perfect. Common tries to ruin it with his stupid narration. There are a few bad tracks. ("Make Her Say", "My World") In addition, Kid Cudi is not the best rapper in the world. In fact, I would argue even he would tell you that. However, the album is saved by amazing production quality, amazing beats, and Ratatat along with MGMT. "Alive" and "Pursuit of Happiness" are perfect. Day N Nite is also the most interesting single I have heard on the radio in a long time. The album revolves around his lonely stoner feeling with cold, bleak beats. Tight jeans rappers are awesome! Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    This album is very great. I love the sound to the album and tracks. Kid Cudi is a great songwriter It's more than a hip hop album it's also a a alternative rock album It features great artists like common and kanye west and bands like mgmt. this album is worth having At first I wasn't such a fan of his until I heard this album.
  7. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    There are almost no negatives to this album for me. I just listened to it all the way through for the first time a few months, and was reminded why I love this album so much. Although Common can be annoying at times, the albums continuity is still there, and the flow that it has let's me just relax after a day of hard work, or start off a day with a wonderful musical experience.
  8. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    If anyone gives this album less than a 10 then they are crazy because kid cudi has now established himself thanks to this album. EVAERY SONG ON THIS ALBUM IS EMOTIONAL AND INSPIRING.
  9. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    My only issue with this masterpiece is Common's narrating. It's distracting and rather annoying. Also Common's segment in Make Her Say. I guess I just thought Common was useless and actually hurt the album. But otherwise everything about this album is amazing. It has hope, heart, love, happiness. It makes you see the light in this dark world.
  10. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    Great debut album, to me much more impressive than the follow up. A true masterpiece of the new rap, the alternative rap, in which Mr. Mescudi brings us in his dreams. And trust me, they are trippy, atmospheric, and more than anything, brilliant. Great album, hope Scottie boy brings a better album than Man on the Moon 2 with his next album. This one, however, is a must pick-up.
  11. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Hands down the best slow rap album out there. I can listen to this to go to sleep or to pump me up. Easy 10/10 for the record. Cudi doesn't follow your regular, "black & white" rap album.
  12. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    Not since College Dropout has an artists debut album made such an impact on me more than Kid Cudi's Man on the Moon: The End of Day. This album is great, from beginning to end. It starts off with a spacey intro setting the tone for the rest of the album and doesn't let up. Even the more radio friendly songs like Pursuit of Happiness, Make Her Say, and the hit Day 'N' Nite are awesome.Not since College Dropout has an artists debut album made such an impact on me more than Kid Cudi's Man on the Moon: The End of Day. This album is great, from beginning to end. It starts off with a spacey intro setting the tone for the rest of the album and doesn't let up. Even the more radio friendly songs like Pursuit of Happiness, Make Her Say, and the hit Day 'N' Nite are awesome. There seems to be no filler to be found on MOTM. Kid Cudi is a different kind of rapper. He's a strong advocate of less style and more substance and there's plenty of substance here. He raps about being a kid, growing up and finding his artistic niche rather than money, women, cars and jewelry. The tracks that stand out to me the most are Soundtrack 2 My Life, Cudi Zone, My World and Heart of a Lion, but never find myself skipping a single track. Man on the Moon: The End of Day is a hip hop album for listeners looking for something more than your average hip hop album. It's unlike anything else you'll hear from a "rapper." Expand
  13. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    cudi's flow is a rare style now a days. The chances of finding a great artist with the nicest flow today is 1 in 1Trillion. Kid Cudi is one of the few artists who are going to bring Hip-hop to the Top Of the Food Chain
  14. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    PROS:
    The space-adventure-y production is incredible
    Even the "pop" songs ("Make Her Say", "Up Up n Away") sound great Lyrics to relate to Great guest verses from Kanye West, Common CONS: Kid Cudi could have a bit more energy, since these songs are the kind that require it. A few mediocre songs ("In My Dreams", "Simple As", & "Hyerr") Some interludes at the end of songs (Most people
    PROS:
    The space-adventure-y production is incredible
    Even the "pop" songs ("Make Her Say", "Up Up n Away") sound great
    Lyrics to relate to
    Great guest verses from Kanye West, Common
    CONS: Kid Cudi could have a bit more energy, since these songs are the kind that require it.
    A few mediocre songs ("In My Dreams", "Simple As", & "Hyerr")
    Some interludes at the end of songs (Most people probably won't mind them)
    Expand
  15. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Absolutely the top Rap album i've heard. Each piece in this album is a masterpiece. It goes from one amazing song to another. My favourite album from Kid Cudi. Can't wait for his new album (Indicud)
  16. Jul 27, 2013
    10
    This album is innovative. I feel that Kid Cudi is starting a new genre. Every track is different and they all set off independent tones. With songs like Soundtrack 2 My Life, Man on The Moon, Day 'N' Nite, and Pursuit of Happiness (nightmare), that are ground breaking. This album is definitely bringing something new to the Hip Hop genre.
  17. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This album is a masterpiece, a true blending of styles that culminate in something that does not belong in the world of gangster rap. It is a true hip-hop album, with instrumentals shot through with elements of 1980's-esque electronica and even rock. With guest appearances by Kanye West, MGMT, and the electro group Ratatat, it certainly is not lacking in any support from the musicalThis album is a masterpiece, a true blending of styles that culminate in something that does not belong in the world of gangster rap. It is a true hip-hop album, with instrumentals shot through with elements of 1980's-esque electronica and even rock. With guest appearances by Kanye West, MGMT, and the electro group Ratatat, it certainly is not lacking in any support from the musical community. Soundwise, the album is a spacious, reflective work that seems to invoke the kind of calmness that one normally feels when listening to calm ambient music. Lyrically, the album loses a tad of momentum. Cudi is obviously not a master of rhymes, but his true talent lies in connecting with listeners through the subject matters of his verses. Hip-Hop music relies not on the vocal talent of the artist (the artist is essentially talking, after all), but on the ability to communicate meaning to the patron. With his songs speaking of overcoming loneliness, nightmares, and anxiety, Cudi paints a portrait of someone who is easy to empathize with, someone down-to-earth but somehow still above the cesspool that the majority of hip-hop artists have fallen into. And unlike other rappers, Kid Cudi's sing-song style of rapping stands out among artists, with verses that can be either sung or rapped along too. In short, this is a near-perfect album. I have a feeling that I'll be listening to this for a long time. Expand
  18. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    It's up for debate whether this or Outkast's Speakerboxxx/The Love Below is the best hip hop album of the decade. An absolute masterpiece that is grossly underrated by critics but sufficiently panned and admired by fans.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. This first official release is a soul searcher and may require more patience than your everyday debut. Still, the chilly, complicated Man on the Moon perfects the futuristic bleak-beat hip-hop Kanye purposed a year earlier, and rewards the listener with every tripped-out return.
  2. It’s spacey, adventurous, and ridiculously intriguing if only because it’s so different.
  3. Cudi turns out to be that rarest of rap phenomena: a hyped upstart who really does represent a promising new phase in the genre's evolution.