User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 126

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Kid Cudi is the best "artist" in rap. Creatively no one, other than Kanye comes close. This album is an improvement over the last one and I really think he's found his sound fully.
  2. Nov 11, 2010
    8
    If you wanna know what a Cudi album sounds like when he's not on drugs... Do not listen to Man on the Moon Vol. 2. If you were a follower of the lonely stoner already, then this is for you. I think it is fair to say that Cudi is not the best rapper. That is not why I listen to his music. The production is amazing, and Cudi's voice is infectious and used more as an instrument than anything else. Yes, there are a few failures on the album but that is Cudi experimenting and reaching too much, which I can understand. Better that than be too safe. Then there is the standout "Mojo So Dope" where you can almost see a smile cracking on his face. While it would be nice to hear a laugh once in a while, that's not Cudi's MO. Welcome to the Cudi zone. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2010
    9
    Deep, dark and depressing, everything Cudi promised. Another great album from one of rap's most honest artists, can't wait for the next installment in the series
  4. Nov 13, 2010
    6
    It's definitely something you can listen to even if you're not into hip hop. There's something special about it and the song "Erase me" doesn't sound like rap.
  5. May 15, 2011
    5
    it bored me to death. it had great production but once again his lyrics were not good. i dont hate kid cudi. i actually like him. but he needs to have better lyrics. im not hating. he's better than this. music wise i give it a 7. lyrics i give it 3.
  6. NJR
    Nov 9, 2010
    8
    A very good album, an improvement upon Man On The Moon 1, at some points on the LP I am lost for words through the sheer brilliance of his style of music, at other points, there is dire disappointment. Cudi is clearly trying to create a masterpiece, so there are going to be points of the album that don't work (And there are....) But all I find myself doing is going back for another listen to the songs that are brilliant. Still not the perfect album from Cudi but he is without doubt getting better with every attempt. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2010
    8
    Man on the Moon, Vol. 2 is a well constructed, expertly produced, and very unique hip hop album from probably the biggest rising star in the genre, Kid Cudi. For me, Cudi deserves his own genre. The way he half sings, half raps through this 17 track epic is infectious and the intensity throughout the album keeps you engaged throughout. Cudi breaks his album into 5 Acts, and by doing this shows us his rock star lifestyle of constant drug abuse and the ups and downs of his life. We get an insight into the rock star lifestyle (Act 3: Erase Me, Ashin' Kusher) as well as the downside of Cudi's constant drug abuse (Don't Play This Song, These Worries). This album is a much more mature album than the first, and as Cudi matures more and more, we are going to see some great things out of him. Overall, this is an album that puts Cudi's untouchable creativity on display and puts him, for me, among the top artists in the hip hop genre. Expand
  8. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    i think i speak for a lot of cudi fans when i say that this album was everything we expected and more. tracks like, "all along", "mojo so dope" and "marijuana" are nothing short of amazing. cudi uses aspects of both familiarity and a sense of a new cutting-edge style. with a little help from kanye on "erase me", cudi brings energy to the record with this honest and catchy track. i encourage everyone to give this album a listen. i can safely say kid cudi is one of the best things that's happened to music in a very long time. Expand
  9. Dec 23, 2010
    8
    Kid Cudi is an average rapper, however he is a way above average musician. As show on the first Man on the Moon, Cudi has an ear for beats, has strong supporting artists, and can create good music. While I doubt that "Man on the Moon Vol 2: The Legend of Mr.Rager" puts out anything as lyrically and euphonically beautiful as "Cudi Zone" or anything with as catchy a chorus as "Day N' Nite", Man on the Moon 2 definitely has its own strong points, and Cudi has always been an artist who pushes the envelope and does what he wants to, not what whats expected of him, which needs to be seen more in a time of cookie cutter rappers just trying to cash in. All in all it is a decent album, has some emotional tracks like "Ghost!" which I personally love just because Cudi has that relateability to solo stoners, and is worth the money if your already a fan of Mr.Mescudi. If not, check out Cudderisback - his most recent free mixtape, and he'll probably gain a cozy spot in your iTunes library. Expand
  10. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    So much emotion in Kid Cudi's lyrics, awesome singing, brilliant production. Simply a masterpiece, best album I have ever heard, can't wait to listen to the next "Man On The Moon" album.
  11. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    "Man on the Moon II: Mr. Rager" is one of the best albums of this year. Kid Cudi furthers his experimental crossover style, not just to blend the genres but to match them with certain themes centered around the albums concept. Only major hole was unification, whether it be the beat with the artist or collabos (only shaky collabo was "The End). Overall, Cudi has taken a good step forward with this album, neither remaining overly static or flopping miserably. Expand
  12. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    MOTM II is an interesting album. It delves deeper into Cudi's psyche than it's predecessor (MOTM I). As a result, MOTM II is a stronger, more cohesive (and at the same time, more depressing) album. The overall bleakness can be overwhelming at times. This is probably what Cudi intended to do, but a couple more rays of light would've been welcome. Kudi falls short lyrically here as well (also evident in MOTM I). At the same time, Kudi has a great flow (awkward lyrics or not), and the beats here, more often than not, are big, spacey and cerebral. The production is also good for most of the album. Standout tracks include "Mr. Rager", "Mojo So Dope" and "Ashin Kusher". Taken as a whole, MOTM II is a dark and ambitious album. If you enjoyed Cudi's first outing, and are not turned off by the idea of a darker, more serious album, then hop on board for MOTM II. Expand
  13. Feb 1, 2011
    8
    This is one of the toughest albums I could ever pigeonhole into a 1-10 scale. Why? Because even its flaws are remarkable and worth repeated listens. Kid Cudi's second full-length release is a remarkably ambitious affair which requires several revisits and careful analysis for one to be able to fully appreciate it. "Maniac" has the most confounding chorus I've ever heard from a popular artist. Not everything works perfectly, and "The End" strikes me as a brief but significant dip in quality. On the whole, though, Man on the Moon II doubles as both a pretty chilled-out party soundtrack and as a challenging, thought-provoking listen. This album isn't among my favorites, but I still tell as many people as I can to give it a try. Props to Cudi for being far more adventurous than the majority of hip hop artists out there. Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    Kid Cudi's "Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Rager" is out. Nice plate and nice experiments. But I miss this kind catchy song. The song with Kanye West - good and "Marijuana" too, the song with Cee-Lo - great, but where is the amazing song?
  15. Nov 10, 2010
    7
    The best thing about Cudi's album (like his first) is that he has refreshing beats. Regardless of how emo his lyrics may be at times I always find his strength to be in his samples and production. I think it keeps things current and is a nice change. I mean is this the best rap album of all time?--no, but I respect it for being outside the box.
  16. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    This album is certainly a sequel to the previous album. How his first album was about him and his nightmares, this album is about him and his acquisition of fame and fortune. His style is consistent and improving, although I feel this album is less progressive than the last. Mary J Blige is a great addition to the tracks she appears one and overall this album earns its place as a sequel to the first. Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    A dark, depressing, yet realistic album. Kid Cudi makes you feel his sorrow. He actually makes you moody. No artist has ever touched me then this kid named cudi. He calls himself a wizard for a reason. He lets out all of his stress in his music. His ambitious voice however is what really catches you. Kid Cudi is an unpredictable artist. You'll never know what you can expect from him. He is his own genre. No one can replicate this artist. Expand
  18. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    Darker and more focused this his debut album, Cudi is doing things hip-hop artists wouldn't dare think of. He is definitely onto something here but I still view him as an artist who hasn't lived up to his potential. This will do until Kanye blows everything out of the water
  19. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Man On The Moon: The End Of Day is one of my favorite rap albums of all-time, and its sequel "Man On The Moon 2: The Legend of Mr. Rager", lives up to it's predecessor. This album shows the experimental side of Kid Cudi, with this album split up in 5 acts, each act has their own sound and atmosphere. Going from songs about ruling the world, partying and smoking weed, then going through a depressing downfall, the variety of songs shows the ability that Kid Cudi has in making music. This album is something every listener should experience, and prepare for Kid Cudi to blow your mind in the future.

    Kid Cudi's new sound compared to his first album may be a bit different for many listeners, but trust me, it may take more than 1 full of the album, but it's worth it.
    Expand
  20. Nov 13, 2010
    6
    Lacks the freshness compared to his first album, and the album on a whole is just slower and darker. Doesn't have the track to track quality like the first album, and there is not one single that just blows me away. Kind of a step back for Kid Cudi to be honest.
  21. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    couldn't find a single good song on this album.... huge bust. it is almost unbearably to listen to the drone of his voice for 17 tracks straight. -coming from a huge kid cudi fan
  22. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    WOW! This is not just a collection of songs, or dreamy meditations like his first album, this is a fully realized hip hop opera, with a strong story and Narrative. Those looking for bangers or fun poppy weed rap will be saddly put down. This is the story of Cudder, and his downslide from hopeful up and coming celebrity, to drug addiction, suicidal thoughts, and the realization of his darker side, Mr. Rager. This album is a masterpiece of artistry, and is so complex that I feel like it will turn away alot of casual fans who flocked to MOM1 due to Make Her Say and of course Day N Nite. There are no pop flavored tracks like that, the closest we get to something like Day N Nite is Maniac, a great track using a St. Vincent Sample, however it is just shy of perfect due to only one verse from Cage and one verse from Cudi, too short, but still great.

    Overall as an album this is a masterpiece, i have found my favorite chapters and tracks, but unless you plan on really truly listening to it straight through a few times you may not enjoy it. But once you catch the story, and the reality of a celbrity caught up in fame, drug addiction, girls, and self hatred ; you cannot help but give in to the Rager.

    Go buy it now!!
    Expand
  23. Nov 22, 2010
    8
    When you think of a minimal, depressing, genre-blending stoner album, you'd usually think the album isn't very good. But KiD CuDi defies the laws of music and has created an album that is completely stone-worthy, insightful, and speckles some fun and hope through the dreary emotional ramblings in the album.
  24. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Easily my 2nd fav Hip-hop album after Lupe Fiasco The Cool. Each song has a great flow, good beats. The album blends so well from each track. I wasn't disappointed at all =]
  25. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    This is more darker than his first album and doesn't have hit singles like the first album but its still a great album. I give it the same grade I gave the first album I like the artist that is feature on this album, st Vincent If you like e first album you might like this album. This album does have some songs that is radio worthy. I love the style and songwriting
  26. Dec 6, 2010
    8
    When I first heard Kid Cudi's album I was hooked after the first listen. The production was simple, yet original. I constantly found myself tapping my foot and nodding my head with the heavy thumps while Cudi's flow worked seamlessly. The Legend of Mr. Rager brings that same feeling...but not to the level his first album did. I appreciate that he tried to go a different direction with the production, making it seem darker and more serious. The beats aren't as catchy, but after a few listens you will be just as hooked as you were with Vol. 1. The End of Day brought a bit more. Though they are rare, there are moments that Rager sometimes becomes repetitive. It is hard to follow up success after the first, especially after such a groundbreaking album like End of Day and Cudi does it...almost. This album is still better than most rap out there. His lyrics are still very introspective and don't disappoint. If someone is fully disappointed in this album, then they are trying to hard to be a hipster and like music for the image it brings, not for its quality. Expand
  27. Feb 2, 2011
    8
    Cudi's follow-up is a fascinating listen that has no genre barriers taking on old-school hip-hop jives, skeletal electronic beats, 70â
  28. Mar 15, 2011
    8
    A creative change from his debut album, Legend tells a story about a man's rise and how he needs no one, to a man who falls and loses everything. Cudi takes a page from Kanye West in how his album flows, offering a change of style from song to song. All in all, a solid sequel to Man on the Moon.
  29. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Huge fan of the first album. When i heard this the first time there was only one song i really like. But then i played the one i liked and didn't have repeat on, and now i just totally love all the songs. Just takes a litlle getting used to. Kid cudi is the man.
  30. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This is an amazing album. We get this journey of depression, adventure, darkness and more. All combined into one yet feeling perfectly messed together with intoxicating lyrics and beats.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jan 14, 2011
    73
    In music, the best artists bare their souls and shed light into unknown realities. With Cudi, however, the wounds might still be too deep, since he bemoans his way through the impressive soundtrack and lacks the essence needed to make this project resonate.Life has its ups and downs, but there's no need to implode.
  2. If you're hoping for change here, give up now. Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Rager is also presented in five acts, and again has no real structure to justify them.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Like his debut album, the sequel suffers and shines due to inconsistency. Cudi's strong creative streak leads him to follow through on every idea that crosses his mind, resulting in brilliantly unique moments and lots of stoner stumbles.