Man on the Moon, Vol. 2: The Legend of Mr. Rager Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 138 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rapper from Cleveland returns with the sequel to his debut album, featuring guest rappers Snoop Dogg and Cage.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Whenever Mr Rager sets off on his next adventure we're ready, musical machetes in hand, to follow him into the undergrowth…
  2. 88
    Brushes with the law and a cocaine habit sent his personal life on a turn to the dark side, something that's soon evident over the course of Mr. Rager's 17 remorseful tracks.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    Cudi is very much in a world of his own. [Dec 2010, p.110]
  4. With Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Rager, it seems he's on the road to finding what works, with varying degrees of success.
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Like his debut album, the sequel suffers and shines due to inconsistency. Cudi's strong creative streak leads him to follow through on every idea that crosses his mind, resulting in brilliantly unique moments and lots of stoner stumbles.
  6. Dec 8, 2010
    60
    The album explores multiple reasons for obsession with drugs – spirituality, fantasy, genetics, compulsion, to avoid suicide. None are delved into as creatively as on the debut album.
  7. Dec 8, 2010
    50
    Filtered drum patterns, neo-gospel arrangements and plaintive piano jams, along with curious and catchy enough melodies, obscure Cudi's guttural talk-raps for a bit.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Kid Cudi is the best "artist" in rap. Creatively no one, other than Kanye comes close. This album is an improvement over the last one and IKid Cudi is the best "artist" in rap. Creatively no one, other than Kanye comes close. This album is an improvement over the last one and I really think he's found his sound fully. Collapse
  2. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Huge fan of the first album. When i heard this the first time there was only one song i really like. But then i played the one i liked andHuge fan of the first album. When i heard this the first time there was only one song i really like. But then i played the one i liked and didn't have repeat on, and now i just totally love all the songs. Just takes a litlle getting used to. Kid cudi is the man. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    This is more darker than his first album and doesn't have hit singles like the first album but its still a great album. I give it the sameThis is more darker than his first album and doesn't have hit singles like the first album but its still a great album. I give it the same grade I gave the first album I like the artist that is feature on this album, st Vincent If you like e first album you might like this album. This album does have some songs that is radio worthy. I love the style and songwriting Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2010
    8
    When I first heard Kid Cudi's album I was hooked after the first listen. The production was simple, yet original. I constantly found myselfWhen I first heard Kid Cudi's album I was hooked after the first listen. The production was simple, yet original. I constantly found myself tapping my foot and nodding my head with the heavy thumps while Cudi's flow worked seamlessly. The Legend of Mr. Rager brings that same feeling...but not to the level his first album did. I appreciate that he tried to go a different direction with the production, making it seem darker and more serious. The beats aren't as catchy, but after a few listens you will be just as hooked as you were with Vol. 1. The End of Day brought a bit more. Though they are rare, there are moments that Rager sometimes becomes repetitive. It is hard to follow up success after the first, especially after such a groundbreaking album like End of Day and Cudi does it...almost. This album is still better than most rap out there. His lyrics are still very introspective and don't disappoint. If someone is fully disappointed in this album, then they are trying to hard to be a hipster and like music for the image it brings, not for its quality. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    Kid Cudi has done it again. The album is precisely what we expected from the young rapper. His voice is so smooth; his lyrics so natural; andKid Cudi has done it again. The album is precisely what we expected from the young rapper. His voice is so smooth; his lyrics so natural; and the music is great to listen to. Although his first album is still my favorite, this is in appropriate follow-up. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    MOTM II is an interesting album. It delves deeper into Cudi's psyche than it's predecessor (MOTM I). As a result, MOTM II is a stronger,MOTM II is an interesting album. It delves deeper into Cudi's psyche than it's predecessor (MOTM I). As a result, MOTM II is a stronger, more cohesive (and at the same time, more depressing) album. The overall bleakness can be overwhelming at times. This is probably what Cudi intended to do, but a couple more rays of light would've been welcome. Kudi falls short lyrically here as well (also evident in MOTM I). At the same time, Kudi has a great flow (awkward lyrics or not), and the beats here, more often than not, are big, spacey and cerebral. The production is also good for most of the album. Standout tracks include "Mr. Rager", "Mojo So Dope" and "Ashin Kusher". Taken as a whole, MOTM II is a dark and ambitious album. If you enjoyed Cudi's first outing, and are not turned off by the idea of a darker, more serious album, then hop on board for MOTM II. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    couldn't find a single good song on this album.... huge bust. it is almost unbearably to listen to the drone of his voice for 17 trackscouldn't find a single good song on this album.... huge bust. it is almost unbearably to listen to the drone of his voice for 17 tracks straight. -coming from a huge kid cudi fan Expand

See all 40 User Reviews