Man on the Moon, Vol. 2: The Legend of Mr. Rager Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rapper from Cleveland returns with the sequel to his debut album, featuring guest rappers Snoop Dogg and Cage.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Whenever Mr Rager sets off on his next adventure we're ready, musical machetes in hand, to follow him into the undergrowth…
  2. 88
    Brushes with the law and a cocaine habit sent his personal life on a turn to the dark side, something that's soon evident over the course of Mr. Rager's 17 remorseful tracks.
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    80
    Cudi is very much in a world of his own. [Dec 2010, p.110]
  4. With Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Rager, it seems he's on the road to finding what works, with varying degrees of success.
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Like his debut album, the sequel suffers and shines due to inconsistency. Cudi's strong creative streak leads him to follow through on every idea that crosses his mind, resulting in brilliantly unique moments and lots of stoner stumbles.
  6. Dec 8, 2010
    60
    The album explores multiple reasons for obsession with drugs – spirituality, fantasy, genetics, compulsion, to avoid suicide. None are delved into as creatively as on the debut album.
  7. Dec 8, 2010
    50
    Filtered drum patterns, neo-gospel arrangements and plaintive piano jams, along with curious and catchy enough melodies, obscure Cudi's guttural talk-raps for a bit.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 2 out of 39
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Kid Cudi is the best "artist" in rap. Creatively no one, other than Kanye comes close. This album is an improvement over the last one and I really think he's found his sound fully. Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Huge fan of the first album. When i heard this the first time there was only one song i really like. But then i played the one i liked and didn't have repeat on, and now i just totally love all the songs. Just takes a litlle getting used to. Kid cudi is the man. Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This is an amazing album. We get this journey of depression, adventure, darkness and more. All combined into one yet feeling perfectly messed together with intoxicating lyrics and beats. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2010
    8
    This album is certainly a sequel to the previous album. How his first album was about him and his nightmares, this album is about him and his acquisition of fame and fortune. His style is consistent and improving, although I feel this album is less progressive than the last. Mary J Blige is a great addition to the tracks she appears one and overall this album earns its place as a sequel to the first. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    Kid Cudi has done it again. The album is precisely what we expected from the young rapper. His voice is so smooth; his lyrics so natural; and the music is great to listen to. Although his first album is still my favorite, this is in appropriate follow-up. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2010
    8
    "Man on the Moon II: Mr. Rager" is one of the best albums of this year. Kid Cudi furthers his experimental crossover style, not just to blend the genres but to match them with certain themes centered around the albums concept. Only major hole was unification, whether it be the beat with the artist or collabos (only shaky collabo was "The End). Overall, Cudi has taken a good step forward with this album, neither remaining overly static or flopping miserably. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    0
    couldn't find a single good song on this album.... huge bust. it is almost unbearably to listen to the drone of his voice for 17 tracks straight. -coming from a huge kid cudi fan Expand

See all 39 User Reviews