Mantaray

  • Record Label: Decca
  • Release Date: Oct 2, 2007
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 1 out of 18

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamA.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Fierce! Siouxsie looks hot as hell, and really goes after the brass ring with this one. Good for her! I have always been wowed with her consistently creative and cutting edge work. Everything she does is unique, from cover art to the way she sings notes that aren't really fixed to an actual key. She rocks! And what is up with her looking younger, tighter, and hotter than she was 25 Fierce! Siouxsie looks hot as hell, and really goes after the brass ring with this one. Good for her! I have always been wowed with her consistently creative and cutting edge work. Everything she does is unique, from cover art to the way she sings notes that aren't really fixed to an actual key. She rocks! And what is up with her looking younger, tighter, and hotter than she was 25 years ago? She is on fire right now. Expand
  2. TimtopusC.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    I don't understand this: the really great blurb but with the really lousy "60" score. How is it determined??? I mean, every single review is glowing! This album is incredible!
  3. JenS
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Great mix of the Creatures and Siouxsie.. dynamic, layered, great lyrics. Very Very well done! My fav CD this year!
  4. alexanderh.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    Powerful, haunting, Siouxsie is in top form. She is uncompromising, focused, and stronger than any other female in music today.
  5. cholets.
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    GENIAL!!!!!
  6. KitT.
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    A solid release, modern yet all Siouxsie.
  7. Jason
    Oct 7, 2007
    9
    The Ice Queen Melts....sort of. Strident but triumphant...Siouxsie blasts back with the industrial stomp of "Into a Swan," chills to the bone with "Loveless," glammily slinks up on the dance floor in "About to Happen," and infuses heartfelt emotion into "Sea of Tranquility" and "If It Doesn't Kill You." The worst thing about the album is that it is far too short but when Siouxsie is The Ice Queen Melts....sort of. Strident but triumphant...Siouxsie blasts back with the industrial stomp of "Into a Swan," chills to the bone with "Loveless," glammily slinks up on the dance floor in "About to Happen," and infuses heartfelt emotion into "Sea of Tranquility" and "If It Doesn't Kill You." The worst thing about the album is that it is far too short but when Siouxsie is at her best, and in _Mantaray_ she has recaptured that form, she leaves you wanting for more. Expand
  8. JorgeB.
    Oct 10, 2007
    10
    I really can't understand how a good critic as Q magazine is transformed to a 60 score...The album is perfect!
  9. JyotirmayaD.
    Oct 23, 2007
    8
    Years and years of listening to Siouxsie and the Banshees, well, I thought I'd had enough... Then this solo gem comes out, and being the Siouxsie fan that I am, and reading a couple of good reviews -- good, not sensational -- I decided to buy it. At first I noticed Siouxsie's voice had taken on a deeper huskiness, if you will, and I noticed that the songs were also good. So I Years and years of listening to Siouxsie and the Banshees, well, I thought I'd had enough... Then this solo gem comes out, and being the Siouxsie fan that I am, and reading a couple of good reviews -- good, not sensational -- I decided to buy it. At first I noticed Siouxsie's voice had taken on a deeper huskiness, if you will, and I noticed that the songs were also good. So I played it at least once a day - Happy to have Siouxsie back with new material - and somewhere along the way, I found myself enjoying every song on the album. Not a one where I went "ugh." Siouxsie has come a long way, to say the least, and she is still at the top of her musical game! Buy it, don't try it!!! Expand
  10. FrancisM.
    Oct 3, 2007
    7
    Not as good as her best, but she's still charismatic.
  11. JonJ.
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    Yeah! Really great voice and material. Should make Karen O realize she will never be on Siouxsie's level no matter how many times she steals from her!
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Nearly thirty years after her debut with the Banshees, Siouxsie can still sneer and storm as fiercely as ever.
  2. Mojo
    60
    Mantaray, however, displays a passion and conviction that shows an artist unhappy to rest on her numerous laurels. [Sep 2007, p.102]
  3. An album filled with singles that should be instant hits.