Mark The Hard Earth Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second album for the Scottish folk singer, who is also a member of Lau.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. The songs range from the self-composed title track to a slinky piece from Boo Hewerdine and a couple of ballads from that fine veteran Edinburgh songwriter Sandy Wright, which are as unashamedly emotional as great country songs. A classy set.
  2. Drever’s voice is well-suited to the lyrical sincerity of the album but avoids being overly earnest. While sometimes a bit sentimental, Drever’s gentle declarations of loyalty are charming rather than trite.
  3. With a more complex sonic palette than his debut, Mark The Hard Earth contains a number of absolute gems.
  4. It’s all quite understated and beautifully played, and any shortcomings in the material are more than made up for by Drever’s peerless singing.
  5. An extremely mellow album, while hardly groundbreaking, it’s quietly beautiful in places.
  6. Mark The Hard Earth is a solid enough album but perhaps not the masterpiece that Drever fans were expecting. The man seems incapable of recording a duff track, but there are just a few moments on this album where he seems to take the easy route.