User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RodT.
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    Nowhere near as good as she is live - some of the songs that blew me away live are less startling here - but still a remarkable collection of songs brilliantly written and sung with heart on sleeve
  2. PerspicaciousCritic
    Aug 1, 2007
    8
    Why isn't Sinead O'Connor making music like this anymore?
  3. DareA
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    cute.
  4. FredJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Fantastic album. Marry Me is one of my favorite albums of 2007 so far.
  5. RyanH.
    Aug 7, 2007
    8
    Its a female Sufjan... and I like it.
  6. Russ
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Amazing!
  7. AlexandreR.
    Aug 14, 2007
    10
    Muito foda!
  8. AshleyPersson
    Aug 24, 2007
    8
    The writing talents of Jeff Buckley, layered under Kate Bush's sound. It really really is pretty damn good.
  9. Sep 10, 2010
    7
    Annie Clark's debut as St. Vincent allows her to express inner turmoil and chaos more effectively than when she was Annie Clark of the Polyphonic Spree or Sufjan Stevens' band. This is a good thing.
  10. Nov 3, 2010
    8
    An impressive debut album. I love most of the songs while some are not as good as the other. Other than that disparity the album deserves high praise and a great introduction to this great artist.
  11. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    Annie Clark shows impressive skill, as far as debuts go. Marry Me is a challenging record, unlike Actor and Strange Mercy which I found to be quite accessible. From her soft vocals, to her distorted guitar, this is a female musician that's an early contender for rock legend. The track Marry Me is among one of her best songs she's written.

    All In All, St. Vincent shows hefty potential on
    Annie Clark shows impressive skill, as far as debuts go. Marry Me is a challenging record, unlike Actor and Strange Mercy which I found to be quite accessible. From her soft vocals, to her distorted guitar, this is a female musician that's an early contender for rock legend. The track Marry Me is among one of her best songs she's written.

    All In All, St. Vincent shows hefty potential on Marry Me, which is indeed a great debut record. B+
    Expand
  12. Apr 27, 2014
    9
    If I had this without knowing the rest of her catalog, I'd be even more thrilled & would've considered giving this a "10" rather than a "9", but... her second album "Actor" (2009) is even more brilliant & I gave it, & the even more brilliant albums that followed it all ratings of "10"- "Strange Mercy" (2011) & "St. Vincent" (2014).
  13. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    Two parallel worlds coexist here: a sweet and lovely voice, and crazy extravagant arranges that constantly interact with scandalous and bizarre lyrics. But above it all, this record seems a thousand times cleverer, deeper and more intelligent than most of nowadays music. And though not as big as her younger sisters "Actor", "Strange Mercy" and "St Vincent", "Marry Me" stays for anTwo parallel worlds coexist here: a sweet and lovely voice, and crazy extravagant arranges that constantly interact with scandalous and bizarre lyrics. But above it all, this record seems a thousand times cleverer, deeper and more intelligent than most of nowadays music. And though not as big as her younger sisters "Actor", "Strange Mercy" and "St Vincent", "Marry Me" stays for an entertaining and vigorous complete listening. Expand
  14. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    With the exception of the confusing and overall terrible "The Apocalypse Song", this debut album from St. Vincent is a spectacular collection of deep lyrics and bizarre melodies. This album showed a lot of potential from the artist, who is obviously a talented singer and an even better song-writer. For those coming to this album after hearing Actor or Strange Mercy, do not expect to loveWith the exception of the confusing and overall terrible "The Apocalypse Song", this debut album from St. Vincent is a spectacular collection of deep lyrics and bizarre melodies. This album showed a lot of potential from the artist, who is obviously a talented singer and an even better song-writer. For those coming to this album after hearing Actor or Strange Mercy, do not expect to love this album immediately. It shows a much stronger jazz influence than her other work that was off-putting even to me when I first heard it. However, given the chance, the overwhelming brilliance of tracks like "My Lips Are Red", "Paris Is Burning", "All My Stars Aligned", and "Human Racing" is too big to ignore, and you will love it like the others. Expand
  15. Aug 16, 2017
    8
    The debut of St. Vincent is quite good and it is extraordinary . I really admire the taste of the songs and the lyrics, but most of all the style of Annie, she shows that she can be powerful even in her debut
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Titling your major label bow Marry Me builds certain expectations. Thankfully, everywhere on her full-length debut, Annie Clark makes the title's request impossible.
  2. Though her versatility is promising, Clark will be able to compete only when she figures out how to be one very interesting person, instead of five caricatures at once.
  3. It's an excellent debut, and hints at a potentially significant force in indie rock in the coming years.