Mary Star of the Sea

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisR
    Oct 6, 2007
    4
    Mmm, Pumpkins lite. Though I'd rather eat it with all the pulp and seeds of the original group(s).
  2. BrianB
    Feb 8, 2003
    10
    Absolute classic album. Every song is beautifully crafted with some of the best guitar sounds i have ever heard.
  3. NickC.
    Sep 20, 2003
    7
    Fairly underwhelming music from Zwan's one and only album. There are several great melodies and it's all very catchy, compared to Siamese Dream or Melon Collie, doesn't compare. (Better than Machina though...)
  4. stephens
    Jun 7, 2009
    9
    Amazing. Took off 1 for some (crap)songs.Brilliant album sad that they disbanded so soon.
  5. AllenG
    Feb 23, 2003
    9
    While some songs are not immediately stand outs many of them come to grab you at the 4-5th listen. Still songs like Lyric, Settle Down, Endless Summer, Yeah! and of course Honestly show the bands true colors. Hook heavy tunes interwoven with guitar and melodic interludes abound, Zwan could be the band you are looking for...
  6. VitorZ.
    Feb 9, 2003
    9
    It's nothing really new, one has to admit that. But what Mary does, it does so, so well. It's rock, it's serious, it's touching, it's silly, and most of all, it's relaxed. Not an album that will axpand your horizon (well, it may do that if you never listened to Pumpkins stuff before), but if rock doesn't have to be evil and depressing for you, it's It's nothing really new, one has to admit that. But what Mary does, it does so, so well. It's rock, it's serious, it's touching, it's silly, and most of all, it's relaxed. Not an album that will axpand your horizon (well, it may do that if you never listened to Pumpkins stuff before), but if rock doesn't have to be evil and depressing for you, it's one that you will hear again and again. Expand
  7. nickw
    Mar 31, 2003
    10
    this album is one of the best i've got it's so mellow and calm billy corgans' a legand
  8. Joris
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    Happy Pumpkins would be the best description for this good and solid album within its style. Takes catchiness to a higher level, however can't meet up to any of his Pumpkins' albums.. Standout songs are Endless Summer, Declarations of Faith (with those very Pumpkinesque feedback guitars), Ride A Black Swan and Yeah!
  9. HeCtiCB
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Splendid album, the variety from HeartSong to Honestly display a Pumpkinesque ability to shower us with unbridled melodies layered with lyrics that have that feel-good quality we need.
  10. NickS
    Jul 5, 2007
    8
    This is a very underappreciated album, especially amongst Smashing Pumpkins fans. In my opinion this album is superior to Zeitgeist and both Machina's. It's Billy Corgan's only truly happy-sounding album. It makes me sad that this band is gone since they had so much unreleased material that is actually even better than what's on the album. Still, Mary Star is solid.
  11. NickT
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    I prefer this to anything to Pumpkins did. A shame they came and went so quickly.
  12. TomH
    Oct 26, 2003
    0
    This album is almost comical. The fact that such a mediocre compilation of throwaway pop music has been so well received is baffling. Only one good song in the whole mess, which drags on for entirely too long.
  13. ScottK
    Feb 19, 2003
    10
    Billy Corgan was awesome with The Smashing Pumpkins, and now with Zwan he is still pumpin out awesome songs!
  14. KatieH
    Feb 22, 2003
    10
    This album is amazing- unlike most, it actually gets better and better the more you listen to it. I've been trying to cut back on listening to it, because I'm afraid I'll get sick of it; my attempts at restraint have been unsuccessful, and I still love it! It is light but strong, upbeat but deep. Corgan hasn't lost his knack for insightful lyrics, but he's wrapped This album is amazing- unlike most, it actually gets better and better the more you listen to it. I've been trying to cut back on listening to it, because I'm afraid I'll get sick of it; my attempts at restraint have been unsuccessful, and I still love it! It is light but strong, upbeat but deep. Corgan hasn't lost his knack for insightful lyrics, but he's wrapped them around good old rocknroll sounds with electric guitar fury and, for the most part, fast, catchy, and major-keyed tempos. This is the anchor for what I'm sure will be a long chain of albums. Expand
  15. AliC
    Jul 14, 2005
    8
    At last, Billy Corgan returns from the creative desert that was the Smashing Pumpkins after Siamese Dream. This really is a great record, with barely a duff song, that gets right under your skin. But whilst it's consistently good, hitting the spot time and again, it's hardly revolutionary. Siamese Dream threatened to change the world, this just wants to entertain it.
  16. AdrianA
    Oct 26, 2007
    9
    This album never gets old!!! buy it if you can...trust me!
  17. Joe
    May 24, 2009
    5
    Hmm.. not as good as I would have thought. Many of the songs are boring and sound lazy, but some tracks are really great.
  18. Jul 9, 2012
    9
    The first 4 tracks off this record are sublime and if the standard stayed that high throughout it would have been hard not to give it full marks. It doesn't quite manage it but it comes close. Billy Corgans first post Smashing Pumpkins venture delivers with style and substance to boot. Despite the fact that Jimmy Chamberlain is also involved, meaning the crucial part of SP make up theThe first 4 tracks off this record are sublime and if the standard stayed that high throughout it would have been hard not to give it full marks. It doesn't quite manage it but it comes close. Billy Corgans first post Smashing Pumpkins venture delivers with style and substance to boot. Despite the fact that Jimmy Chamberlain is also involved, meaning the crucial part of SP make up the heart of Zwan, they don't really sound as much like the Pumpkins as I would have expected. It could be the psycadelic artwork, but I get a bright, sunny vibe from the record. The musicianmanship on this record is outstanding, the songs are very strong and the production is spot on. It's a great record and a pity they couldn't hold it together to make a follow up. If you like your guitar rock there's a good chance you'll like this one. Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Uncut
    80
    The results sound as if Corgan plundered a few moves from Dave Grohl, since the songs keep one boot in heavy metal but mostly get straight to the point while piling on the hooks and harmonies. [Mar 2003, p.95]
  2. Zwan is Billy Corgan's triumph, an unrepentant glam-rock/prog-pop bacchanalia, an album of stadium happy singles and up-with-people wonder anthems.
  3. [Corgan's] joyful spirit surges throughout Mary Star of the Sea, even during its many intricate instrumental sections, and it's hard not to get swept up in the momentum, especially since it's married to his best set of songs since Siamese Dream.