MAYA - M.I.A.
  • Band Name: M.I.A.
  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Jul 13, 2010
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 70
  2. Negative: 3 out of 70

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Every time M.I.A returns, we all get excited about the new album. This time we can cry of joy because she brought us the best of alternative Hip-Hop and Electro music, and also the best of her. After almost a year of production, the result is very clear: all of us can see that this is the best Electro record of the year, if not the decadeâ Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2010
    8
    "// / Y /", in its proper spelling, reveals the in-betweens of M.I.A.'s thoughts and perceptions when she's not saving the world one "banga" at a time.
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Top five album of the year. I really love this album. The songs are really great. M.i.a is an amazing artist I think more people should listen to her. A great Alt/dance alt/hip hop album. A Must buy album 10/10
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    M.I.A. brings 'Noise' to 'Music' by putting some crash metals, and chainsaw as part of the instrument. It shows how artistic M.I.A. is. From Arular to Maya, she had never disappointed me by bringing funk, alternative hip-hop, electro music in a different form. It shows that this woman does not care about commercial success. All she want is to tell her message. The album is fun, enjoying, and cool.
  5. Sep 28, 2010
    2
    This album is full of unbelievably boring, stale harmonies and meaningless, vague, droned lyrics devoid of human emotion. I'm astonished that something so poor could come from someone so talented as MIA. Alas, while performing at the Oya festival, she "threatened (according to Pitchfork)" that she would do XXXO, but for the fact that she would have to lip-synch it like a real pop song.This album is full of unbelievably boring, stale harmonies and meaningless, vague, droned lyrics devoid of human emotion. I'm astonished that something so poor could come from someone so talented as MIA. Alas, while performing at the Oya festival, she "threatened (according to Pitchfork)" that she would do XXXO, but for the fact that she would have to lip-synch it like a real pop song. Upon reading this, everything made sense to me: this is an album people are meant to hate. Congratulations, Maya, you have succeeded. Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2011
    9
    Very different to M.I.A's other works (Arular & Kala), and on that note, very different to any other album in particular. But '// / Y /' is still a very interesting listen and a great album. Standouts include: "The Message", "Steppin Up", "XXXO", "Story to Be Told", "Born Free", "Meds & Feds", and "Internet Connection".
  7. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Different from Kala, but equally addictive. Not everyone is going to like this because it covers many genres, but I think that's why it's great. One of my favorite albums I've bought in 2010. There's no Paper Planes pt. 2 on here, but that's what makes M.I.A. so great. Instead of churning out 10 more songs that are carbon copies, she opts to continue experimenting with other genres. IDifferent from Kala, but equally addictive. Not everyone is going to like this because it covers many genres, but I think that's why it's great. One of my favorite albums I've bought in 2010. There's no Paper Planes pt. 2 on here, but that's what makes M.I.A. so great. Instead of churning out 10 more songs that are carbon copies, she opts to continue experimenting with other genres. I would ignore most professional critiques of the album as most journalists only started writing negative reviews about the album after the Lynn Hirschberg incident for which M.I.A. exposed her as a liar and proved that journalists no longer have the last word. As for regular people's reviews, not everyone is going to like this album, but I have a feeling if you give it a chance you'll dig. Don't see it as the new album from that "Paper Planes" chick, see it as a great album from a talented electronic artist. Expand
  8. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    Some say it's the most personal M.I.A. album, and i feel the same too. It seems that in this album, she could realize all the wishes she had and wanted to do on "Arular" and "Kala", but got blocked from. Maybe not her best shape, but she gave us really great musics again. "Teqkilla", "It Takes a Muscle" and "Internet Connection" are just some of this remarkable recordings of her, notSome say it's the most personal M.I.A. album, and i feel the same too. It seems that in this album, she could realize all the wishes she had and wanted to do on "Arular" and "Kala", but got blocked from. Maybe not her best shape, but she gave us really great musics again. "Teqkilla", "It Takes a Muscle" and "Internet Connection" are just some of this remarkable recordings of her, not talking about "XXXO", that felt to me like Madonna in her best way. At the end, is like a medium album, between a change of style, or the fusion of her etnical music with more powerful beats! Expand
  9. May 29, 2012
    7
    A Very Strange Album In My Opinion..
    Still A Ok Album I Enjoyed 70% Of The Songs
  10. May 2, 2013
    8
    MAYA is an internet fueled wonderland. MIA dishes the worldbeat sounds of Arular and Kala and creates a twisted and fantastic piece of work that is MAYA. The album opens with the idea of government control on "The Message," then translastes into a powerdrill garage party in "Steppin Up." The middle of the album is even riskier than the beggining with MIA's pugnacious beats on "Lovalot,"MAYA is an internet fueled wonderland. MIA dishes the worldbeat sounds of Arular and Kala and creates a twisted and fantastic piece of work that is MAYA. The album opens with the idea of government control on "The Message," then translastes into a powerdrill garage party in "Steppin Up." The middle of the album is even riskier than the beggining with MIA's pugnacious beats on "Lovalot," the reggae-inspired "It takes a muscle" and the rockish "Born Free". They say to leave the best for last, and MIA ends the album with tracks such as "internet connection" that catches the listener's attention. The production is to die for, and this is clearly the most underrated album of 2010. Good job, MIA. Expand
  11. May 6, 2013
    9
    I really don't understand why so much people didn't like this. As a eletronic album, it explores interesting things, and sounds good. Just the deluxe edition's tracks is a deception, just Illygirl have the M.I.A.'s level.
  12. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Weird, fresh, crazy, heavy, mind-blowing and VERY eclectic. This is a departure from her previous albums, although this new style is as good and innovative as her first one. I won't lie, I hated this album after I had listened to it for the first time. It has a heavier "love it or hate it" sound than M.I.A.'s last albums.

    It includes a big variety of genres, as electropop (XXXO and
    Weird, fresh, crazy, heavy, mind-blowing and VERY eclectic. This is a departure from her previous albums, although this new style is as good and innovative as her first one. I won't lie, I hated this album after I had listened to it for the first time. It has a heavier "love it or hate it" sound than M.I.A.'s last albums.

    It includes a big variety of genres, as electropop (XXXO and Tell Me Why), hip-hop (Teqkilla, Internet Connection, Illygirl), ballads (Space, Caps Lock), reggae (It Takes a Muscle), experimental (Steppin' Up, which includes M.I.A. rapping over a heavy drill sound) and heavy metal/rock music (Meds and Feds, Born Free). Honestly I love all of these songs. The worst tracks, however, are Story 2 be told, Lovalot, Believer and Tell me why.
    Expand
  13. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    AMAZING. M.I.A. just released the best album of 2010. What's not to like. It's M.I.A. at her very very best. Key Tracks are "Meds and Feds", "It Takes A Muscle" and "Story To Be Told".
  14. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    This album is such a decay for M.I.A.. First of all, this is just a bunch of noise. But a bunch of noise with a lot of political dark meanings. Some of these songs are unlistenable. I actually couldn't listen to the whole album.

    Look, if you have never listened to M.I.A. then you'll love MAYA. If you loved Arular & Kala as do I, you'll hate it for life. Highlights: Teqkilla 3/5 It
    This album is such a decay for M.I.A.. First of all, this is just a bunch of noise. But a bunch of noise with a lot of political dark meanings. Some of these songs are unlistenable. I actually couldn't listen to the whole album.

    Look, if you have never listened to M.I.A. then you'll love MAYA. If you loved Arular & Kala as do I, you'll hate it for life. Highlights:

    Teqkilla 3/5
    It Takes a Muscle 5/5
    Caps Lock 10/10 Tied with "Paper Planes" as her best song ever in my opinion.
    Born Free 4/5
    Internet Connection 2/5

    Tracks XXXO & Tell Me Why are ok tracks, but they sound too "radio-friendly" to me. The rest of the album is completely forgettable.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Just play it a few more times than the fools who clocked dollars for the job and you'll get your money's worth. And I do mean on all 16 new songs‑-three of the four bonus tracks are upper 50th percentile for sure.
  2. She's certainly eyeing global pop domination. Therein lies Maya's conflict.
  3. This is exactly the subjective realm that MAYA taps into: it puts its listeners in a position where opinions are formed in large part by predetermined prejudices. Of course, this is true for most music in general, but what makes MAYA tacitly brilliant is that it forces us to engage with those prejudices in a way that pop music typically does not.