Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 91
    Self Made Vol. 2, doubles down on the talent.
  2. Jul 25, 2012
    80
    Self Made 2 is an interesting mix of in-house and all-star, and another reason to take Ross the ring-leader seriously.
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    80
    With Self Made 2, MMG takes another step toward truly becoming untouchable.
  4. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    Self Made Vol. 2 is a noted improvement from its predecessor.
  5. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    In and of itself, Self Made 2 is a decent album that should find relative success.
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    62
    [Self Made 2] exists to force-feed Hot 97 playlists.
  7. Jul 31, 2012
    60
    In large part, this compilation is underwhelming--there are exceptions, but the creativity is lacking and, to some degree, that's surprising, considering some of the talent on the roster.
  8. Aug 2, 2012
    40
    The track ["Power Circle"] and the entire album seems to lose its air after he [Gunplay] makes his exit. [Aug 2012, p.59]
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    As a big fan of Wale and Rick Ross, I was curious to how this album would stand out and how Meek Mill, Omarion and Stalley would hold theirAs a big fan of Wale and Rick Ross, I was curious to how this album would stand out and how Meek Mill, Omarion and Stalley would hold their own. Fortunately none of the tracks are duds, but my biggest issue is none of them really stand out either. Power Circle and This thing of ours are my favourite tracks on the album (and probably the overall best as well). So if you like any of the MMG artists, I would suggest you pick this up. Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    This album has a song for every rap lover. there are different types of hip hop on this and even omarions singing. rick ross has proven thatThis album has a song for every rap lover. there are different types of hip hop on this and even omarions singing. rick ross has proven that his artists are the hottest in the game right now! Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    4
    I'm a fan of both Wale and Meek Mill, but this fell short big time for me. Best track is "Actin Up", but even there, the hook is awful andI'm a fan of both Wale and Meek Mill, but this fell short big time for me. Best track is "Actin Up", but even there, the hook is awful and then French Montana turns in an awful guest appearance. This album is not worth anybody's time. Full Review »