Maybach Music Group Presents: Self Made, Vol. 3 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third volume of Rick Ross' Maybach Music Presents series Self Made features such artists as Birdman, J. Cole, Gunplay, Lupe Fiasco, Meek Mill, Omarion, Rockie Fresh, Stalley, and Wale.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    It's still a label sampler at heart, so a pre-love of platinum gangsta music and that slick Maybach sound are still advised.
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    Overall, the album lacks the shine and luster of the previous two Maybach Music Group compilations.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    Self Made Vol. 3 won’t silence the haters of Rick Ross’ MMG movement, and it certainly does not break the mold of previous iterations in the series. However, the album’s hits should have a lasting impact, serving as jump off points for several of the artists on the label.
  4. 60
    This album is comprehensive, but not exactly cohesive.
  5. The Source
    Nov 26, 2013
    Regardless of the missed R&B attempts and a dated Lamborghini track and a simplistic hook that cripples a potential hit, Self Made Vol. 3 tops the collaborative series and covers all the bases. [Nov 2013, p.90]
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    Perhaps just a little more scattered and weak than the previous two installments, the Rick Ross-governed Self Made, Vol. 3 achieves little out of the ordinary, while providing a few solid tracks that stand out from the general unevenness on display.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 22, 2013
    Overall, as expected, this one is kind've all over the place, but I mean, it's a compilation album. For what it is, this one is actuallyOverall, as expected, this one is kind've all over the place, but I mean, it's a compilation album. For what it is, this one is actually pretty good as opposed to Volumes 1 and 2 of Self Made. There is no real standout track aside from "God Is Great", which is a personal favorite, but there are certainly tracks that are completely horrible such as "Lay It Down" and "Stack on My Belt". Certainly sporting its fair share of bangers, this one accomplishes the goal it set for itself. Expand